We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Osborne Hotel to your Saves list
Osborne Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 11, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Valletta
1 review
“A wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This is a terrific hotel in a beautiful city. Spent a week there with my daughter. Rooms were very pleasant and immaculately kept. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. Out of the building and you are in the heart of the city - everything worth seeing within walking distance. A stroll to the nearby bus station means the whole island is open to you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    342
    118
    37
    24
See reviews for
74
345
63
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burntisland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We are just back from a week in this hotel. The staff were friendly and the hotel was well presented. However, the smell in our room was dreadful. We asked to be moved to another room but were told that there wasn't one that night. Their solution was to smell the room out with bleach. Not a great improvement then! We had to keep the window open 24 hours a day - a window that was at floor to knee level. We asked again to be moved but nothing was done in response to this request. The room was above the entrance to the hotel and with the window open we had all the noise of late/early arrivals as well as roadworks and traffic. We did not have one restful night. All the bedroom doors had fixed handles and NEVER closed quietly -again more disturbance.
We were aware that we would be in the centre of a working city and have stayed in similar locations without any problems. We would never go back to this hotel for fear of being in room 209. ( rooms 208 and 210 had similar "windows")
P.S. The aircon rattled so wasn't usable should we have had the "window" closed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My bedroom was spacious and the furnishing comfortable but the bathroom door had to be kept shut at all times due to the smell of drains.

I was on the second floor and it had clearly been fitted in and my window was tiny and at floor level.

Air conditioning was very noisy and had to be switched off at night to allow sleep

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

From the welcoming staff at the front desk to the rooftop pool, we were very pleased with this choice.. We picked it as a result of previous reviews and were very impressed. Just our type of hotel-small, friendly, helpful, great location - good rate and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a great 2 week holiday in Vallleta staying at the Osborne. its avery well located hotel near to everything in Valletta and its very easy to get around the island from there.
The hotel is very clean and the staff very helpful including Noel, Bridget and Alfred, they really put themselves out to make the stay a good one.
The meals need to be improved as some days were very similar and they need someone to run the bar as sometimes we would have liked a drink before our meal but the staff were in the restaurant doing their work there, the hotel is skimping a bit there as they would probably take more money if there was someone there all the time.

We would recommend the Osborne hotel and would definitely go back to stay there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have larger rooms and a few have balcony's
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I (we) really enjoyed our stay in Malta. The hotel is excellently located, close to the city and the ferry to Sliema. Sliema is the launch pad for all sorts of other boat trips. Quiet, well run hotel, very helpful staff and older world charm. Rooms slightly small - the shower cubicle is snug - but this didn't interfere with our enjoyment on the holiday. Pool is also small but very welcome on a hot day for cooling off, you just won't be pounding out the lengths (six strokes and you're done). The rooftop area is nice and welcoming, with loungers and shady spots.

Malta is top drawer as a destination

Room Tip: ask for the biggest - our room was comfy but on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a one night stay at the Osborne transiting from Sicily (via the Virtu Lines Ferry service) back to Edinburgh by air via Malta. This is a well located and comfortable hotel.
Room 501 had an unexpected balcony with stunning views over Valletta to the sea. It had recently been refurbished and was well appointed. Friendly and helpful staff and good value for money.
Bit of air conditioning noise only issue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Hotel

Address: 50, South Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 11, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within Valletta's ancient fortifications, the Osborne Hotel is a 5-minute walk from St John’s Co-Cathedral. The rooftop swimming pool offers great views. All rooms at Hotel Osborne come with air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi access. A minibar is available on request. The Osborne Hotel features a cosy bar and a buffet restaurant. A rich buffet of local and international cuisine is available at lunch and dinner and vegetarian meals are available on request. The hotel is 20 metres from the National Museum of Fine Arts, and you can catch ferries to Sliema from the port, a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Valletta
Osborne Hotel Malta/Valletta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osborne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.