We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fortina Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fortina Spa Resort to your Saves list
Fortina Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Belfast
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A 20 minute taxi ride from the airport and you're there (20 euros).

Location - This hotel is right beside a large new shopping centre which has Debenhams and a supermarket which is handy if you've forgotten anything. More shops and cafes are on your doorstep. Lots of lovely walks from here too, either along the Sliema seafront (flat and good for wheelchair access) or up the small hills around to St Julian's. The boat to Valetta is a 5 minute walk from the hotel and the crossing only takes 10 minutes. The buses to many places on the island are 5 minutes away too. In short, a super location.

Check in - you are offered a drink as soon as you sit down. Check is fast and efficient although we are frequent visitors so little explanation about the hotel is required.

Room - you can see on the website that you can choose anything from a basic garden view room to a spa bedroom with a swimming pool. The rooms have super king size beds, duvets, a variety of pillows, flat screen tv, CD player, Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries, hairdryer (not very powerful) and all of the spa facilities in the spa rooms. Decide if you want a view of Valetta or a garden view. If you don't like high floors say so when booking as you could end up on the 15th. We have met people with walking disabilities therefore the rooms do cater for those who use walking/mobility aids.

Restaurants - the food is outstanding in all of the restaurants. Dinner must be booked in advance.

Staff - all staff members are friendly and efficient, they always go the extra mile to help you. If you need anything or if something isn't quite right just tell them. Thanks to Carol, Owen, Kevin, Paul, Victor, Henda, Chilla and Rita.

Spa - you can book any of the usual spa treatments here. A very relaxing place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear bobby911,

Thank you for your wonderful posting. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Fortina Spa Resort once again. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Warm wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    255
    157
    77
    57
See reviews for
90
487
52
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Spent 4 magnificent nights here. Some reviewers have stated that they don't consider this a 5* property, but I myself won't quibble. For the price I paid, it would be very churlish of me to give anything other than a 5* rating. I would give it SIX stars here on Tripadvisor if the scale went that high.
I booked an ordinary room via a popular travel site, but at check-in, the very pleasant lady at the desk informed me that I would be upgraded to a spa room.
This room looked just like the "professional photo" shown here on Tripadvisor: Enormous bed (largest I've ever slept in); jacuzzi tub in a raised platform behind the bed; sitting area with couch & easy chair; writing desk; large TV.
In the bathroom, there was a full arsenal of spa equipment, including some kind of treatment bed and another full-length whirlpool tub, neither of which I got around to exploring. I did enjoy the full-body shower and the personal sauna.
Best of all was the balcony overlooking the pools & palm trees of the courtyard. From this, a spiral staircase led to a private section of rooftop and my own personal pool. It was a small pool for sure (maybe 4 feet or 50 cm deep, and two strokes to swim from one end to the other) but it was all mine! Surrounded by curtains which one could close for privacy, the pool area also had lounge chairs, an outdoor shower, grill, refrigerator, sink, etc. I felt like a Hollywood star.
Altogether, it was probably the most luxurious room I'll ever stay in, and it cost the equivalent of a small drab cell in a 3* hotel in New York or London. I could not have been more pleased with this place.
If I were to have one small complaint to the management, it would be the balcony door, which locks shut and has no handle on the outer side. I noticed this from the start and was careful not to close the door all the way when outside, but I did finally forget & lock myself out on the balcony on the last day of my stay. The staffer who came to rescue me said this happens a lot.
A few final notes: There are several restaurants on-site, which I didn't try - I preferred the open-air sea-front dining options nearby in Sliema. There is a shopping center quite close to the hotel, and if you follow the ramp down below it, there is a waterfront terrace for sunbathers. There is also a ladder here which you can climb down into the harbor for a little salt-water swim (at your own risk; no lifeguard.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear GJM3,

Thank you for your wonderful posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the Spa Bedroom Experience. We would like to apologise for the fact that you locked yourself out on the balcony. Since we do not want the balcony door to be able to be opened from the outside, we do provide a cordless phone (by the bedside) which guests are encouraged to take when making use of the roof-top pool. Thank you for pointing this out, we will ensure that guests are informed of this facility upon check-in.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fortina Spa Resort in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week in April. Has a fantastic room with a balcony overlooking the harbour to Valetta, with two nice sun loungers. Malta is a very friendly place and easy going. We stayed half board so only had one evening meal out, but some good places off the beaten track but close to the hotel as Ta'Kris resturant and Salisbury Arms for food. The Hole in the Wall is good for a drink.

