We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not recomended” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hera Cruises - Private Tours

Hera Cruises - Private Tours
Sliema Ferries, Sliema, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 2133 0583
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 26 Activities in Sliema
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Creating Quality Events at Sea is our passion. It is an intrinsic sense of quality customer service combined with the natural beauty of the Maltese coast and the azure Mediterranean waters, that make a trip on board one of our vessels a must on your to do list whilst visiting the Maltese archipelago. We look forward to welcoming you on board!
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not recomended”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

our experience with hera cruises was awuful ! overcrouded, no propper seats for family with two small children and two adults if u ask me was not safe either, standing all day on burning sun withought shade at all !!
crew on the boat did not know what to do when we asked for seats or at least a place with shade for 6 years old child.
very unprofessional, not recomended at all !!
few days after we say capitan morgan cruises and their boats looked more spacious, with seats and shade for everyone ! so if we would go again, defo captain morgan cruises !!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeraCruises, Manager at Hera Cruises - Private Tours, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are very sorry to hear about your comments. We think it is very unfair to rate the cruise so lowly because there were no more seats in the shade when you could have always gone inside into the cabin for shade.

Having said that, should there be any way to make up for your negative experience on Hera, kindly let us know.

Nevertheless thank you for your feedback which we will use to always improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    27
    6
    8
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If I could give no stars I would!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Overcrowded!!
We were unfortunate to be last to board the Hera cruise boat trip of 3 Islands. Once on the boat we had no where to sit. The crew told us to sit on the floor next to an entrance. Having spent 50euros each we expected to be able to at least sit in the sun. After raising our frustrations with the crew we were told to talk to the "manager" on the jetty. We asked them if we wanted to get off because of the overcrowding "trying to ram as many people on a boat to make as much money as possible," we asked if we would get a refund in which they replied yes. On the jetty the boat started moving away and the manager "Nicky" who has no customer service skills declined a full refund. After much arguing on our holiday we managed to get back 140 of our 200 euros. They were really quite rude. 60 euros robbed! For telling us to sit on floor near entrance of buffet to get coleslaw on our heads!
Anyway, luckily we went with Luzzo on a rib boat and probably had a better day for a fraction of the cost!
Not recommended

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeraCruises, Manager at Hera Cruises - Private Tours, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
While we are sorry to hear about this experience, please let us make it clear, that this person did not take the cruise, took a refund of the cruise and therefore is not in a position to rate us fairly or to compare us with other cruises. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buggenum, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Never go with Hera cruises”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were in Malta for 12 days and in the last week we wanted to go with one of the cruises to Malta, Comino and Gozo. After looking at several brochures we decided to go with Hera.
When we wanted to book our cruise on Saturday (8 days before our departure) the guy selling the tickets on shore in Sliema (Michael, never EVER buy anything from that guy) told us the cruise would go on Saturday, Tuesday and Thursday. As we would leave on Saturday we only had two days left to choose. As we first opted for Thursday, he kept telling us to go on Tuesday. However, there was a chance of bad weather forcasted so we were a bit hesitive. He gave us the option of buying an open ticket and we had to pay an advance of 30 euros (out of a 100 as we had te student price, normal price would be 116). We would go on the Tuesday cruise but if there would be bad weather we could go on Thursday instead. He also gave us his phone number if we decided to go on Thursday.

On Tuesday morning the weather was terrible and we decided to call him to ask if they would set sail on this day and if there was a chance the weather would turn. We tried several times, including the staff from our hotel with a Maltese number, but Michael never picked up his phone, neither did anyone at Hera cruises. We decided to go to Sliema by bus (an hour trip). When we got there the weather was still bad and Michael was nowhere to be found. When we asked the captain of the Hera he told us we were better of going on Thursday, we had an open ticket so there wouldn't be any problem.

Thursday morning (the last morning we could have possibly gone on this cruise) the Hera was nowhere to be found... When we were looking for Michael (who, of course, was nowhere to be found as well again) we found out the Hera was chartered for a private cruise and the cruise we booked was moved to Saturday. All of the passengers where called (at least the passengers that booked with the guy from Hera cruises we did manage to find...). When Michael finally turned up he blamed the captain of the boat and there was nothing that he could do, after quite some delay and quite a discussion we got our advance back.

Luckily Captain Morgan cruises saved the day by offering us the same type of cruise on their gulley, the Fernandes. We even received complimentary tickets a Harbour cruise as well!

So if you want to go on a wonderful cruise during your trip in Malta, choose the one on the Fernandes and definately not the Hera.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeraCruises, Manager at Hera Cruises - Private Tours, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are very sorry to hear about your experience, however it is to be clearly stated that you were never dealing with Hera Cruises. The person (Michael) that you are talking about is not employed with Hera and absolutely not part of the team. As you explained, he is a ticket seller who acts on his own behalf and we cannot be responsible for the promises he makes.

Also when someone books directly with us through our phone numbers, offices or website we would be in possession of his/her contact details and will contact every passenger should the cruise be postponed because of bad weather etc. We have no details of others purchasing tickets through ticket booths etc. We do inform our ticket sellers of cancellations but it is then up to them to inform their clients.

Having said that, we will of course investigate the matter as we cannot afford third parties to tarnish our reputation but we assure you that as you can read from all other comments posted here we do offer an excellent service and should you be in Malta again, we promise to make up for your disappointment.

Thank you.
Hera Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The cruise around Malta was recommended to us by our B&B hosts as they are friends with the owner of the company. Other guests also wanted to do the trip, but unfortunately they didn't go around the whole island, but only to Comino. Obviously this happens from time to time as you can read in some of the other reviews.
So we were lucky and did the whole tour around Malta with two snorkeling stops (one at the south coast of Gozo, I think it was Mgarr ix-Xini), the other one at the Blue Lagoon.
The comments/explanations of our tour guide were very informative, the ship was clean, there were only 40 people aboard (the ship could have carried 100, according to a sign on the boat) so we had much space, and the atmosphere was very quiet.
We didn't do the speed-boat tour (and I think it was a good decision – we read about it on some reviews here), but enjoyed snorkeling at the Blue Lagoon instead.
The food was OK, they offered many salads that were vegetarian, the crew was nice, and we had a lovely relaxing time – and we didn't get seasick :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 Island tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful tour on hera cruises, value for money, excellent staff & great ship, tour was not over crowded there was plenty of room, options to sunbake up top or take shelter in the cabin, buffet lunch with plenty to go around. Recommand this tour highly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hera Cruises - Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hera Cruises - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hera Cruises - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.