We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unforgettable Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace

Save Saved
You added The Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM1542, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Sliema
San Gwann, Malta
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“An Unforgettable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I had to attend a meeting in Sliema and my wife and I used this as an excuse to spend some time at this hotel and we definitely were not disappointed. This is a city hotel and located on top of a very gentle slope. Our first good impression was at check-in where we found the staff extremely helpful and friendly. Then we were taken to our room (on the 6th floor) which was very spacious and the decor was lovely. Though, as anybody would expect of a hotel which is situated slap-bang in the middle of a city, the view from our balcony was of the roof tops, it was an interesting one and we could see the sea only a short distance away. This was not exactly the time for swimming but if it were we had an indoor and outdoor pool available.
This position also meant that we could easily go visit the city and walk along the seaside at any time of day or evening.
Our room and everything about this hotel was spotlessly clean and every staff member we met always wore a smile and had a friendly greeting.
The bed was very comfortable and the A/|C so silent that one had to consciously listen to notice it.
The breakfast buffet here was very good and lavish and compared very favorably with that of most other 5-star hotels.
All in all, I can unhesitatingly say that we really had an enjoyable stay here.

Room Tip: The higher the room you book, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear kwars0123

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your wonderful comments.

Sincerely,
Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    997
    563
    168
    56
    15
See reviews for
210
1076
74
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We experience Malta in Easter holiday 2013 and booked Palace hotel which is in heart of the city and 8 to 10 minutes walk to the seaside. Hotel is very clean and reasonably priced. Buffet breakfast has so many choices and fresh and tasty. Indoor and out door swimming pool on the top very clean. You can see lovely view of Malta from the top of the hotel. There is also lovely asian restaurant on the top serve Indain, chinese and thai food. We really enjoyed the food and lovely hospitality during our 5 days stay in this Hotel. Hotel room very very clean and simple with all the facilities such as mini bar ( few wines, beer and soft drink). Overall its beautiful and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Harry E

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your wonderful comments.

Sincerely,
Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

my wife {virginija ] and i had a winter week in the Palace Hotel in nov. on arrival we got a . lovely welcome from JASON on reception we were upgraded to exc level ,a great start we stayed in this beautiful room for 2 days but with the limited sun at this time of year our balcony was not getting much sun ,so we thought we request another room. we were told there was none available that day but one would be free the next day our bags were transfered with ease next day thank you juys on reception our second room was even more beautiful plus the SUN Food great staff VERY helpful and polite . A very pleasent stay We will be back PS the Maltese people are very friendly and helpiful well done all round your dennis p j

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear dpj1234

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Palace was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We chose this hotel as we thought Valetta may be too quiet on winter evenings and Sliema is a proper locals town. Hotel is modern and funky with very good facilities (including a spa and indoor pool) and a choice of dining options. We had booked a superior room which included breakfast. Our room on the 6th floor was very spacious and modern and spotlessly clean. It had a little balcony with a view which was lovely on a sunny morning
Breakfast was excellent and we thought all the alcoholic drinks were reasonably priced for a 5 star hotel. Parking is 2 euros a day and is below the hotel and accessed via a lift through the Talk of the Town bar.
We bought the triple treat vouchers which gave us a buffet meal in both the Tabloid restaurant in the Palace and one in the Copperfields in the Victoria (hotels are joined - you just walk through from one to the other). Copperfields is actually closed for refurb so the meal was in a conference suite changed to a dining area. It also got us the set meal in TemptAsian on the 9th floor of the Palace. With hindsight, we would have been better off just buying the food as we went as I don't think the vouchers represented great value for money but this is a minor point
This is a lovely hotel with welcoming staff and we would recommend.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are on the higher floors and are bigger with a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear davidandmel

I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Yesterday lunch at the tabloid restaurant was fantastic. Food was very good and service was excellent. We really enjoyed ourselves and everything was to our liking. We also liked the Christmas decorations and the atmosphere was perfect. Thank you to Slyvain and all the staff. You were great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Noel P

Thank you for having chosen to dine with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service and food we have provided, which we truly appreciate. Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future reservations at the Tabloid. All the Food and Beverage Team and Kitchen Brigade will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Looking forward to meeting you and hosting you with us again.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the Palace again, this time in November. It was our 4th and 5th time as we stayed in Gozo in the middle of the holiday for three days.

