We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great music, great service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Sfoglia

La Sfoglia
67, 68, Merchants Street, Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
+35677834105
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 169 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $37
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: La Sfoglia Cafe Bistro' kitchen is lead by head chef Mr.Oswald Caruana together with his crew.Our head chef renowned for his culinary skills creates tasty, natural dishes which daily as specialities.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food, great music, great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We ordered the honey glazed duck and the linguini with sea urchins, and both were excellent. The staff were helpful, knowledgable about the menu and just the right amount of eagerly attentive. We loved the music...it was just what we were looking for. Have a feeling that we'll be regulars here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    42
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
“A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visited La Sfoglia Just for a dessert but I would recommend it to everybody! There was an amazing waiter from France, who was the best waiter I ever met – he was very nice, explained to us clearly what can we expect from the dish and recommended proper drinks. We ate white chockolate cheesecake (the best cheesecake I ever ate!) and imquaret. Both served in a very elegant and delicious way. If you can, visit La Sfoglia! Ursula from Poland

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't pass by - sit down and enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Situated in a square a bit off the most crowded parts of Valletta - La Sfoglia is easy to overlook.
But pls don't. The service, the food and the wine makes this an absolute favourite place for a long and lazy lunch. Not too be missed

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Boring food served by bored staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Lone waiter was more interested in his phone than us. Food promised a lot but delivered little. Mounds of pasta and not so much flavour. Inside space available (we were outside and it started to rain) was ugly and underground.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“A must dine ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Found this place on a slight detour, after 1 OF our party (disabled )couldnt use the toilets in another resturant ... Keith the waitet ws as helpful beyond helpful... Going beyond his duty to help us ... The fod was excellent the tortilini fois grais was superb ...followed by the honey glazed duck was moist sweet and succulent ...and the cheese cake (white chocolate )... A cheesecake lovers dream ...i have eaten in michelinstaref places ... This food matches these and surpasses...a must eat place in valletta ....

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sfoglia also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to La Sfoglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sfoglia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.