Look foward to returning.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Hantergantick,

Thank you for your posting. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Malta. We knew the island has no sandy beaches and it was too early in the season to guarantee perfect weather. The Fortina proved to be the perfect choice as the views over the water to Valletta were stunning and the sheltered pool area allowed us to sunbath despite the breeze. We took the half-board option and would have been satisfied with the main restaurant buffet every night. The hotel allows you to book at one of its five speciality restaurants provided you stay with the set meal choice. This worked very well although finding the restaurants within the hotel complex is not as easy as one might imagine. The best of these was the Thai/Chinese - very tasty and fresh. The Italian, French and Japanese offerings were fine but the Indian meal was a little bland for British tastes. We found the service was excellent and friendly. Everyone from 'front of house' to maids and bar staff made us feel very welcome.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Snowlizardkevin,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gozo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Thanks to the splendid offer through Deals Today, we had the opportunity to savor the utmost luxury of the Spa Rooms even though for one night. From the moment we stepped in the hotel till our departure, we were treated with the best hospitality and felt really welcomed. The food was superb. All in all, our stay was truly enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you are in search of total relaxation, choose the Spa Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Mary1965Gozo,

Thank you for your posting. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us through the deal purchase on a local deal website. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from 2-9 April and was disappointed! This hotel had been highly recommended by a close friend but didn't live up to expectations! Parts of the experience were good - the spa treatments and staff were amazing as was Taste and the Thai restaurant But our welcome was to pay our balance, a cursory ringing of restaurants we could eat in and our room key!!!! It was a complete hassle to try to book restaurants despite the fact that most were almost empty particularly the Indian and we were told we would have to pay 75% in the Japanese despite being half board!
My partner was also ill after eating in the Tigne restaurant and despite reporting this to reception Paul only spoke on our last day because we asked to speak to him! Even then he said he had georgettes as he had had a "terrible day and had almost resigned"! Not a sign if interest or courtesy in his hearing if our concerns!
It's only when I reassessed the hotel as 3* and lowered my expectations considerably was I able to enjoy the stay!
A lot of traffic noise could also be heard from the 6th floor! Overall not an experience to be recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Mourne,

Thank you for your posting. We are disappointed to learn of the comments mentioned in your review. We would like to apologise for any inconveniences caused.All your comments have been well-noted and passed onto all those concerned for the appropriate action to be taken accordingly.

Warm wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was our first time in Malta, and we coudn't have made a better choice.We decide to go 5* All Inclusive and at first, we thought this is quite expensive. However literally from we left the airport we were given 5* treatment. Rooms were excellent, Restaurants were all a la carte, with wide and varied choices with beautiful presentation and top quality products. The house wine was fine, but it wasn't too expensive if you wanted something from the wine list. The bar was excellent with a great choice of cocktails and a wide range of proprietory brand spirits. The staff were all great, especially in Taste Restaurant. Would not hesitate going back to this hotel, but only to the 5* as the 4* is starting to look a bit tired.

Room Tip: If given the chance to upgrade while you are there, have a look at what is on offer, we did and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Alex M,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortina Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortina Spa Resort

Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#3 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Fortina Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Sliema, adjoining Malta’s trendiest shopping complex (The Point) offering the largest choice of fashion & designer outlets, the Fortina Spa Resort is Malta’s newest 17 storey 5 star hotel. The resort faces south with magnificent views of Valletta’s bastion walls across the water and is home to the World’s 1st Therapeutic Spa bedrooms. It is the ideal hotel to indulge in a numerous variety of Spa treatments, excellent cuisines from around the world and one of the best locations on the island. Restaurants :- Taste Restaurant (Vietnamese & Mediterranean Cuisine)CanThai (Chinese & Thai Cuisine)Momo’s Ristorante Tigne (Italian & Mediterranean Cuisine)Il Giardino PizzeriaSaReGaMa (Authentic Indian Cuisine)Moroboshi (Japanese Cuisine)Bars Limes Bar (indoor)Island Bar (outdoors – weather permitting)Swimming Pools :-Outdoor Garden Pool and separate Splash Pool2 Indoor Swimming PoolsSpa Centres(see descriptions below)Thalasso Spa MediterraneeSpa Sante Belle Epoque Beauty CentreHypogeum Body, Mind & Spirit CentreOther facilities Conference facilities Fully Equipped Fitness Centre 24 hour room serviceAdded Value For All Our Guests :-Cruise of Malta’s Historical Grand HarbourUnlimited access to Fortina Fitness Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fortina Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Fortina Hotel Malta
Fortina Resort
Hotel Fortina
Fortina Spa Resort Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortina Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.