We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 115 The Strand Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added 115 The Strand Aparthotel to your Saves list
115 The Strand Aparthotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 The Strand | The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR1027, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Well let me start by saying I was somewhat worried after booking this hotel due to the reviews but i do look on it as the majority of people that complain expect 5 star luxury when they are paying next to nothing per night!

Location - the hotel is right on the harbor side with stunning views of Valletta. It has a huge amount of restaurants (for all price ranges) within easy walking distance. The buses are great and it is extremely easy to get around the island with buses outside the hotel going in to Valletta bus station in about 10-12 minutes. It is also about a 10 minute walk from the biggest shopping mall in Malta. So for location we thought it was great and one of the nicest areas we saw (and we travalled around the island a lot)

Amenities - It has a large hot tub on the roof comfortably seating 6 but never saw more than 4 people in it whenever we went up there. There are about 10-12 tables on the roof also and a glass front for viewing the harbor. The restaurant is on the top floor also which serves buffet style breakfast and dinner but we did not eat as went self catering.
There are 2 lifts in the hotel which are used a lot as it has 8 floors.

Room - Our room was on the 7th floor (room 707) and we found it absolutely fine. we opted for the self catering room which had a fridge, 2 hobs, kettle, toaster, cutlery, plates, a few pots and pans (all of which were clean on arrival) 2 single beds pushed together. Table with 2 chairs and a 2 seater sofa. It had a good sized bathroom with shower/bath and 2 sinks. Water pressure was good and plenty of towels. There was plenty of light and sliding doors to let the breeze in.
Beds comfy and extra big pillows in the wardrobe. TV channels were limited but you can pay per day for 10 other channels at 7E.
We did not have any trouble sleeping at night. I think we were either lucky or tired from all the sightseeing as everyone seems to have moaned about the noise. The hotel was also fully booked. There were some groups of teenagers on lower floors but it was a full hotel and people are to be expected. The only noise we had was on Friday night there was a lot of fireworks going off for some kind of festival.

all in all we had a great stay here and would definitely go back if we were in Malta.

Room Tip: i think maybe the groups stay on the lower floors so if possible ask for floor 6 or 7 if you are wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    194
    141
    72
    53
See reviews for
73
242
55
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel is horrible, the rooms are dark and smell of mould. The staff is completely indifferent and not helpful at all. The "so called" pool on the roof is more like a bucket.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broxburn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our first impression on entering the reception area was not too good as it was full to overflowing with a group of families with very noisy children who were running all over the place.
When we got our room (404 - self-catering) we were pleasantly surprised and had a marvellous view. Fortunately we had not intended doing much in the self-caterering line (mainly breakfast) as the facilities were very poor. I would have hated to try and cook even the most basic meal. Dishes, pots and pans (or the lack of them), cutlery, etc should have been thrown out. Towels were changed on request but we found that if you left one bath towel it would not be replaced that day but you might get two the next day or you would be missing a bath mat for the shower. On saying that we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Only one receptionist seemed to be on another planet. We were left a message by the company who were transferring us to the airport to advise us that our minibus would be picking us up three hours later than first advised. We had three dealings with this girl on the night before we left (18th June leaving on the 19th) and at no time did she give us this fax even though it was right under her nose. We were still waiting when the day staff arrived who saw the message immediately so we had another three hours to wait. On another day this same dim receptionist gave us the wrong key. She appeared to be in a world of her own - so beware.
The room was clean, beds a bit unusual with a nail sticking out the end of one, it was noisy but as we knew it was on a busy road we expected this. We did not use the restaurant so we cannot comment. On the whole, for the money we paid, we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have a great view eg 202, 203, 204 - 302,303,304 and the same on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We chose this hotel as the price was significantly cheaper than any other in Silema.

The hotel is on the Silema waterfront close to the Silema town centre and transport (buses and ferries). The hotel is a short 10 min walk to Silema town centre (where there are cafes, restaurants, bars and supermarkets) via the waterfront. You can get to most places via buses in Valletta and there are plenty of buses to Valletta from Silema (although they do tend to get full with tourist during peak times). The buses run right on the waterfront road the hotel is on. There are also some useful direct buses from Silema: X2 to the airport, 222 to the Gozo ferry, 202 to Mdina.

The room and bathroom are an average size. Both were reasonably clean but the towels were not clean.

When we stayed there were several families with kids running riot in the hallways. This combined with the thin walls resulted in lots of noise coming from the hallways. In additional the noise from the street was also very loud and noticeable even with a room facing the side street. Sleep quality is not good in this hotel.

You need to pay a deposit for the TV remote without which the TV does not operate. Whilst we did not go to Malta to watch TV, a hotel where a deposit is required to watch TV speaks volumes.

