We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location and very friendly and helpful staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
The Victoria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorg Borg Olivier St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel, good location and very friendly and helpful staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

First trip to Malta and we were very pleased with the hotel. We were booked to stay for 10 nights and on arrival were given a free upgrade to an executive suite in the Palazzo Capua next to the hotel. This room was very good although the soft furnishings in the lounge area require a little TLC! The breakfast each morning was freshly cooked and plenty of it as well as a good select of cereal and fruit and the staff were very attentive. The receptionists on the front desk were very helpful and courteous. The location was excellent with easy access to buses and ferries, although the hotel is on the top of a slight hill. The pool on the roof top was good after a day of sightseeing but it does get busy! We would definitely recommend this hotel and if we ever visit Malta again would consider using this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Carol C,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Victoria was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    424
    143
    50
    7
See reviews for
134
660
85
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east kilbride, glasgow
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was our second visit to the Victoria and we found it even better than last year. From the minute we walked through the door we were made to feel extremely welcome. I had asked for a room on a high floor with a sea view if possible and we were given a suite which was really lovely. Charles on reception acknowledged that we had stayed before and made us feel really welcome. Every single member of staff was helpful and extremely friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble. The room was very clean and comfortable, food good, wine reasonably priced and the dining room and bar staff very helpful. Albert has got to be a 'one off' first class, great fun barman. The hotel has a well equipped gym, a spa, an indoor pool (out of commission for maintenance during our visit, but not a problem as we probably wouldn't have used it), and two great outdoor pools. The 9th floor infinity pool is just amazing. Amanda from Guest Services was always around to check that guests were happy and readily took on feedback. She was very friendly and even took the time to see us off when we left. A bit of a walk uphill from the seafront, but if you can live with that I would highly recommend it. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear helenmorton21,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Victoria was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. I will gladly extend your praise personally to Charles our Front Office Manager, Albert our barman at Penny Black and Amanda Guest Relations Officer.

Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olstykke, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went here for our Holiday this summer, one week at the nicest hotel you can imagine. Close to the city and still very quiet. We only experienced kindness, friendlyness and hospitality from the hotelstaff. We will recommend this fantastic hotel to everyone WHO wants to go to Malta. By the way, they have a fantastic pool lounge on the roof!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Dennis F,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with you presence. Furthermore, we are very grateful for the fact that you have found the time to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been appreciated by all.

We are truly delighted to read that your experience at The Victoria has been such a positive one. The hotel has embarked on a number of major projects, hence to guarantee our esteemed guests, the best facilities and a quality level of service. Such comments truly encourage and entice our motivation to persevere in this mission.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Best Regards,

Charles Portelli
Front Office Manager
charles.portelli@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The staff was very helpful from beginning to end. They prepared the place as we asked them to prepare it and were very friendly throughout the event. The environment was relaxing and pleasant and the people invited to our event were all very impressed with the layout and the place. Food and drinks were also very good. Food was reasonably priced, drinks a bit on the expensive side however the cocktails were not small ones. Definitely a hotel to go to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked Hotel Victoria in Jan 2013 for a 7 night stay in August. I actually wanted to stay at The Palace but the cost was a little more than I wanted to pay. As it turned out, The Victoria is a sister hotel adjoining The Palace sharing the roof top pool and the 7th floor gym. Based on previous reviews, we asked for a sea view room on the 6th or 7th floor which was kindly provided although we couldn’t see that much of the sea!

The hotel is a little dated and tired. The bedroom and bathroom were well proportioned. There was a CRT TV (not flatscreen) and internet was only wired (cable provided by reception) with wi-fi available in reception or on roof top. The lighting was not really bright enough in the bedroom or bathroom when trying to get ready to go out. The air conditioning unit was noisy and quite weak, just about being able to keep the temperature acceptable and there was no power adjustment (either on or off). Some of the painted trim on the wardrobe was peeling off and a couple of the plastic fittings were loose. After a wedding, we returned at 3am to find that the card to open the room didn’t work. We had to be moved to another room until the problem was resolved in the morning. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

We paid 70 euro in January 2013 for a room in August. This did not include breakfast. When we arrived we were offered a discount on breakfast from the standard rate of 11.50 to 6.50 euro but we didn’t partake so can’t comment. We were told that the breakfast in The Palace (cost 12 euro from 18) was ordinary.

Overall, The Victoria was a pleasant and comfortable stay with a very nice roof top pool and good location in Sliema. I think around 70 euro is decent value but if you are prepared to spend a bit more, then I believe there are better hotels with more modern accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Norcs,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence. Furthermore, we would like to extend our sense of appreciation for taking the time to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers.

