We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not book here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   261 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Taglio di Po, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Do not book here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had booked to stay here in early June for 3 nights from 21 September to attend the wedding of a friend: their I DO NOT HAVE RESERVED THE CAMERA! I had booked a double sea view and I was sent to another hotel in a single room with a shower clogged! They found the excuse that broke a pipe staying here but other relatives of the groom and he found there was a break. View randomly moved us 2 and another friend who had booked for the b & b and with different names than the groom. Moreover, despite the complaints were not readily available and peasants. I did not see the rooms but all the relatives of the groom not have done very well: it does not have private rooms with sea view booked for time, in the room there was no smell of mildew and even swept the floor. Bad!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    136
    78
    22
    27
See reviews for
29
167
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Carlton is a budget hotel with no frills. Very clean and newly decorated in a modern style. I stayed 8 nights in early November and weather was good. High winds may stop the tour boats though and some tours are not done in November. Carlton has a small roof pool but I preferred going to the rocky beach just outside across the road. It's deep though so you need to be a good simmer. Many locals seem to use it during the weekend too. Water is incredibly clear in Malta everywhere.

Hotel breakfast is very basic and nothing is really fresh. But if you're ok with toast and cereal etc then it's fine. There are many restaurants near by - I'd recommend the Barracuda or the one below it - left from hotel to the corner building by the sea with fantastic views. Peppi's just in front of the hotel is a great pub style place with bar food, drinks and sports on tv any time of day. For a cheap glass of wine or a coffee to watch the sun go down go to the seaside park kiosk in front of the hotel 5min walk - wish I had discovered that on the first day! You can make some feline friends on the way as some cats seem to live in the park.

The road below is busy but double doors and heavy curtains on balcony were good. Room is small and didn't have a hairdryer, but towels changed and room cleaned well every day. TV had mostly italian channels but also bbc world and cnn news. Reception very friendly and efficient. Free wifi (a bit weak in my room) and also computer room by the hour access.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Not a bad hotel at all for the price. Firstly though,the rooms with a proper sea view are very limited.Only 4 rooms on floors 3,4 and 5 have a good sea view, those being 35.36,37 and 38; 45,46,47 and 48 and 55,56,57 and 58.Any rooms below the 3rd floor have a very obstructed view, this being the restaurant across the road. The 6th floor is the dining area and the 7th floor has the best view but no balcony and no double glazing,and boy are they noisy.Some rooms on the side of the hotel have a VERY limited sea view but the predominant view is of the hotel across a very busy side street.The other rooms are all at the rear of the hotel.If you book this hotel make sure you book a sea view and insist on one of the ones mentioned, they are definately worth the extra. Sorry to go on about the rooms but the hotel location is all about the view.
The buffet breakfast is very good with a selection of hot and cold food,served, as mentioned, on the 6th floor with fantastic views over the bay.
The staff seem very friendly and try to resolve most problems, these being mostly about rooms(as most people want the rooms with the view)
Finally,and this is a must. If you are thinking of exploring the island on your own,then you must get a 7 day ticket for the busses.These are available on any bus and cost just 12 euro. For this you can travel on any bus, anywhere, from 5.30am to 11.00pm. The bus stop is right outside the hotel so it is just like having your own personel taxi.We explored the whole island and the busses are every few minutes.

Room Tip: Must have room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Hotel room was clean, large and had air conditioning. It was cleaned everyday and also provided with clean towels each day.. Buffet breakfast each morning provided. NIce little chill out area on roof with small swimming pool and a great view. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Elevator was broken for a few days and we were on 5th floor but not end of world.. Great location. Cant think what else you could want for the price..Cant say anything bad about our stay..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We´ve made a reservation of a room with sea view two weeks before our trip. When we got there they said we would get an upgrade. The "upgrade" was a room at another hotel with kitchen facilities. The other hotel had an inferior room, with no sea view. After a long conversation with the other hotel we managed to get a better room, but still Carlton didn´t show any consideration with the situation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We booked two rooms with sea views and none of them met the requirements we had paid. Besides, one of the rooms was on the seventh floor and the elevator was broken. They told us the hotel was full and they could do nothing else that day.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was the best priced of all 3-star hotels in the Sliema / St Julians area when we booked and we did not regret the decision.

For the reasonable price we paid for early July this hotel provided a great location and a comfortable stay.

LOCATION - I would always recommend Sliema / St Julians as a location to stay in Malta for its multitude of good restaurants / cafes, great bus links and sweet pleasant promenade walk.
We had a bus stop opposite the hotel which was very convenient. There was a little bay just outside and across the road from the hotel. It was good enough for a swim if you wanted something close but it got crowded at the weekend (by locals, I think) and in the late afternoon.

ROOM - The room was well sized and had a wardrobe (which didn’t have a door but that was no bother to us), desk and nicely finished bathroom.
The bathroom had only a shower (which we prefer to a bath), was quite spacious and nicely finished.
The hotel did not provide a kettle in the room (which we knew about from the “facilities” list) so we brought our own. We also brought our own extension lead having often wanted for accessible plus in 3* Maltese hotels! This ended up being a useful addition.
There was air-conditioning in the room (not always provided in 3* hotels) but it seemed to be on a “self-timer” and I woke up a couple of times in the night to turn it back on. Other than that it worked well and as we went in a heat-wave it was well used & appreciated.

POOL - There was a small rooftop pool. Not a deal breaker in staying in the hotel but nice to use whilst we were there. There was never more than one other person in it so the small size was not a problem. The rooftop loungers seemed to be well used by “sun-seekers” in the afternoon. Personally I found it wasn’t a place where I’d want to spend a whole afternoon reading a book and going for a dip but I did enjoy going for a quick “cool-off” dip after a morning of sight-seeing in the hot sun!

BREAKFAST - The breakfasts were nice. A range of tea, coffee, fruit juice; a couple of meats, cheese, boiled eggs, yogurt. Also 3 types of cereal, a few types of bread and a couple of sweet cakes / breads. Bacons, beans, sausage and scrambled egg which was always at a good temperature too. Certainly set me up for the day!

ONE MORE THING - The highlight of my stay at the Carlton was the view from our room! I loved being able to see over the seafront from the middle of Sliema to the other end of St Julians, fabulous.

Room Tip: The sea-view was lovely (but possibly a little noisier as it faced the front). Sea-view rooms for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 261 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sliema
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.