We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Malta - will definately return to The Waterfront!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
The Waterfront Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First trip to Malta - will definately return to The Waterfront!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Waterfront in July. Check in was smooth and we were helped up to our room. TIP// when booking ensure you ask for a sea view and a high floor. We did and it made all the difference as the rooms at the back of the Hotel had no view at all.

The rooms are quite spacious and have plenty of storage space. The balcony is quite small but does the job. In terms of furniture, the basics were there and the room was clean. The bathroom too was very clean and had a shower over the bath. Not luxuary but what we expected for a Malta 4*.

The service was good and all the staff we met were friendly and helpful. The pool is on the small side but was quiet for the whole week so not a problem. There is a pool snack bar which is reasonably priced and serves burgers and sandwhiches etc which were really nice. We ate in the Hotel restaurant Basilico twice for dinner and again it was very reasonably priced and good food. It was very quite and lacked atmosphere though which was a shame. We were B&B but only had breakfast once as we arent really early risers - the food was OK.

The location of the Hotel is good, it is on the main road by the sea and just a short walk from Sliema which has lots of restaurants and shops etc. If you like clubbing then definately go into St Julians which is about a 10min taxi ride away and has loads of bars and clubs open until the early hours.

All in all The Waterfront was a very nice Hotel, it wasnt perfect but was what i expected a 4* Hotel in Malta to be. We would definately return.

  • Liked — Nice clean room and good service
  • Disliked — The pool could be bigger
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    315
    113
    37
    10
See reviews for
90
395
37
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

We stayed in the waterfront in august 2008. It is in great location for walks around the harbour and shops and a short bus ride into Valletta. The buses are great, come regularly but can be very busy! We enjoyed using the small ferry to come back to Sliema from Valletta, which was very reasonably priced. It is also a short walk up to the sea (rocky beach) if you fancy a dip.
The main reception areas, restaurants and pool area are kept clean and tidy. The roof top pool was great for the occasional dip although it is quite small so you couldn’t do any serious swimming! As we went in the summer the pool could get quite busy so not great if you like a quiet dip. Our room was kept clean and tidy although the walls could have done with a lick of paint.
I would highly recommend hiring a car (if brave enough!), to see more of the island. There are so many beautiful sandy beaches and small fishing villages to visit. We were very busy in the 2 weeks out there. We also went on a cruise of the island in a Hera sailing boat which was fantastic! I would definitely recommend a boat trip, although not captain Morgan in high season as they can get very busy!
We had a fantastic stay and would definitely recommend visiting Malta; in fact we are planning to get married there in a few years.

  • Liked — Location, close to valetta, bus ride from nightlife in paceville, convenient for restuarants and bars.
  • Disliked — small roof top pool, not close to sandy beach
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

Just got back from the Waterfront Hotel had a really good time room very clean and serviced everyday had a beautiful view over to Valletta however we were on the 3 rd floor and the traffic was very noisy, but I guess thats the price you pay for a good view. Food was very nice we were on half board, Staff very helpful and couldnt do enough for us. The star cafe/Bar is really nice and they make a great irish coffee which we had each night after dinner. Hotel ideally situated for buses, ferrys etc. All in all had a really good holiday.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The Traffic noise
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadgirth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

Well run hotel, good staff and very helpfull,Food average,Rooms were exellent with good view of harbour and bay.Wee went on a seeplane trip round the island of Malto and Gozo it was well worth it,The buses are good fun and wee went on the open top bus round the island lots to see . wee intend to go back next year I would recomend Malta. M Bruce

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

We stayed at the Waterfront Hotel at the end of October for a week and it is an excellent base to explore the rest of Malta

The hotel is well situated on Sliema water front and we had a 4th floor sea view room with balcony looking down along Sliema Strand. Traffic mentioned by other reviewers started at 6am each morning and continued till the early hours - you have the option of closing the windows and use the air conditioning but if you are a light sleeper think twice about a sea view room

The room was large with plenty of storage space but the bathroom was tired and needs freshening up with a new shower. No separate soap, gel, shampoo - it all comes out of a dispenser one by the basin and the other by the bath. No coffee facilities in the rooms

