We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT LOCATION plus EXCELLENT VALUE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Windsor Terrace, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“EXCELLENT LOCATION plus EXCELLENT VALUE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very good location, everything is nearby. The room was comfortable, clean, tidy. The air conditioning was quite cold. Toileteries nice and the shower of the good practical variety. Very good price.



Choice of breakfast very good and fresh. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Josep,

We thank you for having chosen to stay The Windsor Hotel during your recent visit to Malta and for taking the time to post your review.

We are very pleased that the hotel met your expectations and we hope to see you again should you decide to re-visit our beautiful Island

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    69
    86
    84
    116
See reviews for
59
165
54
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at The Windsor Hotel for 6 nights.The hotel staff are brilliant,very friendly and accommodating.The Hotel is conveniently located,closed to promenade seafornt and closed to restaurant,shops and transportservices ,Th e roomwas spotlessly clean and the air con was a good send.The pool area was very clean and very modern. Breakfasts were always of high standard with an extensive choice available.
Have no hesitaion in recommending this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Sharom,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel during your recent visit to Malta.

We are very pleased that the hotel lived up to your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back should you re-visit Malta.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our first visit to The Windsor Hotel. Also the first visit to Malta – Lovely and Peacful Island. We had a superior room on the 5th Floor. It was a room with balcony, beautiful and modern furniture and impeccably clean. The beds were so comfy. The bathroom/shower was very nice. Changing of towels and bed sheets everyday. I saw a room in a different floor that was apparently just an ‘economy room’ but was nice too
The breakfast is served in the restaurant area. It consisted of the normal breakfast of breads, eggs, sausages, beans, cereals, meats etc. It was very nice. Air conditioning in restaurant was always colder than average. The staff was very nice and helpful.



Pretty centrally located to the restaurants and shops. Just walking distance. We do recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel during your visit to Malta.

I am pleased that the hotel lived up to your expectations.

We look forward to you staying with us again should you re-visit Malta.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Ranked as a 4* but more like a 2*, It is noisy, you here all the other guestd coming and going. But it is clean, Old, worn out but clean. Location is good, building work next door starts around 7am, but then so do the noises from other guests going to the bun fight called breakfast. Don't go HB unless you like simple food, re served the next day in a curry or similar. TV was crap, but then your not on holiday to watch TV. Bathroom flooded when you used the shower, but they supply towels to mop it up. you pay for everything, internet, beach towels etc. At the end of the day you get what you pay for, it was cheap and we got cheap. A few of the staff were friendly, but most were un helpfull. The roof pool is good, but no umbrellas, I suppose you have to pay for them ! along with the towels ( you can't use room towels ) it's cheaper to buy a couple from a nearby shop. The sheets for the first week did not fit, so you slept on the mattress most of the time, second week they were better, clearlly not considered important. Would I go again ? No, Would I reccommend it ? only if it was very cheap.

Room Tip: All rooms apear the same, but if you want a double then you had better ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Ronald,

Thank you for posting your review regarding your stay at The Windsor Hotel.

We do value our clients' comments as we believe these help us in improving our service but I do feel some of your comments are either incorrect or contradictory.

1, Not all rooms at the hotel are the same. Our website as well as Trip advisor show photos of our recently refurbished rooms, which are superior rooms. Amenities in these rooms include tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen tv and free wifi.

2. As you quite rightly said in your review, your holiday was cheap and if you pay cheap you get cheap. when you go for a cheap holiday it is very unfair to expect to have wifi and pool towels free of charge.

3. i would like to stress that all the food served in our restaurant is freshly cooked daily anf not recycled as you wrongly claim.

4. Umbrellas around the outdoor pool are provided free of charge but are not provided in windy conditions for health and safety reasons.

We are sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a perfectly located four star hotel that was a delight to stay in. Reasonable rates with beautiful staff.

Comfortable beds and very clean. There was plenty of floorspace and room to walk about. The breakfasts were great and the service was always friendly. We walked everywhere from the hotel and love the area.

I cannot recommend the hotel enough. We will return to The Windsor Hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay at The Windsor Hotel.

We are very pleased that the hotel lived up to your expectations with regards to the room size, breakfast and service provided by our staff.

we do hope to see you again should you re-visit our lovely island.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were in Malta for a few days and we choose The Windsor Hotel despite the wrong comments on this site, so we went there open minded and we were absolutely not disappointed at all. The hotel is very well located in Sliema, near shops and bus stop to Valletta or Cirkewwa to take the ferry to Gozo. Because of the cancellation of our flight we arrived one day later and when we arrived we were upgraded.
The hotel staff was wonderful and welcoming : 10/10
The room with a small balcony is modern and very clean, beds are good. The bathroom also very clean and modern. Just two negative points : it seemed to have problems with the satellite TV so we could only watch Rai 1 and Eurosport Germany that's all. The other point is that there is single glass on the windows so we can hear some noises from the street.
The sundeck is cool, there are two pools and a jacuzzi.
For the breakfast you just have to leave the hotel and go to the restaurant beside the hotel. Hot drinks, english breakfast, toasts, fruit, cereals,... it was good for me. I only missed croissants that I always have in each hotel I went to during my last holidays in other countries. The staff here is very nice and welcoming.
Conclusion : if I go back to Malta I will defenitely go back to The Windsor hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Jan,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at The Windsor Hotel.

I am very pleased that the hotel lived up to your expectations and that you found the staff very helpful and very good, we will certainly pass on your comments to them.

We will be looking into the problem with the TV reception.

We do really hope to see you again should you come to Malta again.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

not recommended for grown ups. It is mainly for 'school kids from overseas on a holiday. they will keep you up at night with their partying. Plus management prefers cash payments for stays. Same old breakfast every day.After the third day we refused to have breakfast.But it is only 5 minutes to the sea.Only good point. Won't be returning.

Room Tip: the higher the better to avoid school kids making noise on front steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Robert,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We offer a wide and varied choice for breakfast which includes English Breakfast, Cereals, Yoghurts, Cold Meats, Cheese, Fruit Salad, Breads, Dry Cake, Juices and a choice of Hot Beverages.

The Hotel accepts payments in cash or by credit card but if clients avail themselves of any special offers available, cash payments are requested.

The 'young kids' you mention in your review are actually in Malta to study English and are here in summer due to school holidays.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: Windsor Terrace, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Windsor Hotel, a four-star hotel situated in the prime tourist location of Sliema, considered to be one of Malta's most fashionable seaside towns and the heart of all shopping, swimming and nightlife. The hotel with its central position is ideal for both business and leisure stays. The Windsor Hotel offers various options and guests can opt to stay from Room Only to Half Board. The Hotel itself boasts 92 air-conditioned rooms, all with en-suite bath or shower, mini bar, satellite television and telephone.The Windsor Hotel has recently renovated one floor which now boasts, 19 superior rooms equipped with free WI-FI, Tea/Coffee making Facilities. Just 50 metres from Sliema's seafront promenade and the sparkling Mediterranean Sea, The Windsor Hotel offers indoor and outdoor pools, a restaurant, lounge bar, as well as a multi-purpose room.The Windsor's outdoor pool features a large sun terrace. Indoors, you will find a heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and a fitness room. Our experienced Management team and staff provide a friendly service to ensure you have a relaxing stay at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.