We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for the Malta Marathon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   143, Triq Ix Xatt, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1026, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stayed for the Malta Marathon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I had booked this as head of a group of 18 and the hotel were excellent in communication and accommodating our every need. The ease of checking in and airport collection along with the good quality rooms pleased all my group. Perfect location and all said they will return. Great staff, very helpful, very pleasant, great breakfast. Well done to Bay View.

Room Tip: Go for sea view if possible but where ever you are put, the hotel is a great location for all amenit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

It makes us more than happy to read your review and your feedback from your group members. We are glad that you noted the value of the staff, who are indeed a great asset of the Bayview.

Thank you for sharing us your compliments regarding the breakfast, rooms and location. It was our pleasure to welcome you all.

We hope that you had a great Marathon and you will return next time!

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    360
    250
    123
    102
See reviews for
181
429
76
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Willenhall, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was our 1st. visit to Malta , so we didb not know what to expect. so unknowingly we booked into the Bayview hotel. we had a sea view which was a brilliant start. anyway every thing was totally beyond our expectations. the rooms were kept spotless and the staff were very very helpfull. all in all a very good experience. also it is centraly located and getting about was so easy

Room Tip: seafront rooms are as quiet as can be expected for a main road ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is good to read your lovely review here on Tripadvisor. We are utmost glad that you have been enjoying your stay with us.

Thank you for your generous compliments regarding the staff, rooms and the location.
We hope that your first visit to Malta was the same enjoyable and you will return in the future!

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to this hotel. We booked through Running Crazy as my husband and I were both running in the Malta Half Marathon and this hotel is close to the finishing line. We booked on a bed and breakfast basis. The room was clean, comfortable and warm, but unfortunately like last year we failed to get a room with a view of the bay, nevertheless we were in Malta to explore and run, not sit in the hotel all day.

The hotel is ideally situated for travelling around with plenty of bus stops and boats offering trips to various destinations. The Point shopping centre is just a few minutes walk away and there is also a small outdoor gym nearby for those who would prefer to train outside instead of using the hotel's very small fitness room. We did not have time to use the pool on this visit.

Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, although on one of the days there was not much choice of hot food for vegetarians as the omelette contained ham and there were no vegetarian sausages available, but there were plenty of other things to eat.

We had booked a double room and ended up with 2 single beds pushed together with a double headboard, but as we liked the room otherwise, we decided not to ask for a different room.

The hotel offers free entertainment on Thursday nights - a duo singing old and new songs and playing instruments. There is the opportunity to sing along or get up and dance. We weren't expecting to enjoy it, but we ended up having a great time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review here on Tripadvisor, it is great to read that you have been enjoying the Marathon and your stay in Malta.

Notes have been taken regarding the omelette including ham, some diets do not allow pork or meat at all. In order to avoid inconvenience next time, we would suggest to contact us directly so we can ensure that you get the type of room you prefer. We were happy to read that you have been satisfied with staying in the Bayview Hotel & Apartments.

Looking forward to welcome you in the future!

Kind regards,
Bayview hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

When you book an apartment called Bay View, you expect exactly that, our apartment was around the back of the hotel about 300 mtrs up a side street with a wonderful view of rooftops, chimneys, and tv aerials. The apartment itself was spacious with a fan assisted oven, large fridge freezer and a washing machine,what it did not have however was a kettle or a saucepan to cook with. A tv adorned one wall, but unfortunately it did not work. Neither did either of the room wall heaters so we had to use the fan oven to heat the room. The balcony was quit large and separated from the adjoining balcony by a low stone wall which was worrying because the sliding door leading out had a.broken lock.I will not continue.with the with the non flushing toilet or the shower with no spray head or the black mould on the bathroom ceiling and wall behind the headboard. This apartment was a disgrace and should never have been available for hire in this condition

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in Bayview Hotel & Apartments.

We are sorry to hear that you had some maintenance problems in the rooms.

This is not our usual standard. We had discussed this with our supervisor and maintenance staff in order to avoid similar incidents in future.

It is a pity you didn't ask the reception for another room. Our Front Office and Reservations team would had been please to show you alternative room or apartment that could had meet your expectations.

We at the Bayview sincerely hope that you will return, next time we will personally ensure that your accommodation is flawless.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed in one of the apartments which isn't in the main hotel building, but about one minute's walk away - so I can't comment on the main hotel rooms. We were pleasantly surprised with our apartment which had an amazing seafront view with balcony (and there was a balcony to the rear too). It was very spacious and was kept nice and clean. The food at the hotel was nice. There wasn't too much buffet selection but enough to make a nice meal every day. The staff were all pleasant and friendly and too. So we can highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The apartments with seafront view is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor.

We were utmost happy to read your generous compliments regarding the Hotel.
Both staff and management of the Bayview are workig hard to provide more than one can expect, we are glad that you have been satisfied with the standards of accommodation and services.

Thank you so much for your recommendation, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington , England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Just had 7 days there, last week ... hotel is OK , rooms a bit on the small side tho' , lifts are diabolical, slow, small .... half board meals very good, lots of choice. Staff are mostly friendly and helpful, understanding English could be better ... some 'Eastern Europeans' .... Situation is great, , I had front 'sea view' room, 4th floor .... but traffic noise , esp' early morning is a bind. There is a bus stop in front of hotel, going both ways ... and you are not far from Ferry to Valletta and other cruise boats. Recomend open top bus tours, but be prepared for rough ride over some of the roads, and harbour cruise ... Malta has lost some of its charm - due to Arriva type buses replacing the old classic one's. Do visit the Upper Barrak Gardens at noon, great view over Grand Harbour and the 12 'o clock gun .

Room Tip: A room away from the front would be quieter ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank your for sharing your expereinces on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you have overall enjoyed your stay in Malta. We are also glad that you found the staff of the Bayview Hotel friendly and helpful. The meals, both breakfast and dinner were recently upgraded for larger choice and better quality.

As you mentioned right, the Bayview enjoys exceptional location on the seafront, with the bus stop just by the entrance and the ferries a few minutes walk away.

We have noted your remark regarding the English skills of our employees. Kindly rest assured that all staff members who are interacting with our guests are speaking English well.

Thank you for your stay in the Bayview and for your review again. We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London NW10
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The apartments are in a brand new block, 5 minutes walk away from the main hotel in a side street.
So don't expect a seaview, in fact there are no views, only onto adjacent buildings.My apartment was very well appointed, with a great power-shower. There is a full stove, but no microwave.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor, maybe there is a better view from the higher floor apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are utmost happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in one of the apartments of the Bayview. There are many types and categories of apartments in the annex buildings of the Bayview Hotel, from low priced studio apartments to brand new large sea view apartments. If you prefer full sea view, kindly indicate it by the time of the booking and the reservations team will be happy to allocate a sea view apartment for you.

We are glad that your stay in Malta was enjoyable, we would be pleased to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Address: 143, Triq Ix Xatt, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1026, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Hotel is situated in the Promenade area of Sliema close to bars, restaurants, shopping area, nightlife and historic events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Bayview Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel And Apartments
Bayview Hotel Sliema
Bayview Hotel & Apartments Malta/Sliema
Hotel Bayview Sliema
Bayview Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.