We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Malta to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lascaris War Rooms

Lascaris War Rooms
Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 2180 0992
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 Attractions in Valletta
Type: Military Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lascaris War Rooms consist of an underground complex of tunnels and chambers that housed the War Headquarters from where the defence of Malta was conducted during the Second World War.This secret complex contained operations rooms for each of the fighting services from where not only the air defence of Malta was coordinated, but also some of the greatest battlesfought in the Mediterrean during the war.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Place in Malta to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our visit was made all the more interesting and special by the extremely helpful and enthusiastic Maltese guide. He really set the scene and brought the place alive. Be careful of the walk down to the war rooms though. We went the long way and there were a lot of steps.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Community Manager at FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you KateThorp.
There are various ways to come into the Saluting Battery, the easiest one is by going to the bottom of the Bus Terminus just outside of the City Gate, and go through the parking or bus deposit area on the left. There are only a few stairs there.

Xulio Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    102
    19
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WW 11 Information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The guide gave us a very good insite to what happened in these rooms.

Disliked the number of steps down to the entrance

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Community Manager at FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you keith r.
Well, we can do nothing about the steps,the Lascaris War Rooms had been created with that purpose, to be kept in a really secret place an with no easy access point, but we already improve a lot that, and now can be seen by most of the public trying to come in. Still works to be done, and hopefully one day everybody will be able to understand better this part of the Maltese History while roaming around this fantastic site.

Xulio Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“VERY INTERESTING HISTORICAL JOURNEY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I'm late in leaving this review as I thought I had already done it but after checking through I notice I had not.

Very interesting history on WW2 - I do not want to say much as it will stop your enjoyment of this fantastic place.

You will come away eager to find out more of the involvement of the Maltese and Ww2. To me, I know the Maltese were extremely brave and played a very big part of us winning the war, in fact, in my opinion, if they had not have helped us, I don't think we would have won. That's my opinion but do go along to all the WW2 sites and see for yourself.

I would like to return to this site.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Community Manager at FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you saloustar.
It is completely true, without Malta playing an important role, the final Victory should had been more complicated to get.
But all of this can be seen with further details while exploring the Lascaris War Rooms with one of our fantastic guides.

Xulio Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A must see for those interested in war history, and everybody else... ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a must see in Valetta, both for those interested in war history, and for those just curious about this man-dug complex of tunnels and rooms 17 m underground built during WW2. The exhibition was a perfect mix of a short movie about the convoys to Malta during the war, a entusiastic guide who had a lot of history to tell about the complex and operation Husky - and really loved doing so, and the use of audio guide. The amount of information was accurate, making it possible covering the whole museum without spending more than a couple of hours. Parts of the complex is not yet made part of the exhibition, so we definitively will make a new visit to the museum, should we make a new visit to Malta and Valetta.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Community Manager at FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you ao1982.
Yes,we will be opening the rest of the rooms by this summer, so please, make an occasion and come back, also before coming check on our websites the information about the multi-site ticket giving you access to the different attractions and also the calendar of events.

Xulio Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“One of the best museums to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stumbled across the Lascaris War Rooms by accident as we were exploring Valletta and came across it "the back way" late one afternoon. Indeed, we thought we might be too late to get in as it closes at 5 pm, but at just after 4 pm we were let in with no problem.

We started with a film showing the history of Malta in the war, particularly with relevance to the War Rooms, then wandered through the rooms, in which so many had worked during this incredibly difficult time for the island. There were many exhibits which had been used at the height of the action and the stories they told were remarkable.

This museum brought so much to life and I found it enthralling. It isn't one of the newer up-market style museums, but nonetheless is none the poorer for that. In fact, it makes it all the more real. Do go and see it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Community Manager at FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you hortenseLeeds.
That is our intention, by having the Lascaris War Rooms as they should have been during that period, you can understand better all that hard part of History. For other exhibitions we do have the Malta at War Museum in Birgu, but we believe the War Rooms are to be kept as they should have been.

Xulio Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lascaris War Rooms also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Lascaris War Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lascaris War Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.