We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tragedy of a good cook” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Salvino's

Salvino's
32, Archbishop Street, Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 2124 6437
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 169 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The recently refurbished restaurant is situated in the heart of Valletta under the new parliament plaza. Today, under the leadership of Chef Steve Mamo they lead their dynamic team in providing dishes with a modern and classical touch with all flavours staying true to themselves. Salvino's offers an extensive list of Italian wine, featuring rare vintages and other sought after selections which complement Steve's carefully crafted dishes, in addition to an outstanding dessert menu.
Wien
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“The Tragedy of a good cook”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

is, when his work is ruined by the service staff. That is what is happening in Salvino's restaurant.

We've been there twice for dinner. The food was very good both times - definitely above average. All the meat, pasta, vegetables, salads and desserts we we had there where very good an just done right. The spicing in most dishes was also very good.

What ruins everything though is the service. The service is beyond bad - it almost has a touch of "Mr. Bean like" comedy because the people working there have just no clue what they're doing. For literally everything you ask them they go to the chef to ask. Then they come back and tell you what the chef said. Then you ask back and they go and ask back - it's a bit like in a bad movie. They are all nice, it's just they don't know it any better. One cannot even get angry on them but I don't know why no one trains them better.

The atmosphere is good. The restaurant has stone walls which looks always nice to someone who's not used to that. Only problem is: if there is a concert going on on the square above the restaurant, then you hear the musik also in the restaurant - which I guess is good if you like the musik but not so good if you don't like the musik.

So all in all: food is really good. Atmosphere is also good. The service I guess you just have to take as it is - slow & having no clue about food or anything related with it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    19
    4
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mosta, Malta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very poor yet very expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very poor service, nearly arrogant and the pasta dressing was very poor to say the least! Never again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good pasta but quite expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Busy little restaurant serving good selection of italian type pasta and other dishes. Food was good but quite expensive for what you get. Service good and decent selection of local wines.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
1 review
“God bless this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Basically every time you dine here is a standout. Especially (but not just the) pasta. It is cooked to perfection and it's probably the best pasta I've ever eaten anywhere (and yes, this anywhere includes Italy - in which only one restaurant I've been to serves pasta of this quality). Fresh ingredients, intelligent twists to the preparation and cooking and a very amiable chef who lights up whenever he's conversing (in a refreshingly casual manner) about food. All I wish for is an extra stomach in order to eat twice as much. Bravo.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

i was taken to this restaurant around a month ago to celebrate my friend's birthday. There were eight of us in total. We had the most amazing three coarse meal all prepared from the hands of a Chef by the name Andrew who i was introduced to later. Menu's were given to us but my friend said to leave it in the Chef's hands and so it was. The fusion, as known, was superb, with the knowledge of wine and the atmosphere made it a perfect eve. Mixed antipasti as starters, meat and fish as main courses, and a cake made of as a well known maltese dessert "Helwa tat-Tork".......awesome !!!
Yesterday, i went there again with my girlfriend and as soon as we entered i could smell something was on the stove. The Chef welcomed us and remembered that we had been there before. Like our last visit, i asked the Chef for a nice place of pasta and he offered to do us two different types and so it was. I asked the Chef what the first plate was, and explained that it was beef cuts from a cow known as "chianina" slow cooked in dark chocolate and the the second was as good as the first. Another superb experience with a chocolate fondant dessert and my girlfriend took a mascarpone cheese cream wrapped in buiscuit and nuts.....
Salvino"s, i'll definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvino's also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Salvino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salvino's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.