We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Phoenicia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Phoenicia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Phoenicia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Valletta
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday at the Hotel Phoenicia in Valetta. We have been to Malta many times but this was our first stay at the Phoenicia and we were very impressed. The Art Deco style in the bar and restaurant is lovely and the location of the hotel is excellent, making travel around Malta really easy and convenient. Our room was a good size, was very comfortably furnished and was always immaculate after it had been cleaned in the mornings. We had fantastic views of the island and because there were lots of festivals during our say, we were able to watch the firework displays. At night, there was no noise at all which combined with very comfortable beds meant we slept very well. If I were to make one suggestion it would be to have free wifi in the bedrooms.
We stayed for bed and breakfast which suited us as we like to go out in the evenings. Breakfast was well presented and there was a very wide range of both hot and cold choices with very attentive staff on hand to look after guests.
The gardens are well looked after and the swimming pool is in a beautiful setting, surrounded by gardens and the old city walls. There were always plenty of sunbeds available at all times of the day and it was really quiet and peaceful around the pool. Unfortunately, towards the end of our stay, some people started going out really early in the morning to "reserve" sunbeds, which was a pity and unnecessary as there were more than enough to go around.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Phoenicia and think it has many great features, one of its main advantages being the excellent staff all of whom were pleasant, attentive and helpful at all times. We will definitely be going back!
Jan R.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor facing away from Valetta and had fantastic views right across the is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments, I am very happy to learn that you have enjoyed the Hotel and that you found the service to your satisfaction. I look forward to your next visit to the Hotel Phoenicia.
Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    919
    463
    123
    44
    14
See reviews for
158
952
84
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hotel was well situated for valetta old town and close to bus station. Hotel itself had a timeless quality of charm,efficient and helpful staff and all areas of the hotel of the highest standards. We made some beautiful memories here, the evening meal of sumptuous food on the verandah watching the sunset,listening to music and watching the festa fireworks whilst being spoilt by all the staff who enjoy pampering the guests. Malta itself was a beautiful country and the Maltese people must be some of the nicest people on the planet.
Talking to other guests some have been coming for 35 years,and that says it all. We will be doing our best to return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good quality and of highest standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am glad that you have felt pampered and spoilt during your stay, as this is the aim of every member of staff at the Phoenicia. I hope we will be welcoming you back to the hotel next time you need some time to relax.
Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

From the moment I arrived in room 227 at the Phoenicia on 9th July to the moment I checked out on the 16th I enjoyed the excellent services of the well trained staff who were all friendly and helpful without exception. This is a charming hotel the decor of which is 1920's elegance and is very conveniently placed just a few minutes walk from the bus station and Valletta. All meals were served on the terrace overlooking Valletta and the harbor and at dinner there was live background music while the sun set. There were themed evenings, BBQ's etc which were buffet style and the food was very well presented and of a high standard. Light meals and high tea were also available in the main lounge where there is free wifi. There is a charge for a wired service in rooms. There is also a bistro and if on half board 33 euros is allowed towards your meal taken there. The pool area also has a small restaurant and it is reached by a pleasant walk through the gardens.
On the down side I found the supplement for single occupancy to be pretty hefty on comparison with other 5* hotels around the world and also water was only available at the bar or at the table and was 4euros for a small bottle. The hotel shop did not sell water. There is a kiosk at the bus station where a very large bottle can be purchased for 1 euro.
These are minor points and would certainly not put me off staying at this splendid hotel where comfort and good service are provided in abundance. I will certainly be returning to the Phoenicia at some point in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms have interesting views of either Valletta or the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor readers, I am very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that you will be coming back. I very much appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that the points mentioned will be looked into.
I look forward to welcome you back in your next trip to Europe.
Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our party of four stayed between 9th and 16th July 2013. If you are viewing Valletta staying at this hotel is a must. The staff cannot do enough for you. We had two recently refurbished rooms on the third floor,these were excellent and clean. Breakfast is buffet style with unbelievable choices of healthy and cooked.This is the third time we have stayed at the Phoenicia and we have never been disappointed, we shall be returning many more times. The only downside is that you do not want to leave at the end of your stay!
Air conditioning is in all rooms and public lounges and is a must in the hot summer.

Room Tip: The rooms that have been refurbished on the third and fourth floor have triple glazing and are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you for such positive a feedback. I was extremely pleased to read your full satisfaction regarding our high level of service. I look forward to welcoming you back again to the Phoenicia.
Warm Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel from the 5th to the 9th July 2013. We arrived mid-morning and was greeted by a very friendly Doorman who helped us with our suitcases.
Due to us being early our room was not wuite ready but reception advised us where to go for a short walk in the city of Valetta and if once we were back would inform us that our room was ready.
We decided to have soom food from the Club Bar and were pleasantly surprised with the amount of good quality food we received for the price.
Our room was spacious (we stayed in a room with a view of the harbour and a balcony) and very clean.
Throughout our stay every staff member we met was courteous and helpful. The food on-site was without fault and we booked a trip through the Representative at the hotel who was extremely knowledgeable and polite.
We booked breakfast for each morning and were amazed by the amount of choice on offer. The waiting staff were always on hand with hot beverages and could not do enough to assist.
We had a drink in the evenings at the Club Bar where the waiter brought drinks and snacks to your table, he even remembered by the second night what we had ordered the previous night, no mean feat as the hotel was at full capacity!!
We booked a meal at the Bastion Pool for the monday night and I ordered the Red Snapper, this was cooked beautifully and the service was again faultless.
This was our first visit to Malta and i have no doubt that our experience of this was greatly improved thanks to the hotel and the staff.
We booked the Phoenicia as we wanted to have a city break in somewhere luxurious and id did not disappoint.
If we return to Malta we would not hesitate in staying here again, well done Phoenicia!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is lovely to read your positive comments and that you had such a good time when you were staying with us. I am especially flattered by your comment that your stay at the Phoenicia helped improve your experience in Malta. We very much look forward to continuing to welcome you back whenever you are in Malta.
Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We could'nt fault this excellent hotel in any way,the staff,the service and the food wre all first class.The bedroom was spotless,beds and pillows very comfortable and the bathroom always clean and well provided.We look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, I am happy to learn that we have been able to meet your expectations and that you are looking forward coming back to the hotel. We are already looking forward to your next visit.
Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This time in Malta we were celebrating a very special Birthday, we decided to treat ourselves to a stay at the Phoenicia. Having been to Malta 6 times before, we are now hooked on the experience of staying for at least a few nights at the Phoenicia at the beginning of our usually extended stay in Malta.

The experience was friendly, romantic, fun,relaxing, authentic and convenient for the stunning ciety of Valletta.

Just book in and enjoy :)

Room Tip: Book a Sea View room, it's definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a flattering recommendation to other Trip Advisor review. We are both happy and honored that you have chosen to celebrate your special birthday at the Phoenicia. I am glad that to learn that your are 'hooked on the experience' and I look forward to welcome you back for your next birthday.
Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Phoenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenicia

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Phoenicia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Phoenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta/Valletta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Phoenicia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.