We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel In Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Phoenicia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Phoenicia to your Saves list
Hotel Phoenicia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Valletta
Bromley, Kent UK
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Great Hotel In Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My daughter and I have just returned from a four night stay at this grand hotel. The Hotel is in an excellent position for exploring Valletta and the Island. From the moment we arrived we found all the staff friendly and extremely helpful.
We had booked a Harbour View room. We were disappointed with our first room as the view was over the large Valletta car park with harbour views in the far distance. Before unpacking I returned to reception and was promised a move to another room the next day. The second room (415) was fairly small but well furnished with a good bathroom. I think most of the rooms are the same size. This second room had a lovely view out of the rear of the hotel over Marsamxett Harbour. There was no balcony - rooms on the first and second floors have small balconies. We didn't feel the rooms were large enough to sit and relax in. They were great for sleeping - comfortable beds and very quiet.
There's a lovely lounge - didn't like the piano entertainment on one evening - and a club bar which is very colonial in style.
We only ate breakfast in the hotel. There was a good choice of hot and cold foods.
Neville on reception and Saviour, the Concierge, gave us some excellent recommendations for dinner - Ambrosia, Malata, Palazzo Preca and Gianni. I will review them separately.
The hotel has a nice garden and good pool with lovely views.
Overall it was a great stay and we would recommend the hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel away from the road and bus station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    539
    149
    48
    18
See reviews for
199
1,198
101
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here last week for three nights and enjoyed our stay.

Our room was large and had plenty of room to relax. The location is perfect, right outside the city walls and everything in Valetta is within walking distance.

The pool is nice but quite a walk from the main hotel building.

We did not use any of the bars or restaurants.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Having lived in Malta for a number of years way back when I had always wanted to stay at this hotel. The Grandness is somewhat faded but this seems to be being sorted by some well need paint. It is spotlessly clean and very reminisant of bygone times inside the main areas. Rooms clean reasonably spacious with excellent service. I would however make the point that its position means the rooms facing Vallettas main gate entrance are VERY noisy due to traffic and people.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing towards the main route into Valletta, unless you like to wake up early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This has got to be the best hotel in malta

breakfast best ever especially the hot buffet and omelets
Pheonix restaurant food good
pegasus brasserie food excelant the fillet steak and kobe beef is to die for cooked to perfection
weather you want it rare or well done and everything inbetween
on the wholeI would recomend this hotel to anyone who likes comfort and class room 421 is good with good views of the harbour well worth the extra paid for harbour view

there was a double wedding on on saturday but did not cause much inconveiance to the to us as guests . the gardens are well maintained and paths swept daily to a very high standered

thankyou once again to all at the phoenicia and we will be back soon

Room Tip: pay the extra for harbour view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Phoenicia hotel is the just on the outside of the old city. It's a very Grand hotel that many famous people have stayed. It does need a little bit of a face lift in the hallways. The rooms are a nice size on the bathrooms are a good size with lots of area for shaving gear and make up.
I was very sick on one do the fours days at this hotel and they had a private doctor come to see about me. The staff was very nice and the gardens are really nice! It was to cold to swim in the pool but was a nice setting. If you ask for a balcony and view of the harbor ask to be on the back side with only the harbor and no street. The breakfast is Not worth 18 euros! Go into town and there are plenty of cafes for much less price.

Room Tip: 212 is looking at habor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have just returned from our third stay at this historic hotel where we are always well looked after. The staff are efficient, professional and friendly. The breakfast is really good and very wide-ranging, with what must be nearly all tastes catered for. Our superior balcony room had wonderful views towards Grand Harbour and the Three Cities and over Floriana and the comfortable bed was about as big as it could be. TV had a range of viewing available including Eurosport, Sky News, MGM films, Discovery, History and various European language channels. Free Wi-Fi is available on the hotel's ground floor and wired internet connection is available in the bedroom at a reasonable charge. Efficient air conditioning kept us cool at night. The gardens are beautiful and extensive with lovely views and the swimming pool and its facilities excellent - I enjoyed an excellent sangria at the Bastion Pool Bar. The hotel's location couldn't be better, with taxis immediately outside, the bus station very near and the beautiful, interesting and historic city of Valletta within five minutes walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have very recently returned from this hotel after spending a week on holiday with my wife. We had a basic room (214) which was functional, comfortable with plenty of storage places. It could have done with a coat of fresh paint as seemed to be happening in the public rooms and under the rim of the sink and toilet mould was starting to appear as well as the grouting on the bathroom tiles. It wasn’t too bad but could have been better considering the hotel sells itself as a 5 star establishment. The bedroom floors were tiled for ease of cleaning but they a noisy and you could hear furniture being moved throughout the hotel. That said it was ok and we managed to sleep quite well. Other guests we met who occupied superior rooms considered them to be small and lacked enough wardrobe room so you have been told.
We were stopping on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfasts were excellent with plenty of variety. The gardens are tidy but a little walk away from the hotel but offer good views towards a local harbour but it can be very windy.
I found the hotel staff to polite and helpful, you will find as in Italy that a please and thank you goes down well. This hotel reminded me of Italian hotels so 5 star actually should read 4.
The hotel is situated next the main bus terminal which has two faces, during the day it is bustling and full of people but late at night it is quite eerie with few people as is Valletta itself. The bus is the best way to get around with a day ticket.
All in all I would return to this hotel as the location is excellent but some money should be spent on room refurbishment.

Room Tip: Some of the so called executive rooms are smaller than the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Phoenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenicia

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Phoenicia 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Phoenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta/Valletta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Phoenicia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.