If I where to return to Malta I would stay in a nicer hotel with ticker walls and glass where you are able to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Following the reviews I paid for a sea view. What we got was the 6th floor extension - room 615 which is on the street corner of the next-door building, overlooking the side of Milano Due and a partial sea view. When you see the picture of 115 The Stand and pay for a sea view you think you would get the front of the hotel. Our room was a triangle with a tiny triangle of a balcony with one ropey looking plastic chair. What did not help was the wind (not the hotel's fault) but this meant that you cannot sleep as the wind is howling between the hotels. The patio doors did not shut properly either. We must have been lucky with the teenagers as we only had one night of the chaos. The bedroom and bathroom were clean and towels given. Breakfast was ok but when the weather does not permit you to sit outside then you are left waiting for a table. The staff did not clear the tables and were only collecting used items that they required (i.e. a few glasses) rather than collecting everything off a table for the next hotel guest. Yes you pay for everything including the safe, but we knew that anyway. My only complaint really was in the evening when a number of families used the reception area and bar as a creche, which is quite intimidating and not a good first impression for new guests. Also (and not the hotel's fault again but you need to know) we thought we booked a quiet bit of Il Gzira and what we got was a fun-fair on Manoel Island with loud music and MC going from about 6pm until 11pm. Ok if you like that sort of thing!

Room Tip: Ask for a front of hotel room if booked a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed at 115 the Strand for a week. I think any guests who have left positive reviews of the hotel must have been very lucky in that perhaps they stayed on a quiet floor or when no groups of teenagers were staying. We did not manage to get a good night's sleep on even 1 night (and on 3 nights, had less than 1-2 hours sleep) due to the high number of incredibly noisy, rude Italian and French teenagers staying at the hotel with no adequete supervision. The hotel management seem to take the view that as long as there is a chaperone travelling with the group, that the hotel themselves are totally absolved of any responsibly to ensure that these groups' behaviour is not having a detrimental effect on other paying guests. After our terrible first nights stay, where a room down the corridor had an all night party until 6am (during which we made several pleas to the night reception staff to take some action), we asked to move rooms. We were shown the only other room available (which was worse than ours due to the fact it had no source of natural light at all) but were assured that the group who had caused the noise had checked out that morning- so, we decided to stay put. The following night, 2 or 3 large groups of teenagers checked in and for the rest of the week made so much noise shouting in the corridoors, throwing furniture around their rooms and running between floors all night long that by the end of the week we (and several other guests we spoke to) were totally exhausted due to the complete lack of any rest. We made as many as 4 or 5 phonecalls to the night reception staff on some nights, begging for something to be done about the noise levels. Only once did I see any sort of action taken, when a very harrassed member of staff came up and forced the group to open the room door before proceeding to scream "SHUT UP SHUT UP SHUT UP NOW" at the people causing the noise' which served to wake up their friends next door who promply decided to carry on the party in their room. Added to this, the hotel seems to be designed with no thought for any sound-proofing and even others opening and closing doors at the opposite end of the corridor echoes around the entire floor.
As for the other aspects of the stay- the staff were mostly helpful and some were very friendly (don't expect a smile on check-in though) and the breakfast was adequate although it is exactly the same selection every day, perhaps a bit of variety wouldn't go amiss. The view of Valletta from the terrace is very nice.
The room we stayed in was very shabby and needed re-decorating-in particular the pillows (under the covers) and bedcovers were so old that they were yellowed with age and not pleasant at all. The cleaners seemed to do quite a good job.
On checkout I asked to speak to the Manager but was told that he was not in, and advised to email to ask for a partial refund on account of the fact that we had a terrible stay. I have done as I was advised on more than one occasion but have yet to receive any kind of satisfactory response other than the standard brush-off stating that they "would have been more than happy to help during my stay"- which was far from what we experienced when we begged for help at reception most mornings. My advice- go to Malta but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Beach, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

As some of the others have said this is a very noisy hotel. The view was wonderful and made up for some of the down-side of staying here. The breakfast buffet was a zoo. i would say that more than half of the rooms were rented to young kids travelling with limited chaperones. They were rude, noisy in the halls and stairs and stood outside the front door for hours so you had to push through them to get in and out. The room was border-line clean. The bath was never cleaned in the week we stayed here. We had plenty of clean towels but the rest of the room was full of hair. We found it frustrasting to have to pay for everything.. WIFI.. the safe key... even the remote control for the limited TV. In fact you had to pay extra for anything other than local TV. The cafe and shop were very good and the prices were great for a hotel shop. The location close to buses and ferries was quite convenient but this was more like a hostel than a hotel. The staff were helpful and we could not complian for their hard work... but the hotel was a disappointment.

Room Tip: If you do stay here a room with a side sea-view is the best for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 115 The Strand Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 115 The Strand Aparthotel

Address: 115 The Strand | The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR1027, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 115 The Strand Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Aparthotel offers self-catering apartments and hotel rooms on the Sliema waterfront at Marsamxett harbour, with spectacular views of Valletta. A regular bus service to Valletta and other landmarks stops just outside the 115 The Strand Aparthotel. The ferry stop is also nearby. On The Strand's panoramic top floor you will find terrace, a swimspa and a restaurant with bar. The Strand also offers an indoor/outdoor bar that is most of the day. Limited WIFI is available at the 115 The Strand Aparthotel Lobby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your 115 The Strand Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
115 The Strand Aparthotel Hotel Il Gzira
115 The Strand Sliema
115 The Strand Hotel Sliema
115 The Strand Aparthotel Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 115 The Strand Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.