We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace to your Saves list
The Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM1542, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
ALL of Malta, for LESS!
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
The Hague
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel at good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A lovely hotel, not exactly five stars, I would put it somewhere between four and five, but nevertheless a good value. The staff is helpful, sometimes a bit to eager to sell you services from their associates (for example, they insisted on us using the hop-onsightseeing bus instead of public transport, which works spotlessly).
The hotel is close to the ferry to Valletta, and to the buses which will take you all over Malta.
The room (we had a superior room, no. 746) is spacious, light, with lovely view, with big comfortable bed and enough pillows to choose from, which is important for me as a back patient.
The breakfast is also great, a lot of choice, except that they served only coffee and black tea . The restaurant staff was a bit annoying with taking away our plates and cutlery without asking if we had finished, so if you want to go for a second serving, make sure you don't leave your cutlery unattended :-)
There are two swimming pools, indoor and outdoor, both rather small, but enough for a dip.
Both the bar and the 9th floor Asian restaurant serve good food.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,160
    585
    179
    54
    13
See reviews for
229
1,239
86
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We recently returned home after our first trip to Malta. We stayed at the excellent Palace hotel in Sliema and were delighted with every aspect of our trip. The hotel lived up to our expectations in every way, the staff all went out of their way to be helpful and always with a smile on their faces. Breakfasts offered plentiful choices of both hot and cold dishes with loads of very welcome coffee on offer! Our room was spacious, clean and offered a splendid view from the balcony. We chose to keep the window shut at night but the air con was very quiet and efficient. We will definitely be going back.
Local transport worked well but we particularly enjoyed the ferry across to Valetta which was both cheap and frequent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel had a great indoor and outdoor pool area, with fantastic views to the sea. The bedrooms were huge and the beds comfortable BUT having to go back to the door every time you wanted to switch the main lights off/on was a no no for me. My shower was not very appealing and needed cosmetic/cleaning work done on it. The TV was awful but that's to be expected in hotels, it's a pity that the powers to be don't put more English progs on (not just continuous news stations) as there are quite a few elderly travellers nowadays who like a rest in the afternoon and the odd 'early night'! I personally like my window wide open at night but the noise (until at least 1 am) coming up/down the atrium stopped one getting a good sleep. The breakfasts left a lot to be desired, hard bacon/sausage, soggy scrambled egg etc BUT the staff were all very helpful and happy all over the hotel. I would certainly go back as its so central but not quite 5stars, and I'd want a quieter room after 11 am.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view, too much noise overlooking the atrium - I can live with church bells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at the Palace hotel Easter week, the staff were very friendly, the room was clean and spacious, had a three quarter bed each which were extremely comfortable although we did pay for an upgrade, the noise from the church bells did not bother us and we had the patio doors open all night, I was disappointed when we went on the roof terrace to go swimming in the infinity pool as it was closed until next month.I found the breakfasts had a lot of variety but the hot side let it down, the bacon was barely cooked.We also found a lot of touts selling trips and time share, but found all of them very friendly and took no for an answer, we did go on the open top bus trip and enjoyed it. To sum it all up we had a good time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The modern Palace Hotel is an oasis of peace in the old High Street of Sliema. It is on the ridge line between the noisier Sliema sea front with its foot ferry to Valetta and the much over-developed St Julian’s Bay, both a few hundreds of metres away. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is a range choice of room types: we were in the two-storey ‘villa’ that reflects an original to the rear of the hotel but most rooms are in a 9-storey block with progressively better views to the sea. There’s a roof-top infinity pool open from June. The smaller indoor pool was rather hot and stuffy when we were there: there is a spa treatment suite that we liked and a gym. Our room was large and well equipped: the choice of English speaking TV channels could have been wider. Perhaps there’s a need to keep an eye on minor maintenance issues – the WC was very slow to fill, some of the jets on the large shower head were blocked (reported but not resolved during our 5-day stay), one of the glass mirrors on the edge of the writing table was chipped as was some of the furniture and ceiling lights had bulbs of differing intensity – these are small issues but it detracted from the 5-star rating as did the lack of bath robes and face flannels. We were offered ‘3 meals for the price of 2’ for the dinner buffet: 5 courses and good value with an excellent spread and attentive waiters – as is to be expected, the hot buffet offerings had to be selected with care to avoid any that had been too long in the heated trays. See the separate Tripadvisor listing for ‘The Talk of the Town’ terrace bar and restaurant that is part of the hotel. The 4-star Victoria Hotel to the rear of The Palace Hotel is in the same ownership and there is some overlap in the supply of services. There are some local shops nearby and Malta's massive new shopping centre, The Point, is not so far away. Overall, a pleasant stay - just a few maintenance niggles.

Room Tip: Ask about the choice of rooms as there are a lot of options - views, sun and shade, tower block or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall U.K.
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here as an extended family group over the Easter period. Whilst this hotel may well qualify as a five star hotel in Malta, it wouldn't do so almost anywhere else. This is not to say it isn't extremely pleasant in many respects; it has a lot going for it, including a lovely rooftop pool and terrace, a gym and an indoor spa.
The rooms are a good size generally and many have sea views, albeit over adjoining rooftops. Rooms are apparently not priced according to their view but those on higher floors seem to attract a premium. Many reviewers have commented on the noise from the nearby bell tower (the clock chimes noisily every fifteen minutes throughout the night). Whilst this (surprisingly) wasn't a huge problem for us, it would have been had we chosen to sleep with our balcony door open. We found our twin beds to be very comfortable but not all of our party agreed on this. I have to say that this is the only hotel I've ever stayed in where the single beds are wider and longer than normal; bravo the Palace! Our bathroom was ok but the shower was somewhat temperamental, as was the wifi in the room. Strangely, in a hotel aspiring to be five star, the bath towels were too small, though ironically those supplied for the indoor pool were twice the size. Strange.
Breakfast was varied and plentiful but also expensive (18 Euros), plus the standard of the cooked option was poor - and the coffee was ghastly. Why can't hotels get this right!? We only had one proper meal at the hotel in the evening - the Saturday night fish buffet with "free flowing wine" - and this was excellent. However, the dining room has something of the feel of a school refectory; more subdued lighting might help. Unlike some other reviewers I didn't think the drink prices were outrageous (but are more reasonable still at the next door sister hotel, The Victoria).
Where this hotel does score is in the helpfulness of the staff. The people on reception, in particular, struck just the right note: efficient but friendly.
If Tripadvisor had a 4.5 box I would have ticked it but as it doesn't the score has to be 4.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper phone the hotel beforehand to request a room as far away from the bell to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Lovely hotel, booked a double room but got given a twin, staff moved us within one night so no major complaints there. . .
New room was lovely, clean, fresh, put together well.
Hotel itself is well equipped, nice pools, underground free carpark, easy to find.
Would recommend, but not sure if this hotel is a 5star, felt more like a good 4. . . there are also church bells, which aren't the hotels fault, but can be heard regardless of room position.

(Thanks to Anne-Marie the maid, she was fantastic!)

Room Tip: Ask for a double rather than a twin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.