We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How do you review a excellent holiday, then find out there is a thief working there?!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 115 The Strand Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added 115 The Strand Aparthotel to your Saves list
115 The Strand Aparthotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 The Strand | The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR1027, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“How do you review a excellent holiday, then find out there is a thief working there?!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

4/5 Rating- Overall an excellent hotel and experience staying here at 115 The Strand. The staff were all friendly, helpful, the room was roomy and always clean. Like previous reviews the hotel was full of students, who give the impression of being unsupervised and very noisy all night, shouting down between the floors. Very central location, with lots of access to other parts of the island- by buses, boats etc.

1/5 rating- The bad bit... on returning from breakfast on my first morning and needing to take my medication, I went to my bag to find my (cath kidston) purse which carries it all in, was missing. (ringing home, it wasn't there). These pills, as anyone in the UK will know, our prescriptions are not cheap and I do have three types to take each day. I have tried emailing the hotel 3 TIMES!!!! and they are not knowledging us, and will continue to until I get an answer. I have also now contacted the Travel company to see if they can help. Until now, I would of returned. But i'm not so sure now!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
115owner, Public Relations Manager at 115 The Strand Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Madame,

Further to your review , we replied both to yourself and to the local agent by email.

Kindly note that from the letter you have sent you, you were not sure if you left the purse at your home or got it with you to the Hotel, so I cannot presume how you are blaming the hotel that the item got stolen from the room.

Other than that, this was not reported during your stay, as you were not sure if you got this item.

I am sorry that this medicines have been misplaced,and cannot think why anyone would want to steal medicines.

We are very confident of the housekeeping staff we employ, and we have never had this accident happen from our hotel.

We are glad you have enjoyed your time in Malta and the Hotel .

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    195
    141
    72
    53
See reviews for
73
243
55
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wijk bij Duurstede, Utrecht, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned from a 6 nights stay in 115 The Strand Aparthotel. The location of the hotel is perfect, overlooking the harbour, busstop nearby etc., but we experienced the hotel management as extremely poor. We made our reservation months ago, but landed up in an internal room in which we had no daylight at all. (On the website of the hotel they mention that "internal rooms have windows overlooking an internal courtyard"). "Fortunately" we had a more than fantastic view: another hotelguests' bathroom window, tragic flower pots which (instead of being filled with plants/flowers) nicely decorated with cigarette stubs, trash thrown down by other hotel guests. As the cherry on top of the cake our room was located near one of the elevators causing a lot of noise. When we asked the receptionist if there was any other room available where we could at least get some daylight and open a window for some fresh air, we were told that all the rooms were occupied. Before sleeping we turned on the airconditioning, which seemed to be in urgent need of replacement. It made such a noise that sleeping was impossible. After complaining 3 times the manager took action the next afternoon and sent a mechanic to check the a/c. The hygienic conditions in our room and bathroom were very poor. An inbuilt kitchen is nice, but food spills on the wall of previous hotel guests aren't very pleasant to look at, neither are brown stains on the wall right besides the toilet pot or a dirty toilet brush. Though we left a note for the hotel staff, nothing was done about it in the period we stayed in the hotel. The bathroom towels looked, though they seemed to be properly washed, very old and full of old stains. Though we didn't find the hotel extremely noisy, unfortunately some of the guests were...It seems that large groups of students/teenagers with hardly any or none supervision at all stay in the hotel. They are impolite, make a lot of noise in the hallways as well as in their rooms (moving furniture and screaming which made sleeping a challenge), block the entrance of the hotel by sitting on the stairs at the frontdoor so one has to push his/her way in or out the hotel. The hotel charges money for practically everything: safe rent (which is quite incomprehensible considering the fact that the hotelstaff left our balcony door and the (ventilation)window in our bathroom open), WiFi, for the remote control a deposit must be paid. We had our breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The terrace of the restaurant offers a terrific view on the harbour, Manoel Island and Valetta. The interior of the restaurant resembles that of a canteen in a youth hostel. It's quite hard to move through the restaurant since tables and chairs are blocking the way. The food is plain and simple, but it isn't presented well (replacing the canned fruit by fresh fruit and covering the yogurt would already be an enormous improvement). The hotel made the impression to rather be a youth hostel than the "three star superior hotel" they are claiming to be on their website. If they want to become a three star superior hotel there's a lot of efforts to be made; renovation of the hotel, proper maintenance, training of staffmembers etc. For us 115 The Strand Aparthotel was a once but never again experience.

