We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent and exciting museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lascaris War Rooms

Lascaris War Rooms
Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
21800992
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 attractions in Valletta
Type: Military Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Lascaris War Rooms consist of an underground complex of tunnels and chambers that housed the War Headquarters from where the defence of Malta was conducted during the Second World War.This secret complex contained operations rooms for each of the fighting services from where not only the air defence of Malta was coordinated, but also some of the greatest battlesfought in the Mediterrean during the war.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An excellent and exciting museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The museum is well laid out, with good presentation notices explaining. The site staff are very enthusiastic and knowledgeable, and eager to help and share- even on matters that don't directly relate to the site, or Malta directly. Highly reccomended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of the FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you greenknight010.
All the staff of FWA is interested in History, and we are trying to improve everyday our tours for a better experience for our visitors, trying to search more about all the History that can be realeated with our heritage.

Xulio Vazquez
Custodian and guide of the FWA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    69
    16
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a must if you want to learn more about how Malta survived the 2nd World War. The tour was guided by a very knowledgeable gentleman who made everything very interesting. The tour starts with a 10 minute film and then then follows through all the rooms. Very well laid out with lots of snipptes of information being given out. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you holswelove

It is a good new that you have enjoy it. Our guides try to keep all the sites we have in trust alive, and also give a good experience to the tourists.

Xulio Vazquez
Custodian and guide of FWA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Formerly top secret, now an amazing recreation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was an absolutely fascinating place to visit and amazing to see what the owners have achieved since taking on the complex in a derelict state 5 years ago. Very well researched, excellent guide who really knew his history and brought the place to life. A real understanding of why Malta won the George Cross and her importance in turning the tide of the war.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you Catherine C
Thank you for your comments about us and visiting our sites. We try to do our best everyday and provide a good experience to the tourists, and with this get more founds for keeping going in our mission of keeping them alive

Xulio Vazquez
Custodian and guide of FWA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
“Amazing guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had an amazing guide who brought WWII in Malta to life. He was excellent at describing the problems the allies faced and how they overcame them. He had fascinating anecdotes and made history come alive. Please note if you visit the museum WITHOUT the guide you will be disappointed. There's nothing written up to explain the exhibits and there isn't a huge amount to see. But with the guide it is an amazing experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you thumbelina2
Our target is provide a really good and personal experience to the tourists, that is the difference in our sites from other ones, trying to keep alive the place, not only with some texts written, but also, really soon we are having the audioguides in different languages for those who want to go by themselves through our sites, but with the posibility of a guided tour as well like right now.
Also, in some of our sites, like in Fort Rinella with the animated tour at 2 pm or Saluting Battery with the firing of the Noon Day Gun Salute, we have re-enactments, keeping alive the place

Xulio Vazquez
Custodian and guide of FWA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely fascinating place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The war rooms were an extremely interesting place to visit. The guide who showed us round really brought the place and it's history to life. We'd definately recommend a visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you linzzdg
Our guides in all of the FWA sites have a good knowledge about all of them, and also about Malta's History
Visit our website and Social Network pages for more information about events, progress of works, discounts on Twitter, etc.

Xulio Vazquez
Custodian and guide of FWA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lascaris War Rooms also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Kalkara, Island of Malta
 

Been to Lascaris War Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lascaris War Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lascaris War Rooms to your Saves list