We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal...rude reception staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   143, The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1026, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good deal...rude reception staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Initial feelings of the hotel were instantly dampened by staff on the front desk who were far too rude and obtuse. No smile, bossy, sarcastic and smirking are not key skills necessary for customer service - this needs sorting.
Good value for money - twin room was spacious with a lovely view of the harbour/bay. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was clean and had a good shower. Air conditioning was very loud but effective.
Had to pay a deposit for a hairdryer, iron and remote control. We had to pay for Wifi (1 charge for each device).
The 'sun terrace' on the 7th floor, and swimming pool, was great and enjoyed having that to use.
Gym was basic but had a few bits of equipment.
Location of Bayview Hotel was great - near good public transport links (buses) and bars and restaurants.
It was good as a base. Shame about the reception staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay and also for your time taken to share your review.

It was a pleasure to read about your satisfaction regarding the rooms and facilities of the Bayview, also thank you for highlighting the great location and transport links.
We are especially glad that you have enjoyed the views from your room.

We hope that you accept our sincere apologies in case you found anyone among the front office staff offensive and disappointing. The management will take action against the described unacceptable manners.

Your satisfaction is our pleasure; we hope to welcome you again next time.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    333
    234
    117
    94
See reviews for
164
403
66
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Where to start. First of all arrived at the hotel, dropped off our bags and waited around for the 2pm check-in.
After waiting several hours for 2pm, we arrived at the hotel and was greeted a rude ignorant receptionist, she explained to us that our room was not ready yet and so we waited around in the lobby for another 40 minutes.
Finally we were then told to follow a gentlemen round to our apartment, as we got to the door of the apartment he asked for our key and we told him we were never given one, after waiting another 20 minutes outside our apartment we finally got in, yet they had given us the wrong apartment as we had booked a 3 bedroom, instead they had given us a two bedroom.
After this we went down and complained and was told that we would be given two nights free and when our room was available we then move into it.

Our first night in that apartment was AWFUL! There were no plates, no cutlery, not enough cups, no tea towels. When looking at their website it simply explained that everything was supplied except for cleaning fluids. Also there was only three chairs yet they knew there was five of us arriving.

After this I went down to the manager and demanded the things that I needed. Just simply do not go. I've been to campsites more pleasant than
this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time sharing your experiences.

We hope you accept our sincere apologies regarding the mistakes made from our side. We are extremely sorry about what you experienced.

The management is currently reviewing procedures to ensure that similar issues will not happen again.

We sincerely hope that apart from the points you have raised, your holiday in Malta was enjoyable.
Thank you for your stay in the Bayview.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Chose a last minute cheap deal so pot luck on hotel..apparently saved £800. Good for a base but not a brilliant hotel, felt a bit cramped. Our room not ready for first night so had an apartment ( with dinner voucher as compensation for our inconvenience) very nice and spacious good amenities, kitchen etc and large balcony(no view) Moved to our twin room next day - v disappointed, small, hot, ill fitting sheets, no view, telly not working, noisy a/c, no mattress or pillow protectors, no fridge/kettle/hair dryer. Restaurant ok, shuts at 8. Staff very friendly and helpful. Fabulous view of Valetta and good base for trips to Blue Lagoon Comino and Gozo, also to go to Sicily for the day (recommended), but if I had paid full price I would have been incredibly unhappy. Pool on rooftop, gets very busy and shuts at 6 but really good view of the bay and Valetta. Valetta is amazing very beautiful!

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment or a quiet air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our Hotel and sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear that you had been satisfied with the value you got and a special thanks for mentioning the view from the outdoor pool on the top floor.

We are also glad that you found the restaurant up to your standards and you found the staff helpful.
With regards of the points you raised about room facilities, we are extremely sorry if it caused any any inconvenience.

Please allow us to recommend our official website, where comprehensive information is available about all room types.

It was our pleasure to read about your great holiday in Malta, thank you for choosing the Bayview as your base.

