We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic quiet place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta, Malta
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 130 restaurants in Sliema
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
sliema
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic quiet place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

food is fantastic, ambience very romantic and we love the little soup they give you on the house, small gesture and tasted yummi. would recommend for any occasion.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    66
    34
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Julian's, Malta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This restaurant is good if you just go for the quality of the food. The interior is fairly standard, and there is no view to the outside.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Finland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best in Sliema for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This place is one of those restaurants that I still think about though it has been years since my visit. The food there was simply so good! If I ever go back to Malta, eating in The Kitchen will be on the top of my list of things to do. Last trip I saved it for the last day, so I only got the chance to eat there once. The prices are much higher than in an average Maltese restaurant, but it is worth every penny. Dishes are delicate and beautifully presented. Service very polite. The only little downside is perhaps the decor. Very minimalistic and not to my liking as such. But that is no issue at all because the focus is on the treats on your plate. I had the best rabbit (tender and succulant) in my life and the vegetable purees were simply heaven.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il Gzira, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Spent a lovely evening at this restaurant and really enjoyed the food and excelent service. The place was quite. The sevice was very good. The person serving us explained in a clear manner what was available as speciality. The food was cooked to perfection. Will definetly visit this restaurant again. My suggestion to anyone who intends to go to this restaurant, place a reservation before visiting so that you are not disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I visited The Kitchen on the recommendation of my friend, who dined with me. The kitchen is a fairly bland small dining room in a terraced house, I was .... surprised. I don't know what I expect when I walk into a restaurant, but this was underwhelming.

The entire place seems to be run by just 4 people - yet the food, drinks and service are unbelieveable. Our server never wrote anything down, she just remembered it all perfectly. The steak was one of the best, the drinks were innovative (interesting cocktails) and the overall experience was excellent.

I would recommend this place to food lovers - it's simply great food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.