We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace to your Saves list
The Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM1542, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
ALL of Malta, for LESS!
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Excellent location with perfect views from our room. Loads of reasonably priced restaurants within minutes walking distance so we didn't try the hotel's breakfast facilities. Minutes as well from all transport options - ferries, buses and trains. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear mcfadden m,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience at The Palace on Trip Advisor. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,155
    584
    178
    54
    13
See reviews for
229
1,233
86
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I booked 4 nights in the hotel awhile ago. I am presuming because i was on my own, I was put in room 839. Very few of their rooms face into a central well with no balcony and this was one of them. It was very claustrophobic and I had real problems with the airconditioning, so really warm. I felt I had spent a lot of money, so it was unfortunate that I could not wait to get out of the room. The hotel was 'full' so I could not be moved.
Other than this, the hotel was lovely and the staff really excellent. I was really impressed with the therapy salon and had two really good massages. My one complaint was I did not feel the pool area was particularly '5*'. Although there were staff, no-one came near you to offer you a drink, snacks etc and I hate drinking coffee out of a plastic mug!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Liz R,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with you presence.

I would also like to express our sense of appreciation for sharing your experience with other viewers on Trip Advisor. Your comments are valuable and important for us. Rest assured that as much as your praise, particularly towards the staff, has been extended to all concerned, your constructive comments will surely not be ignored. This has always been our objective, to listen, discuss and action because your opinion counts, and for this, we thank you.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the palace hotel for the third time and once again we were not disappointed! the room was fantastic with its wonderful views and terrace. Housekeeping was excellent The breakfast was indeed 5 star everthing you could wish for and the taboild restaurant provided an excellent selection of buffet food in the evenings.We also dined at the superb and very impressive temptations roof top restuarant!! just heaven to sit outside with its panoramic views and its first class gourmet food and service. We had a truly lovely relaxing holiday, all the staff were so helpful,nothing was too much trouble. A truly fantastic hotel with fantastic service and a fantastic and professional team. Everything about this hotel is 5 star and more!! What more could you ask for? just keep up the good work . We will be back!! A big thankyou to Moul, Jonathon and all the staff

Carol and Ken Green

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Ken G,

I would like to thank you for once again sharing your experience at The Palace on Trip Advisor. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Palace was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. I will gladly extend your praise personally to Moul, Jonathan and the rest of the team. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you for the fourth time at The Palace, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Palace in the middle of September and were very impressed by the overall service and friendliness of the staff. We got upgraded from a comfort room (comfort rooms have no windows - I didnt find this out until we were at the hotel - you have been warned!) to a room with a balcony which was fab.

Hotel room was spacious and luxious, just what I would expect. The Pool area was sublime - although maybe slightly noisy from the neighbouring building. TempAsian was AMAZING - food some of the best Asian food Ive ever eaten :) Breakfast was great - they will bring you herbal tea free of charge if you request it :)

Reception were really helpful when asking questions about buses and where to eat although they kept trying to sell up the hop on hop off tour - maybe they're on commission!

The only down side for this hotel for me was the location. Sliema is a very busy and somewhat run down area. The restaurants on the water were right by a busy road and their level of quality was questionable. We walked round to St Julian's Bay for food - about 15mins (try Piccolo Padre for a cheap eat or Barracuda for something a bit more luxurious)

All in all a lovely luxurious hotel and a fantastic holiday :)

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade and say that you heard a lot of people get upgraded on TripAdvisor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear DanniFudge,

First and foremost I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Palace Hotel for a week of total relaxation. Travelling on my own was a bit daunting but everyone at the hotel made me feel welcome and at home. The staff are exemplary. Nothing was too much for them and they went out of their way to accommodate any request made. I have never stayed in a hotel where all the staff seemed to be happy and smiling and eager to help. The deluxe room was lovely with everything on hand you would need. Even though the bell tower was opposite I never heard it once in the night. The bed was so comfy I had the best nights sleep I've had in a long time. Sitting on the balcony I had a fabulous view of Valletta especially watching it light up at night. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and very nicely presented. Temptasian was excellent. Service with a smile and delicious food. I never had a problem getting a sunbed by the rooftop pool which has the most wonderful views. All in all a wonderful holiday. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Tracys123,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to meeting you and hosting your with us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I wouldn't say this is 5 star , maybe 4 . Some of the rooms (ending *49) are extremely small , so beware . The beds are way to soft but you can ask for a board to be put underneath the mattress with helps alleviate a bad back in the morning . The church opposite has it's noisy bells ringing through the night for some reason . Internet is next to useless in some rooms . Breakfast is average for a "5 star" hotel . One thing that is great about this hotel is the staff who are extremely friendly and helpful . Located on a hill about 5-10 minute walk down to Sliema water front with it's abundance of restaurants and bars .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear DublinGwailo,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience at The Palace on Trip Advisor. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

Your comments are valuable and important for us. Rest assured that as much as your praise, particularly towards the staff, has been extended to all concerned, your constructive comments will surely not be ignored.

Whilst we understand that the WIFI signal might be a bit low during peak hours we confirm that we are currently in the process of upgrading our current system to a WIFI system powered by Ruckus which will be in place by this October, there again with the scope to meet and exceed our guests' experience.

We apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay and hope that our commitment to continuously improve will make you change your mind to re-visit our hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Truly an excellent hotel, fully deserving its 5 star rating. We found nothing about this hotel that we could find fault with. The rooms are superb, the food, especially in the Temptasian restaurant, is excellent and the staff must be the best on the island. The hotel is always spotless and there is nothing that is too much trouble for them. The management as well as the staff all seem happy in their work which makes for a very pleasant stay. A perfect two weeks in a very special place. A very special thank you to Mario, Amanda, Rose and Zslost for all they did. The beds are massive and incredibly comfortable which all makes for a really restful stay. We would not stay any where else in Malta and will be back next year. Our room had a large terrace complete with sun beds table and chairs. Just the place to watch the sun go down with a glass of wine. Excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor and above have the best views and are well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear John H,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.