We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A business or Holiday Trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Phoenicia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Phoenicia to your Saves list
Hotel Phoenicia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Valletta
Woburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A business or Holiday Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have just stayed at the very best Hotel on the Island of Malta, this started out as a business trip and soon ended up being a very restful and peaceful holiday indeed - I have stayed in Malta on many occasions but never at this most elegant and superbly run Hotel. My room was perfect, with every facility I required for my short but delightful stay. The food excellent; the hotel right in the heart of Valletta; paradoxically, a quite place with Gardens and Pool, just beside the Island transport hub....

Brian W T Plunkett Eversholt Nr Woburn -Bedfordshire

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    495
    134
    44
    16
See reviews for
188
1,108
93
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bovey Tracey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Once again we were not disappointed in the Phoenicia. The staff are superb, some have been here many years and recognise people who return which is very nice. The Pegasus Bistro has changed slightly since last year and for the better, concentrating more on fish, perhaps trying to keep up with the Malata Restaurant in Valetta. We loved sitting in the Palm Court Bar and the food there was very good - the club sandwich and Chicken Ceasar in particular. One thing though, please get some more chairs and sofas, they are far too deep and people were desperate for the few cushions, they are also looking a bit worn. Apart from that it was a wonderful stay yet again. With the bus station being so handy, it is ideal for travelling around the island.

Room Tip: Choose a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a very smart, elegant hotel, in a prime position in Valetta, where the emphasis is on excellent service. Our room (basic option) was spacious with excellent bathroom/shower facilities. Breakfast plentiful with good choices. Particularly recommended are the snacks in the Club Bar which were of the highest quality, especially the Caesar Salad.

We enjoyed the gardens and, if younger, would have enjoyed the pool also.

One suggestion: make a catalogue of the photos in the bar and around, and present an exhibition of them. Some of them are fascinating especially to the older English visitor.

Would we stay at The Phoenicia again? You bet we would!!

Room Tip: Be aware that the Air Conditioning seems to be set centrally. If it does not suit, consult Reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First, the positives: Hotel Phoenicia is brilliantly located, has lovely gardens and a pool and more history and charm than you could hope for in a country over-flowing with rich historic significance. The bar is particularly appealing and shows what this hotel could be like if spruced up to its former glory.

The hotel isn't bad, it's just not that great. Our room was tired and dated. The bathroom, although serviceable, would benefit from a complete makeover. The room too was a bit old and clunky - I haven't seen a tv that old and fuzzy in quite some time!

The staff were lovely (very old school) and our stay was fine, but I certainly wouldn't return to Malta for the hotel. I might come for a drink in the bar, but look elsewhere for somewhere a bit snazzier for the price.

Room Tip: We read that some rooms have been refurbished while others are pre-renovations. Ours was pre-renovat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Excellent service, excellent breakfast, lovely room. The best base to see around malta and velatta on your door step. The staff here were excellent. Gardens were beautiful as was the area around the swimming pool. All together would recommend for older generations. The meals in the Pegasus restaurant in the hotel were fantastic. Have the rabbit followed by the crepe suzette. The bathroom or rather the bath was huge and the bed was very , very comfortable. Would return like a flash

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just spent three days at this most beautiful relaxing hotel. Staff were the most courteous in all areas. Breakfasts were suitably catered for me a vegetarian. Swimming pool and area were so relaxing, no noise only peace and quiet. Overall a wonderful experience. My only wish is that I could have stayed longer.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was our first visit to Malta and, although originally intending to stay in Gozo, we decided, on recommendation from friends, to stay at the Phoenicia and keep Valletta as our base. This proved to be a good decision and the hotel lived up to its billing. From the very moment we walked through the door, we were greeted by warm and friendly staff who went out of their way to help make our time there as enjoyable as possible. I spend a lot of time in hotels with work and this was by far and away the best customer service I have ever experienced. We wanted a quiet and relaxing break and with a lovely harbour view room, surprisingly good food and generally comfortable surroundings, the Phoenicia delivered on all counts. Our only (mild) criticism was with the Pegasus restaurant which is the fine dining option. The service was a lttle over the top and fussy but at least the food was good. However, this would not deter us from dining there again the next time we stay at the Phoenicia, which we will most certainly do.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 3rd and 4th floors have the harbour view and are more expensive but worth the premi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Phoenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenicia

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Phoenicia 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Phoenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta/Valletta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Phoenicia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.