We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet things” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelica

Angelica
134, Archbishop_s Street, Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 21222777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 169 Restaurants in Valletta
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Sliema
1 review
“Sweet things”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I've been to Angelica many times and every time, the experience is just lovely. The food is delicious and the sweets are the best in the city. And everything is served in a friendly atmosphere. I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    73
    61
    74
    109
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Food - Rip Off Prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Well, the decor is original, reminiscent of the French style..... and the restaurant boasts of the best chocolate in town. The food was good, but I have been tasting much better food! Anyway, you do not get a menu with all prices included, the owner tries to get you to order more food without warning you about the extra charges (for example, you order a mousaka, get prompted for some potatoes, and these few potatoes cost half the price of the mousaka!), the hot chocolate is just too thin (nothing like the "best chocolate in town"), and, at the end, you get the surprise of your life when shegives you the bill!!!! Definitely not to be recommended....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgarr, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Terrible and overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I went to Angelica's a couple of times, primarily lured by its decor, until I realized how our food was made. Apart from being way overpriced, the quality of the food is not what I would expect for the price we were paying. When my friend ordered a pie, the server simply reached for a pie on a shelf behind me (which was uncovered) and simply reheated it. There isn't a kitchen at Angelica which means that the servers prepare the breads themselves in full view of the restaurant. Please not that the same people also clean the restaurant, and unclog the toilet; which is what happened when we were there, within the same 5 minutes that she was making our food. Not very hygienic or appetizing if you ask me.
Needless to say, I will not be returning.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Never going again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My partner and I have been here twice but we will never be going again.

Tables are way too oversized. The waitress couldn't even get to the table next to us without having to ask us if she could move our chair.

The owner is extremely pushy and tries to up sell you to more expensive drinks or sweets. She did this to every single table in the place.

Portion size of cakes have reduced to about a third since the last time we visited in August 2012.

And finally the bill was way too expensive for two coffees and two cakes. I've paid less at cafe's in 5 star hotels in Malta for the same kind or order (but much better cake!)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food, but too expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very nicely decorated coffee shop by Maltese standards, but the prices are excessive, there is no menu to see how much it costs before you order and no receipt. The food is fine, but definitely not even close in quality to what you pay for it. There are much better options for good coffee and cake around Valletta for a third of the price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelica also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Angelica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.