We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Europa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Europa Hotel to your Saves list
Europa Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 08, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in a double room in August 2012 and found it more than adequate for a budget hotel. Bedroom and bathroom were clean, but only provided very basic necessities, I think just a bar of soap. The ceiling fan is nice, but a desk fan that blows directly on you is needed in the summer as it was 110 degrees when I was there! I would suggest not planning on leaving your luggage there before or after you check-in. They do not secure it. We left ours thinking they would put eveyone's in a locked room when they got to it, but we returned 5 hours later and found it sitting in the same spot just in the middle of the reception area where anyone could have taken it. The location is good. Lots of restaurants just outside the hotel, but we liked the area farther up the coast towards st. Julian's. Overall, I would spend a couple nights here again to save on expenses and then move somewhere a little nicer for the rest of the trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    52
    74
    59
    120
See reviews for
30
146
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This place is what nightmares are made of. We went February 2012 and got a sea view complete with the accompanying blast of wind through the french window that wouldn't shut. The old chap on reception came up with a brilliant idea "draw the curtains" but they were threadbare so no use what so ever. there was an oil fired radiator but it was on a timer so you had to get out of bed from under some itchy blankets for extra warmth to keep it on. breakfast was sweaty cheese and a sandwich maker to do toast(dont try it comes out like cardboard) plus was plenty of tea coffee and dilute orange. this was full of backpackers and i would call it a ymca rather than a b&b. No carpets at all in foyer or breakfast/television room seen better dinner halls at school. All in all you get what you pay for try the Park Hotel on Graham St instead better class all round. Disgraceful and we've since found out other hotels use it for overspill if double booked. Avoid at all costs even the mice were jumping on the traps!

Room Tip: no facilities what so ever only plus is sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Europa Hotel. We found the hotel to be perfectly adequate - it is a 2 star hotel and cheap, you get what you pay for! We did pay a little extra, about £20 for the week, to have a room with a balcony and sea view, I think it really is worth paying the extra. Although our room was small, it housed a double bed, wardrobe, desk area with 4 drawers and 2 bedside tables. the balcony looked out across the ocean and there was a table and 2 chairs. The room and bathroom WERE cleaned on a daily basis. The breakfast was a little bit on the poor side, but again it was adequate (although we did oversleep a few times and missed breakfast!).
As for Malta - it was very very hot! We found a fantastic restraunt in St Julians - just turn left out of the hotel and St Julians is about a 20-30 minute stroll along the seafront - Pauls Seabreeze restraunt is really worth a visit, the food is fantastic and good value for money.
Overall, I would stay at Europa Hotel again - like I said it is 2 star and cheap, you get what you pay for and it was value for money.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a balcony and sea view - it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

ok for a one night stay but very basic - just above hostel type accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were staying in this hotel for 4 days and it was the worst stay ever. The room was so small and dirty... I don't want to mention about the sheets, towels... Horrible.... People if you want to remember Sliema as a nice city, PLEASE DO NOT CHOOSE THIS HOTEL. Only one positive thing was staff - really nice and helpfull, everything else - nightmare!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I think this hotel is more an bed and breakfast.The staff is very nice, but the rooms are too small. We did not had a view from our balcony. It was a balcony with a wall from 2 meters, and our view was an other building. The breakfast was very very basic..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed here in April 2012, on a recommendation from a Maltese friend based on its location, but I wish i didn't.
I would never class this as a hotel, it lacks comfort and should only be used by those looking for a cheap bed.
The plus points are the staff who I found very friendly with the exception of one older man who always worked nights. The only other plus si the location, it is in the middle of Sliema and a short walk to the ferry tours and transport to Valletta. It also on the sea front which is well served by buses which can take you pretty much anywhere on the Island.
The bad points are many, my room was int he centre of the hotel so couldn't even tell what the weather was like, there was also an excess of mosquitos whose bodies lay on the floor of my room for the duration of my stay which would give a good indication to the standard fo the cleaning. The bed cover was very dirty, this was not changed in the 7 nights I was there. The room walls were stick thin, so sleep (on the annoyingly springy mattress) is very difficult. Especially on a Friday/Saturday when the bar on the ground floor plays music that vibrates through the hotel till 4am.
The only thing that bumped it to two stars were the staff, if you are staying for a night or two its fine but not for long satys, avoid.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Europa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel

Address: 138 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Europa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Europa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Sliema
Europa Hotel Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.