We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIRTHDAY HOLIDAY IN MALTA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
The Victoria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorg Borg Olivier St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Roskilde, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BIRTHDAY HOLIDAY IN MALTA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Our visit to Malta was meant as a celebration of my husband's 70ieth birthday, as well as an escape from the cold dark winter in Denmark, and above all to get to know more about the interesting history of the island. It proved to be a success in all respects!

We fell for the "Victoria" at first sight, its elegant lobby, the cosy "Penny Black" Pub, where we spent many evenings, and our pleasant room. Moreover, the possibility to combine the facilities of the "Victoria" with those of the more modern "Palace Hotel" was perfect.

We experienced great assistance and kindness from all the staff in both hotels, and received excellent help and information regarding our trips on the Island. You will all remain in our thoughts together with our lovely memories of our stay.

The weather was kind to us, mostly sunny and a pleasant temperature for sightseeing. We were most impressed by Malta and its history, and there is still much more we would like to explore.

The evening we landed at Copenhagen Airport we were met by a cold white landscape - quite a contrast to the nice warm days we had just left behind - and since then the Winter has escalated bringing snow and temperatures below zero, so ...we can only wish to come back to Malta again next winter!

Yours sincerely Jørgen and Andrea Toftager-Bagchus

Room Tip: Our room on the 7th floor was ideal: from the balcony there was a pleasant view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Andrea T,

It is with great pride and pleasure that we read about your decision to spend your husband's birthday and holiday at 4-Star Victoria Hotel.

As you put it yourself, the welcome from all the staff is sure to be a warm, helpful, reassuring one as your satisfaction is the best reward given our passion to provide excellent customer care service and our overall whole-hearted dedication to our clients.

We look forward to seeing you again and hosting you once more at The Victoria Hotel extend our heartfelt thanks for finding the time to submit your comments on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com





Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    424
    143
    50
    7
See reviews for
134
660
85
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Re visited this hotel after staying for a short break in January last year, again the service was excellent. The hotel is a ten minute walk down to the creek, which is full of cafés, restaurants, shops and the ferry over to the capital Valletta.
The hotel staff from Charles the front of house manager to the workman renovating some of the rooms are very friendly and welcoming, the bottle of wine and birthday card left in our room was a lovely touch. The newly renovated spa area is very special and next year I'll definitely remember my swimming costume ! Thanks again to everyone for making our short winter break a memorable one - see you again soon x

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Corrine L,

It is with great pleasure that we read about your return to The Victoria Hotel and that once again it lived up to your expectations.

Our clients' full and complete satisfaction is what motivates us to always keep providing the best service we possibly can.

The newly refurbished indoor pool, sauna area is proving extremely popular. Make sure you try it on your next visit.

On behalf of all the staff, including Charles at Front Desk, I thank you for submitting your preview and I look forward to the honour of re-welcoming you at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We enjoyed our two weeks holiday this hotel the welcome and friendly staff and the relations officer were always at hand the rooms were lovely and clean and the penny bar and the restaurant service was good and the first week we were there we had a introduction hour between 6-30pm and 7-30pm to meet the guests. Also the tempt asian restaurant was lovely as well they have two pools one heated and a gymon the top floor. It is well situated not to far from the sea front and a a supermarket just down the road 5 minutes walk if we return we shall visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: try not to have a room facing the hospital they seen to have parties sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear posts933,

We thank you for the glowing review you have given us and we also appreciate the fact that you found time to log in and submit it.

The Victoria Hotel is currently undergoing refurbishments, with works on the indoor pool, suana and gym area having been finalised in order for clients such as yourselves to avail themselves of these relaxing, enjoyable facilities and know the wonderful experience provided.

This is but one of the many services offered within our 4-Star Hotel, and always served and rendered with a smile and an ever courteous manner.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

A late booking because we were tired of rain and cold! The staff, food and hotel generally were very good and our room excellently clean if a little tired. The bathroom was also rather tired and the shower leaked. The seal was replaced, but did not solve the problem, and we did not follow it up at the time because we were too busy walking and visiting all the wonderful places! Our fault, not theirs. The staff could not have been more helpful and I am sure it will now be fixed. We had a lovely holiday and thought the hotel very well placed. The bus service from Sliema was amazing and the islands had so much to see and do. We'll definitely go again.

Room Tip: We chose a 'superior' room because several reports had said about the bedrooms being 'ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear 59AnnH48,

Whilst thanking you for finding the time to enter your review, allow me to say that, on behalf of all the team, we are all honoured to have hosted you here at The Victoria Hotel.

Your comments will certainly be passed on to our Maintenance Manager and his staff and the discrepancies you mentioned will be seen to.

There are currently several refurbishing projects underway, in some areas whole floors are being totally redone at The Victoria. These discomforts you listed could have been caused by ongoing works. Nevertheless, all will be solved by our trustworthy team.

We thank you for comments and suggestions as this is a sure way of knowing what our clients desire and helps us to deliver an ever improving service.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Having stayed at the Victoria Hotel for business purposes on several occasions over the past few years, I cannot praise the staff highly enough for their warm welcome and helpfulness each time I return.
The facilities are excellent, now greatly improved, and central to most that Sliema has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Lynda H,

The staff here at The Victoria pride themselves on giving such a welcome that our clients cannot help but feel they are 'at home' whilst away from home.

The fact that you choose to repeatedly honour us with your presence gives us great satisfaction and helps to motivate us in providing all that our esteemed clients desire and more.

Whilst thanking you for writing in, I look forward to hosting you once again here at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I don't know if it's because we booked a deal through an outside company, but our accommodations were just only o.k. We had an old, dingy bathroom, no mini-fridge in the room (had to save our honeymoon sparkling until the next hotel), and two twin beds. The staff were friendly and welcoming , they pushed the two beds together, but there was still a big seam down the middle (happened at the 2nd hotel too - maybe this is how their hotels are set up?). Did love the character of the building paired with the shared pool on the rooftop.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Amy S,

It is disappointing that your stay at The Victoria Hotel did not live up to your full expectations.

Whilst assuring you that your comments will not go unnoticed, allow me to say that there are refurbishments being carried out, some have been completed, such as the indoor pool and sauna, generating pleasantly positive feedback.

Projects in the pipeline for the immediate future are brand new floor carpet laying and some floors will have all the rooms totally refurbished.

We strive for perfection and our clients' full satisfaction makes us proud of our work and motivates us to move forward in providing relaxing and comfortable accommodation within our hotels. Your feedback is highly appreciated and we thank you for taking the time and effort to write.

We hope to have the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I would highly this hotel. The location was about 5 minutes away from the Sliema promenade which is perfect and it is really quiet.

The staff in the hotel are really lovely, they are so welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were very clean and the daily cleaning is a very high standard. I loved coming back to my room and everything was all in place!

I would really recommend this hotel, excellent value for money. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Meloxford14,

I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Victoria was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.