We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Value For Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Mere Restaurant

La Mere Restaurant
174, Merchant Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1000, Malta
+356 2122 3256
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 162 Restaurants in Valletta
Price range: $19 - $47
Cuisines: Indian, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: La Mere is a quiet & cosy restaurant in Valletta, Malta. This restaurant is a fascinating journey though Mediterranean, Maltese, Arabian & Indian Cuisine. Home-made genuine food. Open for Lunch and Dinner from Monday to Saturday. Sunday closed all day.Children 8+ are welcome.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Poor Value For Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

A very nice setting with attentive service but very little food for the cost. Selected Tagine Kharut and the marinated lamb was delicious but it came with a paltry helping of cous cous, a salad with a bitter dressing and half of a crisp/thin nan bread. This cost €17 which is high for a main course in Valletta. There are a number of excellent better value for money establishments in Valletta.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    97
    25
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a small and lovely restaurant with good indian food. The service was delightful. We ate there two times and really enjoyed it. The second time we ate there the restaurant was full and it was rather noisy. The first time we went for lunch and it was nice and it was nice and quiet. We can really recommend chicken tikka masala, chana masala (dinner) and the vegatable rolls (lunch). However, we didn't like the indian platter as much (dinner).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great little find in the side streets of Valletta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Went before the fireworks fiesta on 30th April . So many people turned away. Food was great, cooked to perfection. Lovely vaulted room and atmosphere to match. Small but not claustrophobic. Wine priced at retail price then 4.5E corkage added on. Fabulous!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Fabulous small restaurant ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Indian food was as good as brick lane in London, spicy & authentic really 1st class food & service . The wine choice was good , the mini papadums were fun & the bill was very reasonable

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

La Mere is situated in a quiet corner of Valletta, and is somewhat under-stated: it would be easy to pass by and not notice it or think it is closed. As a result, when you enter you feel like you have discovered one of Malta's best-kept secrets. You have: the service is quietly attentive without being invasive, the decor is tasteful highly atmospheric, the range of the menu is extensive and varied, and unlike many places with a varied menu, everything is different and tasty.

I had the lamb tagine and my partner had the vegetarian thali. She swore it was the best Indian meal she had ever tasted, and my tagine was excellent too. The flavours were full and subtle, without being overpowering.

The desserts looked authentic and enticing, but we were both full from the main course, so had to pass.

Valletta is bustling and busy, and our eating experiences there had been less than satisfactory, so our visit to La Mere felt like spending an hour in a different world.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mere Restaurant also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to La Mere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mere Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.