We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the World go by” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anglo Maltese League

Anglo Maltese League
Merchant Street 221, Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
2123 9944
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 169 Restaurants in Valletta
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Watch the World go by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We sat outside in the middle of the street (on chairs, obviously) which was great for watching the world go by and listening to a barrel-organ version of "We will rock you" by Queen, which was a bit surreal. I decided to go native and have the rabbit stew which was OK and reminded me of my youth and my wife had the salad which was bland. We ordered a carafe of local red wine that was very quaffable and appeared to contain a gallon rather than the litre stated on the menu, therefore the straight streets of Valletta appeared a little bendy afterwards.
All in all, a very enjoyable and inexpensive lunchtime.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    52
    37
    20
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“A bit rough & ready but OKish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The waiters were maybe a little over enthusiastic but friendly enough. My stuffed cabbage was great, full of flavour. My wife's stuffed calamari was pretty tasteless.
Had 2 glasses of wine that had lots of weird white sediment at the bottom of the glass, yuk. They were replaced with an apology. The toilets were a bit basic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great Choice & Late-Night Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

With a prime spot on Merchant Street & also offering outdoor dining, the Anglo Maltese League serves up great local food & also some safe English standards that won't intimidate the non-adventurous tour boat tourists.

The staff were attentive & friendly & eager to engage you about the freshness & quality of their food.

After about 9pm, this is the only location open on Merchant Street.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Maltese Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Anglo-Maltese is good for local tapas. It gives in abundance if you drink alcohol, and it is mostly local tapas. The Anglo-Maltese used to be a club for locals and the British personnel risiding in Malta when the British had their military base on the Island. There are a large number of photos depicting British naval battleships. Worth a visit for a drink and some tapas.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“This is really home cooking and I loved it!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The food here is not flashy or pretentious, it is home style cooking that tastes exactly like my Nunna (from Malta) makes! We had stuffed eggplants and marrows and both dishes were well cooked and seasoned. We got a glass of wine included with lunch and were served by the owner despite the restaurant being closed between lunch and dinner. Good service, great food, my only regret is that I couldn't try the rest of the local foods displayed in the counter, I could've ordered everything on this local menu! It looked amazing and very traditional. Next time I will be back to try other dishes too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anglo Maltese League also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Anglo Maltese League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anglo Maltese League, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.