We are glad to hear that your overall experience at The Victoria was a positive one. Your direct feedback is very important for us because it is through such constructive comments which enables us to rectify certain situations, naturally whenever possible. Kindly note that the hotel has embarked on a series of major projects, hence to extend the best level of service at all times.
To substintiate this, at present, the Indoor Facilities area is being upgraded. Furthermore, the hotel will also be investing in a very high technology internet system, hence the hotel will have WIFI access throughout

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcomining and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Best Regards,

Charles Portelli
Front Office Manager
charles.portelli@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We recently enjoyed a wonderful two week stay at The Victoria Hotel. This was our 2nd visit in two years and we were not disappointed. We checked in late in the evening and the receptionist on duty informed us that Charles Portelli the Reception Manager had upgraded us from our booked junior suite to a suite in the next door Pallazo Capua. Our suite was amazing and the Pallazo is a beautiful building with a lot of history. Charles and his team on reception are a credit to the hotel and they really do make the guests feel special. We were on a half board basis and the Copperfield Restaurant is excellent especially the lovely evening meals. Delicous salad bar and wide range of tasty mains and desserts, all under the watchful eye of the lovely Charles Abela Restaurant Manager and Kurt and the team. We knew the service would be first class at the Victoria from our previous visit and we were not let down. From the reception staff to the restaurant staff to the 9th floor pool staff and to the bar staff we could find no faults. We look forward to our next stay there and thank you to all the staff for making our holiday very special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear TrackyJ,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Victoria has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After reading a number of reviews on this site for this hotel I took the advice given and booked my husband and I a junior suite for the last week of July 2013, requesting a high floor away from lifts with an early check in, as we were due to arrive at the hotel between 11am and 12pm.

What did we get? No early check in as the room had not been vacated or cleaned, and we were next to the lifts.

At check-in the receptionist said he would store our luggage in a room behind reception and our options were to go up to the restaurant and have something to eat, wait in reception, or go for a walk.

We had been up since 2.30am to get a 6.30am flight, so all we really wanted to do was get into our room to shower and sleep for a few hours, but it was not to be, so we went to the restaurant, feeling travel weary and out of place in our travel clothes.

The food there was delicious if rather overpriced. After two hours we returned to reception and were allowed to go to our suite.

The suite was very nice and clean, but the bathroom is rather tired looking and the shower made a noise like a dying insect - for a long time - when it was turned off.

The bed though, I have to say, was fabulously comfortable and the pillows were like clouds. I never sleep well when I am away but every night I slept well on those pillows! They were exceptional!

Our biggest let down was a short time before our trip I received an email telling us that there would be building works in the hotel during our stay.

We are very disappointed that what is sold as a four star hotel would even consider building works during peak season.

I was unwell on the Wednesday and Thursday but was unable to stay in our room as the noise from the building works was unbearable. I made myself go to the sea to find some shade, but for us to not be able to enjoy our suite when we wanted to, after paying so much money for it, was a great let down.

We did not bother trying to use the pools, again because of the building works noise and also, as we discovered from our delayed check in, there are not enough sun loungers, so that was a no go for us.

We had breakfast once at the hotel which we consider to be very over priced for what it is.

This is a nice hotel but quite old fashioned. It does have an olde worlde feel and the reception is beautifully elegant, but in a climate as bright and hot as Malta the hotel did feel a little gloomy.

We booked this hotel as a late honeymoon as we didn't manage to get away after our wedding last year, and to be told so close to our trip that building works would be going on during our stay has not impressed us.

I wouldn't say don't stay here, but do your research before you go. If I had even thought building works would be taking place during peak season I would have rung the hotel directly before I booked. My mistake - lesson learned. When paying the sort of money we paid to stay here for a week we wanted peace, quiet and to be able to enjoy our room when we wanted, not be driven out by building noise at 9am until 5pm.

Disappointed.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite on the 5th floor. The room had two balconies but one is literally as wide as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Comiccuts,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence. Furthermore, we would like to thank you for sparing some time to post your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers.

We would like to thank you for your constructive comments which will surely be discussed during the weekly operations meeting. Your comments are truly valuable for us because it is through your direct feedback which enables us to address and rectify certain situations, naturally whenever possible. It is good to note that the hotel has embarked on a series of major projects, hence to ensure the best quality service at all times. One of these projects, is the upgrading of the Indoor Facilities areas which will surely enhance the area, there again with the scope to meet and exceed our guests' experience. Having said all this, it is so dissappointing for us to read that the relative works left such a negative impact on your experience. Other than extending our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused, and because we truly care, I would kindly like you to contact me directly, hence to discuss the matter further.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely hope to hear from you in due course. Furthermore, we sincerely hope to have the privilege of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.

Best Regards,

Charles Portelli
Front Office Manager
charles.portelli@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.