We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGUSTING GYM….” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Preluna Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Preluna Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Preluna Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“DISGUSTING GYM….”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I do business in Malta and spend long periods of time on the island. As a result, I use local gyms and on this visit decided to use the gym at this 'hotel and spa!!!!' because it was within walking distance of where I was staying.

Stupidly, I visited the gym entering from the hotel…. and only looking through a glass partition at what appeared to be quite a nice gym. Looks good on the website too. Paid E69 for two weeks membership… and returned the next day for my first workout.

On entering the gym… I cannot begin to tell you how disgustingly dirty the place is!!!! Everywhere is caked in layers of black dirt and dust… the floors, the equipment, the windowsills etc…

The equipment is poorly maintained; rusty and caked in thick black oil in areas… which is then covered in more black dirt and dust… and considering the oil, the equipment creaks and squeaks through lack of maintenance. I have been a member of a lot of gyms…. and this was bad. No one appears to wipe down the equipment…. there are no paper towels or sprays to wipe equipment.

I accidentally spilled some water and used my own towel to clear it up…the water caused black fur balls and made my towel really filthy.

When I went on the floor mat to do a work out…. my clothes actually got dirty…. and I mean really dirty. I suffer from mild asthma… and it was bad… resulting in an onset of wheezing.

I cannot believe anyone uses this place… it's a total flea pit. If I was staying at the hotel I would have gone mad… and certainly wouldn't have gone into the pool… heaven knows what you would catch!!!!! I hate to be cruel… but seriously…. tourists deserve better/so do the locals who use this gym? It's an absolute insult to visitors… they need to sort their act out.

Oh, yes… damp dripping through walls and towels on floor catching it…. Bad for asthma!!!!

Get out quick.

PS. Hotel needs to note that you can get temporary gym membership at the very wonderful Raddisson Blue for E50 for one month!!!!! Cheaper, cleaner and longer; what more can I say.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    438
    265
    114
    63
See reviews for
192
548
101
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Once again we came back to the Preluna Hotel in Sliema. As 2 years before the food was excellent and again all the staff were friendly and helpful. There were a couple of disappointments though - the room although having a sea view was low level in the Preluna Towers and the sunshine left our balcony by 10:00. We were offered a change but didn't fancy repacking so stayed put. The room was a little shabby although it was kept serviced extremely well by our cleaner. Plenty of clean sheets and towels during our 3 week stay. The second disappointment was the entertainment. Whoever thought that playing a piano in the Piazza Bar fell into this category was sadly mistaken. Too much and too often of this I am afraid this time we had to go out instead. Also the "Taste of Malta" although well run and food drinks provided was before dinner with nothing after it so again you had to entertain yourselves. That said our overall enjoyment of the hotel was good again. Thanks to all the wonderful attentive staff too numerous to mention by name. We will be back you can be sure of that.

Room Tip: If available, take a sea view room at the front at a high level for the best views also away from tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Pleasant reception staff, very helpful with all our enquiries. Lovely sea view room with plenty of space to spread out. Very clean rooms with excellent linen service from permanently smiling staff.
Restaurant was very well managed and the food of good quality. Nice to be greeted every evening by the smiling faces of David and Charles.
Bus stop right outside the hotel makes the journey to Valletta terminus very easy. The rest of Malta, including the far flung places are easily reached.
10 out of 10 for the Hotel reception staff for their local knowledge. The spa area and pool were spotlessly clean and we spent several hours in the pool, sauna and steam room. We would happily recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing time in Sliema.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

The room was at the front of the hotel and had a good sea view.the traffic noise was quite high. And there were workmen in the new part of the hotel next door who started banging every morning at 7.00am. But the food was very good with a good choice. It was abit like being in an old peoples home as the hotel was full with over 65+.
As you walk along the sea front you have to walk past all the reps selling bus tours and harbour cruises and the time share sellers!!.I think Valleta would be a better place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our short break at the Preluna. Initially we were shown to a very dated room overlooking a flat roof at the back of the building which we weren't happy with but went back to reception and was immediately found a room which had just been refurbished and was much more acceptable. Thumbs up to the staff who were very helpful and friendly. It had a big balcony overlooking a a side street. We were there on a bed and breakfast basis and found the breakfast to be very good. Huge choice of hot and cold foods, as much as you wanted. Indoor pool was available and there was entertainment every evening if you wanted it. However, in February, the residents were rather older than us and the entertainment reflected their taste not ours so we gave it a miss! Good seafront location with a bus stop outside - 1.50 euro for a day rider...we went all over the island! Would definitely stay here again, great value for money. :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is very good for the money you pay.Food was very good and plenty it is self service and can get a bit busy but there are plenty of tables so you will not have a problem where to sit. We had a sea view room which was very good well worth the extra money. Indoor pool and sauna and steam room were very good overall the hotel is very good and I would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just returned from a month stay at the Preluna and had a great time. The hotel was in a good location for exploring the island. A bus stop was just outside with regular buses into Valletta and also buses direct to other parts of the island. It was a nice walk one way into St Julians and the other way round to Sliema and the ferries. The hotel staff were mostly very friendly and helpful, thanks to Martin behind the bar for his excellent service. We had a room at the back of the hotel and it wasn't a good outlook but the room was a good size, clean with comfortable beds but next time would pay extra for a sea view. We had the all inclusive option and the food and drinks were excellent. Lots of choice with plenty of fresh fruit and veg, meat, fish, pasta. All of good quality, well cooked and tasty. There was good entertainment on 3 nights a week and a quiz one night but the rest of the time a pianist played in the bar. We thought they could have done a bit better with the entertainment. There was a sun terrace on the roof with loungers and chairs and there was a private beach club on the sea front but it was closed while we were there. I would have liked a bit more outside space where you could sit and have a drink outside in the fresh air. That said I am looking forward to doing a month at the Preluna next year. Many thanks to all the staff for a great time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#4 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Malta
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Preluna Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.