We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Fabulous Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guze Bistro

Guze Bistro
22 Old Bakery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 2123 9686
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 169 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Guze Bistro in the capital Valletta combines the perfect balance between a modern, chic environment that is yet also classic and quiet. You will be dining in a 400-year-old historical building, built by the Knights of St John.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This place was only a 2 minute walk from our apartment on Old Mint Street. What a lovely place and one of the best meals we have ever eaten, at a really affordable price. You could not get a meal like this in the UK with wine, for 20 euros a head. Try the sharing board to start and the pasta with wild boar and truffle oil, is the best pasta dish I have ever tasted. My husband had the rabbit and loved it. The food in Valletta is the reason why we are thinking of returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    145
    36
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Nice Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We decided to try Guze Bistro having seen it's excellent reviews on trip advisor. We went twice so that says a lot. The first time the food was pretty good. I had the rabbit stew and my wife had the lamb shank. They were both OK. The sorbet for sweet was excellent. The second time I had the rabbit ravioli. It was awful and I could not eat it. To be fair they offered to get me something else. The service atmosphere and price was good.
We found that the restaurants in Valletta are very similar in menu and price ( a bit expensive for the quality on offer). However it is not the best restaurant in Valletta which from our limited experience is Giannini. Far better food and wonderful view

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“ENJOYED MID WEEK LUNCH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Was with my partner in Valletta this week and was looking through tripadvisor phone app which restaurants to have lunch in. Guze was amongst the best restaurants in Valletta so we decided to give it a try. The restaurant is not big however has a lot of character. We were the first couple in at around noon however we were attended to straight away even though the restaurant opens for lunch a bit later. The menu is not vast however very varied. We had the rib eye for main course and a plate of pasta for starters + dessert. Great tasty food and attentive service. Will surely be back as we really enjoyed it. Keep it up!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We arrived at 7pm for dinner with no prior booking. Fortunately, the restaurant managed to provide us with a table for two hours, which was perfectly fine for us. We had a full 3 course meal accompanied by a bottle of wine. The whole dining experience was just lovely, food was delicious, the waiter was courteous and the service was fast. All very professional. The restaurant, which is located in basement like cellar, gives a unique ambience for the whole experience. A tiny mistake made to our bill, where they charged us for an espresso that was never served. However, upon pointing that tiny error, the waiter quickly apologized and we got our bill corrected. Totally recommended dining out place to be experienced when visiting Valleta.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best rabbit in Malta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were here yesterday just because we read some good reviews about the place on TripAdvisor. It is a lively place, indeed. We had scallops for a starter - they were amazing! And I had the best rabbit in my life as a main dish! The atmosphere was nice and relaxed, the service was excellent, this place is highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guze Bistro also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Guze Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guze Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.