We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castille Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castille Hotel to your Saves list
Castille Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castille Square, c/w St. Paul's Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 07, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct for best rate
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Valletta
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent choice at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I enjoyed my four nights at this hotel. The breakfast was good. It is in a quiet and central location. I was happy with my choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    94
    40
    17
    13
See reviews for
18
86
48
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goettingen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

The hotel is located very well for those who visit Malta for enjoying the light, climate and cultural heritage. This hotel in the center of Valetta is located in an nice building next to the Upper Barakka Gardens and it is priceworth. I like that everyone is very friendly and that you can feel save there, because it is next to the parliament building. Cleaning and furniture is okay. The food in the restaurant on teh building could be improoved, but with that you view you forget about the food anyway. The breakfast is good compared with other hotels I know in Malta. When you stay there you hardly want to leave Valetta and i just can say that walking through Valetta at night is very romantic.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The Castille is one on it's own for character and friendliness. Not the plushest of hotels available but it oozes character. simple clean en suite rooms with traditional furniture and features complimented by the friendliest staff imaginable. it's not at all pretentious and for the price, it does what it says on the tin.
the location offers a fantastic view across Malta from the roof top restaurant.
it's an easy walk into the City's labrynth of streets
10 minute walk to the bus station that will take you almost anywhere in Malta
good for single travellers and couples rather than families
i will be going back again and will stay here too!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

We travel to Malta twice a year and always stay at the Castille because it offers the character of yesteryear. I must therefore endorse, in all respects, RicandColin's Review dated 12 December. If you want opulence, pay the price and stay at the Phoenicia or Excelsior!

Moreover, visitors must remember that all the old buildings in Valletta, including the Castille, were built in blocks with a central void to facilitate light and air to the interiors; thus some rooms do not have a view, hence lower room rates compared to those with a street or harbour outlook.

We last stayed at the Castille in October 2011 and have already made a reservation for 8 days in March 2012 and know that it will, once again, meet our expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for a South facing room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Like RichardandColin below, I am sad that so many poor reviews have been posted about Castille Hotel. I stayed for 10/11 nights in September and can honestly say that it was ideal for me. Castille Hotel does not pretend to be the grandest or most luxurious hotel on Malta - but it is well located, has a very friendly staff and some stunning views from the rooms facing Grand Harbour and from the rooftop restaurant. I felt very welcome indeed at Castille and would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms and three-windowed bedrooms have the best views and are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Sunday lunchtime & hardly anyone in. Quick to bring drinks & wine, but slow to take orders & very slow to serve them. My omelette was dry & leathery & my wife's duet of fish looked OK but one item was only cooked on the outside, but raw in the middle. The waiters would not make eye contact, so she took it to them. He looked quite shocked, took it to the kitchen, returned & said that it was how the Spanish cooked it. Who mentioned "Spanish"? It was not his answer when she gave it to him! He asked if she wanted it cooking more ( an elementary question) & she did. He brought it back with no apologies & again no eye contact. We finished the meal & again there was no contact at all, so I had to go & ask for the bill. We left the cash & left.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Hotel de Castille is in centre of Valletta, overlooking the harbour. Ask for Room 45 on the front of the hotel overlooking the city and harbour. It has a tiny balcony. OK for a 3 star hotel, the building was formerly a palace and has plenty of atmosphere. There is a panoramic view from the rooftop garden which makes up for the rather basic breakfast. La Cave restaurant, in an underground wine cellar beneath the hotel, serves excellent Pizza. Staff were friendly and happy to store our luggage.

Room Tip: Room 45 has a tiny balcony where you can sit with a glass of wine and watch the sunset over the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castille Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castille Hotel

Address: Castille Square, c/w St. Paul's Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 07, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castille Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Castille Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castille Hotel Valletta
Castille Hotel Malta/Valletta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castille Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.