Room Tip: May you decide to book a room in 115 The Stand Aparthotel, make sure that you don't get an inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel needs updating but more important the owner, manager puts everyone at risk for helton problems because they don't put on their air conditioner to save money. Even though you are paying for an air conditioned room they turn it off. Very very bad. The ad is misleading and there is no pool to even cool down. It is a jacuzzi. The location is good but the hotel needs to spend some money to even meet basic requirements.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
115owner, Public Relations Manager at 115 The Strand Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
With regards to your comment about the a/c - please note that we advise in our website that the a/c is timed and is run at variable times that we think the clients are mostly in the hotel.

We never advertised that we have a pool and always mention that it is a jacuzzi.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed 28 nights here. The location is excellent: fabulous view over the harbour, close to Valetta, bus stops close by, near shopping, restaurants and ferry. We were not happy with our first room, but we found the staff very responsive and moved to a bigger room for the remaining 25 nights. Staff was also helpful arranging tours. The maids were efficient, friendly and very honest. This is not a five star hotel, but we thought it was good value for what we paid and would definitely stay there again. Front desk staff were very professional.

Room Tip: Choose a harbour view room fifth floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just back from a week staying at 115 The Strand and am sadly disappointed.
It was not a particularly cheap holiday and I was expecting far more for my money.
If there were a few good points they would have to include the location as the Hotel is situated right on the harbour front with great views over to Manoel Island and Valletta. The views from the roof terrace are stunning.
I felt also that although generally run down and dated, the rooms and public areas were at least clean.
Front rooms have the views but other rooms are lucky to even have a window!
I found the Hotel staff became more friendly as the week went on as they began to recognize you a little but initially, like other travelers, I found them not interested in their guests.
The bar in reception was not in use but you wouldn't want to sit there even if it was!
The restaurant on the top floor is quite small and was busy at times but the most dreadful part was the food. Cheap basic and un-appetizing sums it up. The choice was extremely limited with the food being either under-cooked or stewed to a watery mess. In the evening you were not even allowed to serve yourself and the 'chef' (ha ha) piled the food on your plate.

However, saving the worst bit till last......... large groups of teenagers were also staying in the hotel who seemed to have little or no supervision at all.
Night times were horrendous with them screaming and running around until the early hours.
I gathered from other guests that they thought it a hoot to ring random room numbers and then when they had woken the occupant, slam the phone down.
The hotel has got to decide if it is offering family holidays and upgrade its service or if it wants to be a Youth Hostel and carry on the way it is.........It can't be both

Room Tip: Front rooms have the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

very poorly maintained old building with sound and heat isolation problems. there is more noise in the hotel than on the street. centrally controlled airco is switched off in the evenings. durty furniture, rusty and dirty toilet brush should have been replaced at least a year ago. smelly and dirty kitchen. we left that place after our first nght.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel misrepresents themselves. First they tell you the rooms are air conditioned and what they don't tell you is that they control it and they do not put in on but a few hours a day. This is horrible! Our first night we arrived and it was 11pm, the temperature was over 100 degrees and 100 percent humidity. The owner decided to save some money and not put on a/c all night. Everyone complained. The rooms are very small. Dirty floors, moldy bathrooms, bed bugs, food was canned fruit for breakfast, yoghurt..uncovered...people coughing, sneezing into food, bread, tomatoes, coffee, juice. The front staff was friendly to your face but different when you turned around. All the help seems to be on edge and fear of their jobs. All in all I will never stay here again...oh did I mention the bad attitudes. Oh and the elevators take about 15 minutes to reach your floor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 115 The Strand Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 115 The Strand Aparthotel

Address: 115 The Strand | The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR1027, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 115 The Strand Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Aparthotel offers self-catering apartments and hotel rooms on the Sliema waterfront at Marsamxett harbour, with spectacular views of Valletta. A regular bus service to Valletta and other landmarks stops just outside the 115 The Strand Aparthotel. The ferry stop is also nearby. On The Strand's panoramic top floor you will find terrace, a swimspa and a restaurant with bar. The Strand also offers an indoor/outdoor bar that is most of the day. Limited WIFI is available at the 115 The Strand Aparthotel Lobby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your 115 The Strand Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
115 The Strand Aparthotel Hotel Il Gzira
115 The Strand Sliema
115 The Strand Hotel Sliema
115 The Strand Aparthotel Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 115 The Strand Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.