We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for the week and found the twin/double room very spacious and comfortable with a breezy air conditioning system and a television to watch in the evenings. The hotel was lovely to stay at and had a good location, however when it says you can use wifi, you can only use the password on one device which I thought was a bit silly as obviously there were two of us, however we managed to compromise and share an iPad between us for the week which cost us 20€. We also had to pay a refundable deposit for the television remote in order to use it and for the safety deposit box, both costing 10€ each but at the end of our stay we were informed that the safety deposits box would cost us an extra 15€ for its week use! which did annoy us greatly as we were not told about that at the beginning. The location of the hotel was very good with a bus stop right opposite, restaurants both west and east of the hotels front entrance and a Subway next door. The staff were okay, but didn't really speak to us much which was a shame as it felt awkward to even ask them for information as you felt that they weren't very bothered. The beds were lovely and there were extra pillows in the wardrobe for us. The showers were boiling in the morning and late evening, only assuming that during 4/5/6 o'clock is when the showers would most likely to be used. Overall the stay was very pleasant but I do believe the staff could improve by interacting a little more with the paying guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to hear that you have been enjoying the room and its facilities.

At the same time we are extremely sorry to hear that you have not been informed about the price of the safe box as all our partners are informed. We understand that it must had been disappointing and we apologize for the inconvenience.

The information regarding the WIFI prices, deposits for remotes are on our official website. Some apartments and room types are coming with complimentary WIFI internet but in the rest of the rooms this service is for a charge.

It is great to read that you were overall satisfied staying in the Bayview Hotel & Apartments. Notes have been taken regarding the issues you have highlighted.

Thank you for your stay and review, we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I reserved in Galahotels Bayview hotel with breakfast for 3 person, Galahotels send me a voucher for hotel with breakfast but they send to the hotel voucher only room, I was cheated i I had a lot of trouble, it was reservation for me and my friends, I send email to Galahotels but they didn't answer and didn't help me.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting sharing your issue with other travellers. Even though, it is not related to the Bayview Hotel & Apartments itself, Our General Manager has contacted Galahotels to resolve the issue; once we receive any feedback we will inform you.

If you may return back please do contact us directly for a good offer and most secure solution.

Apart from this problem, we sincerely hope that your stay in Malta was enjoyable and you did not let this issue affect your holiday.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed in the apartments at 82 William Reid street for a week and found them to be very clean, comfortable and affordable. Air con was a saviour after heat of he day. We had a lovely balcony and a washing machine which meant all laundry done before going home !!!! Only problem could be hauling luggage between hotel and apartments. Might be too hard for older people.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in the Bayview Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you found your apartment nice, clean and comfortable and also found the equipment useful.

For our elderly guests we offer all assistance with their luggage in case they choose to book an apartment.

Thank you very much for your recommendation, we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We have stayed 3 times at the Bayview in the apts. Luckily we knew which block to get the best for the money we paid, and a short courteous email to customer services certainly helped. We were up a hill which is okay except when lugging shopping back as it's on the top of a hill. Anyway, we knew that so can't complain. The apartment this time was not as good as last year when we had the so called "penthouse" The outside furniture is shabby and dirty, so we took out the dining table and chairs and ate outside. The apartments are spacious but dark, so it's really important to have decent outside space (hence the email).
The apartment was kept fairly clean but small things regarding maintenance let it down (bathroom window catch not attached) these things need to be addressed. The cooker and fridge were adequate, but no microwave this time.
All in all, we managed pretty well and enjoyed sitting looking over the flat roofs of nearby Maltese homes.
The keycards are a disaster as they didn't work and we had to keep traipsing down the hill to get them changed all the time. Not good after a hot day out!
I would still use the Bayview, but I would always contact customer services to let them know that I need outside space. It helps to even ask for a certain room number! There are a few things needed to improve this hotel if you are lucky enough to get the right block of apartments.

Room Tip: Send an email and be cheeky enough to ask for what you want! You may be pleasantly surprised!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Bayview again for your most recent stay in Malta.

You did well to contact us regarding your requirements, we always try to allocate the most suitable rooms and apartments for those who forwards their requirements to us.

We apologise for the inconveniences you have experienced during the stay, please rest assured that your points raised have been forwarded to the Management for review.

Thank you for considering staying with us in the future, feel free to contact us with any kind of request and we will do our best to fulfil it.
Thank you so much for your recommendation.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Address: 143, The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1026, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Hotel is situated in the Promenade area of Sliema close to bars, restaurants, shopping area, nightlife and historic events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bayview Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel And Apartments
Bayview Hotel Sliema
Bayview Hotel & Apartments Malta/Sliema
Hotel Bayview Sliema
Bayview Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.