We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel Lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
The Waterfront Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel Lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just returned from an 11 night stay on Half Board at the Waterfront hotel. We chose it because of the very high proportion of excellent/good reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The Waterfront is the nicest hotel we have EVER stayed at. The location of the hotel was perfect for us being close to ferries and the main Sliema bus stops. The views over the harbour towards Valletta are stunning; we had paid extra for a sea view room and were allocated one on the seventh floor. A friend chose a cheaper non sea view room; an excellent room but with no view – your choice. Cleanliness and room comfort were first class; some fittings are a little 'tired' (the TV is not flat screen as has been pointed out in previous reviews but that was not a concern to us – it worked perfectly and reception on all channels was good). The room had very efficient air conditioning (the weather was excellent / we used sun cream every day) and towels of perfectly good quality were changed when we wanted them changed. A decent sized fridge and a safe are provided free of charge. The Waterfront catering is excellent; there was plenty of choice. Breakfast choice included cereals, fruit, yoghurt, continental breakfast items and of course the 'English cooked breakfast'. Fried and boiled eggs, wonderful back bacon (not fatty streaky bacon as at some hotels), chicken and pork sausages and really lovely cooked tomatoes – I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts. Evening meals were also of very high standard with lots of choice. The local wine and mineral water is reasonably priced and because of the fair pricing policy we enjoyed the local wine with each evening meal (Euro 6.85 a bottle). We thought the food provided at the Waterfront was excellent. The Waterfront has a lot going for it but its biggest asset is its staff – they were truly wonderful - just so helpful. The reception staff can be very busy but at all times we were treated in a genuinely friendly helpful manner in all our dealings with them. The dining room staff at breakfast and evening meal worked so hard and really provided excellent friendly customer service – we thought them lovely. The hotel management can be proud of their staff – they are a real asset. This was our first visit to Malta; we had an excellent holiday and the Waterfront Hotel and its staff exceeded all our expectations!

Room Tip: High floor sea view rooms - excellent views of harbour and Valletta
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    315
    112
    37
    10
See reviews for
89
395
37
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crowland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So impressed with this 4 Star Hotel a little tired but Good quality Furnishings etc, Towels also a bit tired, First Class service,staff couldn't be more helpful especially Marvic (front Desk Supervisor) who recently came runner up in Malta tourism award. The cleaners were there with a smile and Hello and kept the place spotless throughout. Good large room with very comfy bed great balcony with view and on suite bathroom with bath and tap shower, shower has good pressure again a tad tired but very clean excellent chambermaid service Our room was on the 7th floor, go up to the roof and take in the view from the Harbour to the back streets, the roof also has a small pool and sunbathing area check out the little shops and Church in the back streets gives you a real sense of the place but good tourist shops and town centre also. Mind your step as the paths can be a bit uneven and be aware that it is also very steep. Harbour boat trip highly recommended and hop on the Ferry well worth the look around. Stayed in February just remember its a rainy month but we did have a good few days of very hot sun. All in all great Hotel they more then measure up to their mission statement their food is also excellent in both there cafe and restaurant and the breakfast, what a choice excellent.

Room Tip: Room 216, nice view over the Harbour and the strand,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here last week, was on business rather than holidays and certainly a much better hotel than where I stayed last time. the hotel is convenient to the ferry terminal to Valetta and bus stops fairly close by as well. Reasonably modern room, I had fabulous views over the seafront and water from my room and balcony. I understand the hotel is reasonably new so I was surprised the TVs were still the old style tube TVs with really very few english speaking channels which was a bit of a surprise considering Malta is a former English colony. Anyway the reception is impressive, and I ate in the hotel a few nights and have to say the food was very nice.

They had a new Wi-fi system installed the day I arrived, which shall we say had a few teething problems, particularly for apple users, and it took a while to get the management to accept their was a problem with their system, not my equipment, but we got to that point they were very goos at getting matters resolved on Sunday morning and I have to say once sorted the wi-fi worked extremely well.

Nice small pool on the roof with fab views over the island. Would certainly be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the higher floors at the front, the views are fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you! Thank you for your review and kind, positive comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you also for your constructive feedback. The WiFi issue has now been resolved and we are hoping that this will not create anymore inconveniences to our guests.

Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance.

Regards
Char
Sales & Marketing Manager
ccamilleri@water.mizzi.com.mt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very close to the ferry that takes you to Valletta and the bus stops are also close. We booked a balcony room and our view of the bay was great (we were on the 6th floor)! The street is fairly busy so it can be noisy, but we found the room fairly quiet with the balcony door closed. The room was large and clean with a small table and 2 chairs. There was also a plastic table and 2 chairs that you could put on the balcony to enjoy the view of the bay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is geared more toward British patrons. However, we had plenty to eat- their croissants were yummy. All in all we would come back to this hotel if ever in Valletta again!

Room Tip: We had room # 602 and had a balcony with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you! Thank you for your review and kind, positive comments. These will certainly help us to strive even more. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any assistance when planning your next visit.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back

Regards
Char
Sales & Marketing Manager
ccamilleri@water.mizzi.com.mt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is in a great location with buses and boats very closeby. We had a seaview room on the third floor which wasn't such a good idea as the noise from the traffic below was horrendous even though we kept the door to the balcony shut.The room itself was very spacious and the beds were comfortable. The food was very good with lots of choice. We were half board and enjoyed every meal. Wines were very reasonably priced and delicious!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you! Thank you for your review and kind, positive comments. These will certainly help us to strive even more.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any assistance when planning your next visit. We are looking forward to welcoming you back

Regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we booked a room in the front of the hotel but we was given one directly above the main entrance. after complaining they moved us to the second floor at the front away from the main entrance. however we had one night in that room , very noisy all night.the service was slow which i'm given to understand is the nature of Maltese people, well its true. we went on two tours and also found our own way around. we have wanted to go to Malta for a long time but now we have been we dont want to go back. been there got the t shirt. buy buy...

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments.

I would really love to discuss this further and would appreciate it if you would contact me personally on ccamilleri@water.mizzi.com.mt

Kind regards
Char
Sales & Marketing Manager
The Waterfront Hotel
ccamilleri@water.mizzi.com.mt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Address: The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#4 Family Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a prime location along the Sliema seafront promenade, this new hotel has been developed to the highest standards of comfort and hygiene. Its location provides spectacular views of the Valletta harbour. This 4-star 116-roomed property features two restaurants, a lobby bar, a roof-top swimming pool with snack bar and a guest lounge. Each of the rooms is excellently finished, and features a balcony, an en suite bathroom, mini-bar, guest safe and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Malta
Waterfront Hotel Sliema Malta
The Waterfront Hotel Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.