We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real war gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lascaris War Rooms

Lascaris War Rooms
Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 2180 0992
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 59 things to do in Valletta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lascaris War Rooms consist of an underground complex of tunnels and chambers that housed the War Headquarters from where the defence of Malta was conducted during the Second World War.This secret complex contained operations rooms for each of the fighting services from where not only the air defence of Malta was coordinated, but also some of the greatest battlesfought in the Mediterrean during the war.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real war gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The enthusiastic tour guide made this place come alive, but what a find in the tunnels under Valletta. its a small gem of history where the allies planned and sheltered their way out of hell.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Marketing Manager at FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you bidbad.
Also is the place where all the preparations for the invasion of Sicily were done. Giving the Allies the training for the D-Day at Normandy.

Xulio Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    127
    28
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Epic underground.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a 'Malta must see'

The British and the Maltese owe each other a mutual debt of gratitude Without each other the WW2 would have had a very different outcome.

Deep under ground in tunnels hewn from the bare rock by the Maltese the island defence was co-ordinated including some of the very first radar activity that extended the warning before the almost constant air raids that Malta suffered - around 3300 air raids in under 3 years becoming even more bombed than London was.
The tunnels and rooms were dug out during 1940/43, 40M beneath Battery Gardens. The guides are superb, personably, highly knowledgeable and impassioned. 2 hours flew by (it was nearly 3 before we left)
The place is very well restored and a further extension to it is being planned at the moment. This is a real slice of recent history and well worth taking the children along.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Marketing Manager at FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you Quite_interesting.
It truly is a really must see if you are interested in Malta's History and also Europe and World's History, because is a site really important for keeping the life as we know it today.
Even children are enjoying this fantastic tour as you said.

Xulio Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not really a museum - just real history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A lot of this is still being worked on, so you don't get to see everything, and as a "museum" it is rather basic with just a small display.

However for 45 minutes the guide takes you through everything, answering questions about how the rooms were used in the defence of Malta and the invasion of Sicily and Italy. And unlike some guides the old boy's enthusiasm was infectious. At 10 euros it is a bit pricy, but well worth it if you like that sort of thing. I even learned something (good) about my old unit that wasn't told to us in basic training.

As a result of this visit I am a) going back to do it again, and b) visiting the tunnels at Dover Castle as soon as possible, purely based upon the guide's recommendation.

Overall, if I could give it more points I would.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Marketing Manager at FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you Dean S.
The Lascaris War Rooms are certainly not a normal museum, like all the other properties we have in trust, we love to do things a bit different, and obviously we try to conserve the essence of this place for showing it as it was built, not as a museum, but as the spectacular Headquarters of the Mediterranean during the IIWW.

Xulio Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Amazing place where history really comes alive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Everywhere in Valletta, you see signs to the Lascaris War Rooms. They all seem to point in different directions. Consequently, we seemed to trek for ages before we found the entrance. Once there, we were met by a very enthusiastic and charming guide who gave an excellent talk on the history and importance of the WWII bunker. It was incredible how air battles were plotted and controlled using such low tech methods. There are plans to open even more parts of the complex so don't miss this attraction, if you visit Malta.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Marketing Manager at FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you Snowlizardkevin.
We are working with the signage but is really complicated, because of Valletta being part of the cities listed on the World Heritage list, it is not really easy to work with the signage, but the best way for finding them is to go from the bottom of the Bus Terminus or if you are in town, coming towards the Upper Barrakka Gardens and turning to the left before coming in. But as you said, once you find it, it worth the trip for coming in.

Xulio Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic piece of war history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My adult sons, myself and my husband spent ana amazing few hours here. The tour is fantastic as it really brings the place alive. If we had just wandered around we would have been out in half an hour, but with the tour it lasted for a couple of hours and we were all mesmerised! Really enjoyable and great to see Malta's role in WWII being revealed and its importance highlighted.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Marketing Manager at FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you richo66.
The tour itself takes for about 1 hour, but even you can get the audioguides and have even more information about the Lascaris War Rooms. Don't forget to follow the restoration work's progress on our websites and Social Network profiles

Xulio Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lascaris War Rooms also viewed

 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 

Been to Lascaris War Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lascaris War Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.