We had a lovely welcome back when we first arrived. The gentleman that welcomed us was lovely and even suggested, (before we got a chance to ask), that we leave the bulk of our luggage with the Hotel when we popped over to Gozo. Now that's customer service!

Room No 1 - 551
We were given a room which seemed to be j-u-s-t inside the Victoria Hotel, (at least we went through a door which had the Hotel's name on?) on the 5th floor and perhaps this was the reason the room seemed a little different in configuration and with a different bathroom layout? Incidentally, for those wanting to know, the bathroom had solid walls and was not partitioned like the other rooms we have had in the past. We did have a problem with a blocked shower drain, but once this was fixed it caused no further problems.

I did notice there was no mirror and there didn't seem to be a plug where the kettle was, which seemed rather odd. We had to take the kettle over to the far side of the bed and plug it in there.

The view from our long balcony was of Sliema, St.Julians and the sea. The balcony also came with it's very own heating system - courtesy of a double-slatted door, near the far end, which threw out lovely hot air! I really enjoyed sitting out on the balcony at night all warm and toasty, although I just hope the management managed to fix the very wobbly balcony rail when I reported it?

Room No 2 - 832
We were given a room on the 8th floor when we came back from Gozo and although it wasn't ready when we arrived, we left the bags with Reception and went up to the pool terrace to enjoy the sun and the view.

The room was actually better than the first room we had, it seemed much nicer and again the bathroom had solid walls. The view of Valletta was amazing! I did miss the outdoor heating though. lol

Pillows were the large and soft continental type, but perhaps too soft for me. I have to admit my quality of sleep did suffer a bit. However, I appreciate pillow type is a personal choice ..

Breakfast
The breakfast was still amazing.. so much choice and a big thank you to whoever did those little tarts/cakes, they were scrumptious!

Lobby
We really enjoyed sitting in the lobby on an evening with the background music playing and the hub of chatter floating out from the bar. I was quite content sitting and having a pot of tea there. It was very relaxing.

Interesting points to note:
Although we stayed at the Grand Hotel, Gozo, which was very nice, the Palace definitely beats it hands down for customer service.

I noticed there is now a lock in place, at the far end of the pool terrace. I'm guessing this was done in response to a reviewer who noted guests from the Victoria were making free use of the Palace's roof terrace.

Jonathon, if you can, please pass on my good wishes to all the staff as they were amazing, very polite, friendly and nothing was too much trouble...even when I asked for decaffeinated coffee at breakfast. ;-)

We hope to be back in 2015 to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary at the Palace.

May I wish you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy 2014.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Drumzz2013,

I would like to thank you for having honoured us with you presence.

I would also like to express our sense of appreciation for sharing your experience with other viewers on Trip Advisor. Your comments are valuable and important for us. Rest assured that as much as your praise, particularly towards the staff, has been extended to all concerned, your constructive comments will surely not be ignored. This has always been our objective, to listen, discuss and action because your opinion counts, and for this, we thank you.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace next year.

On behalf of all the team I would like to wish you all the very best for the festive season.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

The Palace is one of those hotels with a fancy lobby, glam rooftop pool etc, but lets itself down a little in other areas.

A few gripes:
- beds far too soft. Spoke to reception who said what they normally do is add a board under the mattress. This clearly is a common complaint so why don't they do something more permanent? Board didn't help much.
- we were given a few buffet vouchers (low season) which was appreciated, but none of the food was marked as vegetarian and the wait staff didn't know either.
- we asked for a taxi to be booked but declined their extortionate in house car service and they wouldn't help us book a local taxi company.

Upsides:
- clean
- we had a problem with the heating (hotel was still in cooling mode) but they sent heater and a bottle of wine which did the job
- handy for bus, ferry, restaurants etc if you're happy with a short work up a steepish hill
- in warmer weather the rooftop with pool would be lovely

I was happy enough with the hotel given I got it in the cheap in low season but I would have been a bit disappointed if I'd paid a high season rate.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Doobsie139,

On behalf of the management and staff I would like to thank you for sharing your experience at The Palace on Tripadvisor. We are extremely disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectation and would like to apologise on behalf of the management and staff.

Our aim is to provide, improve and achieve quality service on a daily basis. Rest assured that your constructive comments have been shared with the respective Head of Departments.This has always been our objective, to listen, discuss and action because your opinion counts, and for this, we thank you.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.