We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice wee place to eat in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Ranieri

Cafe Ranieri
Republic Street, 39, Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
21 24 90 63
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 155 restaurants in Valletta
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
northern ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice wee place to eat in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We only ate in here while we were staying in valetta would def go back on our next visit. Food was nice fast service and wasn't expensive for some off their dishes except their own like rabbit stew it was 12 euros!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    49
    37
    5
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never Again!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Well, the process of ordering and paying took ages. The portions are very small but expensive. Ftira - chicken and Mushroom with salad - was nothing special. The salad consisted of a lettuce and one piece of tomato. The pizza was quite ok, but also very small and expensive for its size. The waiters did not even take note of our order....

However, the place is quite okay and welcoming.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“just satisfactory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

It was a Sunday evening and not many restaurants were open. The service was rather slow and paying the bill was another rather slow process. The food was nothing special but edible and more expensive than other restaurants we have been too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gharghur
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Never again!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Such a shame for a cafeteria in the heart of Valletta!! We came in for something sweet and ordered a slice of Cherry Cheesecake and another one of Snickers Cake. We couldn't even eat half of it. The cheesecake was very grainy and the snickers cake had no taste of snickers whatsoever.

At least my thick vanilla shake was good!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Slap dash service from a grumpy waiter...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The waiter should really make a note of your order, it might make it easier for him to remember just what you ordered.
Not impressed with the style of service, far too eager to chat to locals than serve new customers.
Food was OK, nothing to write home about.
Took ages to settle the bill.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ranieri also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Cafe Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Ranieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.