We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When is an apartment not an apartment?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   143, The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1026, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Nelson, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“When is an apartment not an apartment?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Answer...when you have delierately overbooked your apartments so that people are moved between hotels until they give in and accept two rooms side by side in the hotel instead.

Second question. When is half board not half board? Answer...when you have to pay for water with your eveninig meal.

On top of the above issues the reception had the grumpy indifference of a a teenager who has been made asked to clean his bedroom everytime you ask for something. I can only assume the place is close to bankrputcy and nobody cares because they will all lose their jobs at the end of the season. That's what it felt like anyway.

Room Tip: Don't let them drag you into a taxi to dump you in a crp hotel in St Juliens because they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    333
    234
    116
    94
See reviews for
164
402
66
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have stayed at many apartments in our time but this place was just awful.
when we arrived at 23.00pm, they wasn't even a kettle to make a cup of tea/coffee.
It took two days to get some cooking pots that we could use, the chopping board was a health hazard. The hotel staff talked the good talk but they didn't care. PLEASE DO NOT GO. We went with Mercury Direct, won't be using them again, we complained when we got back home they were just as much help as the hotel staff.

Room Tip: only had meal in the hotel once and it was over cooked slop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed there for a week. We are a family with three teenagers.

The apartment where big, clean and ok equipped. I would recommend the see-view apartments, otherwise you will be "behind".

Breakfast at the hotel was included but very boring.

Good value for money.

Room Tip: Book the see-view apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had booked a 4 bed apartment. When we got there the hotel had no apartment for us so shipped us off to another hotel. When we said this was not good enough the receptionist simply said this was not her fault. Next day we met several other families who had the same experience as us. We ended up in two hotel rooms. Our travel agent assured us that if we went half board we would have the choice of three restaurants to eat in, this is not the case, there is only one restaurant serving basic Maltese food, (have to say that this was really good) disappointed though that we were charged extra for Water at Dinner time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Hotel overbooked when we arrived and they were still taking bookings and shipping guests out. Hotel and. Apartments full of education first students with no adult supervision in the apartments. Sick of complaining about the noise as the students had no respect for other guests and were noisy till early hours even after their staff had been called to hotel. Apartments were dirty especially matrasses but better in the apartments we were moved to.
Dont go there and check to see if students staying there if you do.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The conflicting impressions.
Spacious room with a kitchen and old furniture.
Friendly staff and a bad kitchen.

All reviews of the hotel <<
Hotel review Bayview Apartments
фото Mitya78
Dmitry
Show


Register with 15.03.13
More questions to Dmitry
Reviewed read 6 times.
Country: Russia
Age 31-35
Seasonal: February 13
Holidays: Family
Children: 1
Duration
sequence: 2 weeks
Type of stay: City Tours
Recommendation: No
Ø of this review: 2.8
It is better to choose another hotel
Increase Font Size A A
Hotels
3.0

The conflicting impressions.
Spacious room with a kitchen and old furniture.
Friendly staff and a bad kitchen.


The main building of the hotel on the beach, the promenade, and the apartments are located in the surrounding streets Gzira. Not very convenient to climb up the streets.

The room is spacious, but that's probably the end with dignity.
All the furniture is cranky. Old air conditioners put before a choice - to freeze or listen to them all night buzz.

A small wading pool, close cubby "fitness room" - a depressing effect.

Room Tip: If taking a room at the hotel, is it in the main building with views of the sea and the higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

just returned from 4 day trip to malta - stayed at the bayview - staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble - would recommend as good value for money. We moved from studio to main hotel due to maintenance and had a lovely sea view. No trouble with noise as we were on the sixth floor but it is a busy road.

Room Tip: if you book a studio avoid 803 as it has a tiny balcony and is situated above a kitchen so cooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Address: 143, The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1026, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Hotel is situated in the Promenade area of Sliema close to bars, restaurants, shopping area, nightlife and historic events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bayview Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel And Apartments
Bayview Hotel Sliema
Bayview Hotel & Apartments Malta/Sliema
Hotel Bayview Sliema
Bayview Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.