We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kantina Cafe - Wine

Kantina Cafe - Wine
103, St John Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1157, Malta (Formerly Kantina Caffe)
+356 2723 0096
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 169 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $22
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Seafood, Sandwiches, Mediterranean, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is a family run business and we do our best to give the home made food feeling. We mainly cook A La Carte therefore the menu changes twice daily, depending on what is fresh during the day. For those that are in more of a rush there are the snacks and burgers menu. Being exactly in the middle of Valletta one could shade themselves from the scorching sun under our lovely trees whilst having their well deserved break.
weymouth
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We ate here on just one occasion during our visit and that was on our first day in Valletta. The food and service were excellent (I had the rabbit which was cooked to perfection) and the prices were as competitive as anywhere else in the city.

Our only complaint would be that by 7 o'clock in the evening they were closing for the day. After that first meal we would probably have gone there most evenings. However, every cloud has a silver lining and if they didn't close so early we would not have found the Ordnance Pub (in Ordnance Street).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    93
    23
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Paella for two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I like this place, it's not fussy, it's not 'in your face' and the staff are friendly and helpful. [Even if some of them have only been working there for a day or two].

We were looking for a meal that wouldn't break the bank , something not too serious nor too formal. The next day we'd be heading to Gozo so and un-rushed dinner was in order of the day.
Two good sized paellas, chatting with staff and other diners and a couple of bottles of local wine made for a perfect end to the first leg of our stay in Malta..

Thank you Kantina I've dropped in over the years and whether it's just a quick drink or a long dinner you haven't disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Place, friendly stuff, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We run into Kantina Cafe twice already, both times had pleasant experience. My husband had delicious, juicy burger, I had salad. The prices are decent for Valletta, does not brake a budget at all. Food is really good, great selection of wine. Defiantly worth coming back. Loved the square where it is situated.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stopped in after a long visit to the St. John's Co-Cathedral - the location is perfect, our waitress was lovely, and it was so nice to sit under the trees and recover from all the gold. I wouldn't recommend the cocktails, they were watery, but I enjoyed a delicious ftira sandwich.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This place was a good find thanks to trip advisor. Food and wine was so good service excellent, that we had to pay it a second visit while Valletta.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kantina Cafe - Wine also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Kantina Cafe - Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kantina Cafe - Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.