We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Initial reaction was worried but turned out excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Europa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Europa Hotel to your Saves list
Europa Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 08, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Portadown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Initial reaction was worried but turned out excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was worried that I had went too budget on arrival. The hotel is what the photos show but there is a lot they don't! If pay the extra for a sea view even if not staying in the room much. Inspecting the room I should have remembered I was checked into a 2 star not 4 star but still I was a bit concerned. After the 1st night and a good sleep I was content that there was nothing really to worry about as was superficial. The window that opened into a shaft and not really outside was I suppose the only issue. We got clean towels every day. Beds made everyday and room tidied up. The staff were all really smiley and friendly too. For the price we paid £91 for 7 nights I really think it was a bargain. Excellent value and really worth every penny. Maybe if pay a few pounds more for another star or too in a less central location but otherwise it's a great base to be. I would certainly recommend anyone on a budget that this is a great place for little money to stay. Spend the money on the holiday not the accommodation. So much to see and do!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    52
    74
    59
    120
See reviews for
30
146
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a jackpot. Rooms are beautiful (especially rooms eith sea view) and clean, the breakfast is delicious and copious. And the staff is the most helpful and kind stuff who we ever met. (Last day our rental car is broken and the manager of the hotel was so helpful. He called the rental company so many times and argued with them instead of us. Hea really help us on everything.)
They cleaned the rooms every day and we got clean towels every day too. Plus the location is very great. The sea side is really beautiful in this place.

This hotel is highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are amazing. It's worth to pay a little more for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fish Hoek, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

It was the tail end of the tourist season on Malta, so I had been told and as such, hotel rates would have dropped accordingly. Sliema seemed pretty central to most amenities and from a Swathe of hotels that face the Sliema waterfront, I chose the Europa. I was not disappointed. Well positioned and an easy walk down to the busy Valletta Ferries Waterfront and to restaurants and cafes, north along the 'Promenade', I found the front office staff helpful and informative. My room wasn't sea facing, but for a little over $US50.00 per night, I wasn't to fussed. Room was serviced every day and for an extra US$6.25 (or Euro 5.00) you get a decent continental breakfast.
I would certainly recommend it for the budget traveller.

Room Tip: Simple really. If you want a sea facing room, you'll pay a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 8 days and I must say it was totally fine. We were paying 20 euro per day p/p and we didn't want or expected anything to be "over the top". Our room was simple, the shower was nice and clean, bed big and comfortable- no cockroaches or spiders or anything like and the beach was right outside the door! Happy days!! The only thing is that the late bar is located on the ground floor and even though we stayed on the 3rd floor we could hear the music very clear but only on Saturdays.The airport is an hour away by bus which costs 1.50 per day and it operates every hour. If you want to get a taxi to get to the airport be prepared to pay 30 euro! We took the X2 bus which goes to the airport and got there in 45 minutes. Taxi could have been faster but we didn't want to pay 30 euro so left the hotel with plenty of time on our hand.. We enjoyed our stay and if you want a cheap hotel by the beach with nice shower and simple room, friendly staff and all the restaurants near by then look no further!!

Room Tip: Most rooms are NOT located on the beach side which means that the window in your room will face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

This hotel is one of the best hotels in Sliema because of its staff. We had the unfortunate mistake of staying next door at the Miranda apartments (also owned by Hotel Europa). After a night of cockroaches and searing heat, we came running to the manager and begged him to upgrade us to a room at the hotel. The manager found us rooms and gave it to us for a minimal charge although we had already paid in full for the Miranda apartments. He was very accommodating and pleasant. The room was nice and clean. I would give it 5 stars if they had air conditioning and the bathroom was a bit more updated but I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

I am not one to be difficult about anything, I am very easily satisfied with a warm bed and a nice shower. I know europa hotel is one for student or travelers looking not to spend a lot but even then there should be a line of what is acceptable. Upon arrival there were no problems, i got my keys and they told me the room number. When entering the room it wasn't anything special, sad part was that the window was facing the inside of the hotel. Not very important but still a shame. The bed I slept in was alright, even though I had specifically asked for a double and got two singles. For some reason it was not possible for me to get another room even though I didn't get the feeling the hotel was full since it was winter. The shower looked like the cleaners only spray some water around and leave again. I didn't feel like it was hygienic.
I think it's a real shame because I did hear some good stories from friends before. I guess you get what you pay for even though I think I payed too much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My visit to this most convenient hotel in Malta's classy beachside and harbour side suburb was not a disappointment. I was greeted by Dino, who was, true to other's experience, a helpful and professional front desk receptionist. My room on the top floor did not face the ocean as I had hoped but then I had booked late and had not paid top dollar. Despite the complaints by several other readers, I found that my room suited my needs, the bathroom was adequate for me and the hotel staff very friendly. The location was ideal for me, not far from a good supermarket, a clean and rocky beach and restaurants nearby, with access to Malta's cheap bus service a short step away. Granted it is not 3 star accommodation and I was probably unfortunate to be on the same floor as some raucous Italian and French teenage students who seems to think that they were the focus of their own world (and this is nit the fault of the hotel) but overall I would return to this hotel. The management are clearly making an effort to upgrade the building. Breakfast was good value at 5 Euros. Thankyou to Dino and Lawrence especially

Room Tip: Suggest a beach view room would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Europa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel

Address: 138 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Europa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Europa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Sliema
Europa Hotel Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.