We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the same friendly service anf good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anglo Maltese League

Anglo Maltese League
Merchant Street 221, Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
2123 9944
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 162 Restaurants in Valletta
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Paphos, Cyprus
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Still the same friendly service anf good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

It has been two years since our last trip to Malta, but because we had such a good meal in the Anglo Maltese during previous visits, it was inevitably on our itinerary once again. We were not disappointed. My wife prefers seafood, and she was not disappointed by either the size or quality of the portion. During our time on the island we visited three times, and I tended to select more randomly from the menu. I chose rabbit (excellent), the Lampuki was well grilled but slightly small, and the stuffed courgette was tasty and filling. The various veg's and salads that accompanied these dishes were always most enjoyable, and the chips and sauteed potatoes were plentiful and delicious. In short, Top of our favourites remains the Bebbux, or snail stew! Not for everybody I know, but for afficionados you are in for a treat here!! I would recommend this little restaurant to anybody who wants good, honest Maltese food at very reasonable cost. We always to choose to eat inside, which is both cooler and quieter than the outside facility.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    46
    32
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metro Portland ME
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Touristy, Average, good location to people watch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Not knowing where to go (smartphones from US not turned on) we settled for eating on Merchant St. outside. We wanted to try local food so ordered lampuki and the rabbit stew. The lampuki was over-cooked and a bit small, while the rabbit meat in the stew was boney and gristley. I have since had rabbit with more meat on fewer bones. We had house wine which was ok for us. We felt the bill was high for value, but perhaps you pay for eating in the middle of merchant st. We have since learned to look up restaurants on Trip Advisor before leaving our flat which has wi-fi.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food & service with a smile.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had two lovely meals at this restaurant in Valletta, both very nice local fish dishes.
Thank you Karl and the chef.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Unremarkable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here randomly while walking through Valletta. The menu looked similar to most others and the restaurant had a nice outdoor seating area.

We ordered the seafood pasta, grilled fish of the day, and the recommended red wine. Nothing was bad, nor was nothing particularly exceptional. The seafood in the pasta did not taste particularly fresh, the fish was a bit chewy, and the wine was drinkable but not remarkable.

This is not a bad choice, but think better options are available at a similar price point in Valletta.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Untasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I took lampuki fish and vegetables-nothing special-untasty and cheap fast variant.my girl had stuffed zukini and was wattery and untasty.we didn say wow.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anglo Maltese League also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Anglo Maltese League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anglo Maltese League, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.