There are carpets in the bedroom and along the bedroom corridors and on the 4th floor they are heavily marked and stained probably with housekeeping cleaning products. The carpets let the standard of the hotel down and should be removed and replaced with tiling seen in the lobby, restaurant and most hotels around the Med

Breakfast is self service and generally acceptable, but no croissants or fresh fruit selection - there is fruit salad - hot buffet is fine with a selection of cold meats. Staff are excellent and regularly top up the buffet displays. Fruit juice dispenser set on weakest level

We ate in the excellent Basilico on the mezzanine floor 3 nights and the menu is pasta/pizza with a specials board available. Again the staff are attentive, friendly and there is a buzz about the operation. If you want to dine on a weekend night book a table early as the local Maltese pack the place out with family groups and parties - there is nothing to compare to Basilico in the area, hence its popularity

Another restaurant to try is Serafino - towards the Strand, left up steep hill Triq Manoel Dimech then first right

All the staff are helpful thoughout the hotel and nothing is too much trouble - tho we had a couple of minor issues with bar service - as in a lot of places it depends on who is on duty at the time

There is a corner shop with bottled water, soft drinks, crisps etc out of the hotel entrance sharp left up Triq Parisio about 50 metres on the right at the corner

If you have an evening departure ask about keeping your room - we paid 25 euros and kept ours till 7pm when we were collected. Some guests checked out at 11am stored their luggage then sat in the lobby all day. We were able to visit Valletta again for the day and then shower before packing

If its your first visit to Malta make use of the open top tours which start from the Strand - although our 3rd visit we went on the southern route which lasted 3 hours and covers Valletta in depth

Bus 62 will take you in and out of Valletta - catch it near the Captain Morgan cruise boats as you stand a better chance of getting a seat. We also made use of the ferry which takes less than 10 minutes but be warned of a very steep climb from the dock up into Valletta

A very comfortable and enjoyable visit - have stayed in Qawra before, Sliema is far more central with easy access to Valletta

  • Liked — Helpful and friendly staff, location of hotel
  • Disliked — Carpets
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

Back for a second year at the Waterfront and it did not disappoint on any level. The staff are still as charming as we remembered. This year we took a friend for her first visit and she was as enchanted with the Waterfront as we are. Our friend was given lots of help and advice on planning some trips and then they were all booked and sorted for her. We had asked if we could have the same room as last year as we had particularly liked it and although this was not guaranteed, we were so pleased our request was granted. This is typical of the help and friendliness of the hotel in general. Our friend had booked an inner room but was kindly upgraded to side sea so that she could be near us. The rooms were perfect, lovely and clean each day and smelling nice and fresh. Breakfast is always tasty with plenty of choice. We spent a fair amount of our time up on the roof lounging by the pool where you have such lovely views. Well done Waterfront you lived up to our memories, see you next year!

  • Liked — the lovely friendly atmosphere and the cool calmness of the reception and bar area
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

This was my third visit to the Waterfront Hotel in Malta. I'm glad to say that the service was as friendly and reliable as ever. Situated on the lively promenade at Sliema / Gzira, this ranks as a good location. Bus pick ups a short walk from hotel enable to access further travel around the island. My 7 day pass was 14 euros (£11) and covered all jorneys regardless of distance. Plus it saved searching for shrapnel in the dark reccesses of my shorts!

Check out both the Star Cafe & Basilico Restaurant in the Waterfront Hotel. If Maltese people use it, it can't be bad can it?
Good food!

I would suggests visits to Malta Aviation Museum at Ta'Qali, Mdina, Marsaxlokk, Marsaskala, The War Rooms and a harbour cruise.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Address: The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#4 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a prime location along the Sliema seafront promenade, this new hotel has been developed to the highest standards of comfort and hygiene. Its location provides spectacular views of the Valletta harbour. This 4-star 116-roomed property features two restaurants, a lobby bar, a roof-top swimming pool with snack bar and a guest lounge. Each of the rooms is excellently finished, and features a balcony, an en suite bathroom, mini-bar, guest safe and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Malta
Waterfront Hotel Sliema Malta
The Waterfront Hotel Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.