We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balluta Bar

Balluta Bar
186 Manwel Dimech Street, Sliema, Island of Malta, Malta
9947 5364
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 148 Restaurants in Sliema
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

You will always feel a warm welcome here and make new friends. Just a short stroll off the seafront in a side street and you will find a cosy retreat, perfect anytime of day or night where Brian will greet you with an array of good wines, beers and tasty food and it won't cost you a fortune either. You will meet a variety of interesting and friendly people here too. I personally can't wait to go back to Malta and Brian's bar will be my first port of call that's for sure.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    2
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Easily the best bar on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Balluta Bar is easily the best bar I have found since moving to Malta in 2005, everything is right about this place! The food tastes fantastic and while the portions are more than generous, the prices are still very reasonable; the music is great; sports fans can watch the top games from around the world; the atmosphere is nice and friendly and the owner Brian brings the whole thing together with consummate ease. Spending an evening at the Balluta makes life in Malta even more beautiful than it already was!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of favourite bars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great atmosphere, delicious food, good prices, amazing people. I love to spend nice friendly , relaxing days and nights over there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great, Local Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Balluta Bar has become my home away from home, there's never a time when I don't feel welcome there. Balluta Bar is a great place to drop in for a quick drink, or an evening with friends. There is always a welcoming environment with never a shortage of interesting conversations to be had! Brian is always friendly and one of the most accommodating hosts one can think of! On Sunday's there's NFL football games on the two TVs and any other day of the week you can find soccer (football) games, MLB games, hockey games, etc. Brian is always willing to put your game on for you too! Great spot! Definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a low-key fun place to grab a drink either by yourself or with friends!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tas-Sliema, null, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great place for a drink with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I am a regular at the Barracuda restaurant. When I found out the person who had managed it for more than a decade had opened his own place I wanted to check it out. Balluta Bar is a great, cozy place to hang out with your friends. It's in a great, central location between Sliema and Paceville. There are lots of options in the area to pop in for the drink, but after visiting Balluta Bar, it's become my preferred destination with friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balluta Bar also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Balluta Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balluta Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.