We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and service - recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santino - CLOSED

Santino
Qui Si Sana Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta, Malta
0035621322271
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good food and service - recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We ate three times at Santino during our fortnight's stay, twice in the evening and once for a quick pasta lunch on our last day. Service is faultless and food very good. There are generous complimentary Maltese nibbles at the beginning of the meal. Everything we tried was good. The restaurant has a calm atmosphere and is less busy than some other locals (Ta Kris, Ta Kolina) although it deserves to be as full. We would definitely eat here again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    17
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Good food, friendly staff. quick service. Good value for money. Very quite area. Good Maltese epitizer before eating.Highly Recommended to go for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent - Used to be Serafino's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had used to Serafino's restaurant on a number of occasions in 2011 and were disappointed to find it closed in 2012. However, research on Trip Advisor (well done Robb C of Ashford) informed us that the restaurant had changed name and location. Same great food and service with additional touches, bruschetta, olive and Maltese sausage starters and Limoncello's to round off the evening, well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“LOVELY MEAL IN NICE RESTAURANT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a lovely meal. Did not have starter but we both had chicken as a main course. Lovely meal. We had received a basket of Maltese bread first which was wonderful. We then received a free dish of brushetta and olives and Maltese sausage again very nice. We both had a dessert. I found my cheesecake far too dry and would have been nicer with ice cream. My wife enjoyed cream caramel. The wine was excellent. Service throughout the meal was good. Would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

After reading the reviews on the TripAdvisor we visited Santino. After the 1st visit we returned there 4 or 5 times during our stay. Everything was very good and the prices are not high. The staff is very friendly. The interior is very nice.
Sorry to say but there were not that much visitors in the restaurant. The owner definitely have to make the entrance more attactive. However we always knew that a table is waiting for us.
Thanks, Santino for a great food and service!=)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santino also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.