We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too self important” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chophouse Restaurant

The Chophouse Restaurant
Censu Xerri Street | Tigné Point, Sliema, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 2060 3355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 148 Restaurants in Sliema
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Too self important”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

What an interesting place to find. Out the back of nowhere, but once found, well worth the views. I asked for seat outside but as I hadn’t booked it didn’t happen, there were lots of empty tables, when I left there were still ample tables available. Not impressed. I’ve enjoyed the Maltese white wine that I have had in several restaurants, this was no different. Very nice. I began with tempura prawns, can’t really go wrong. The followed up with the angus rib eye. Asked for medium rare, but it was more rare than medium wasn’t happy with that. Finished with an orange crème brulee, very nice indeed. They need a bug zapper, way too many flying insects than I was comfortable with. The staff were very nice, but in no hurry to do too much of anything. For the price of my evening and considering it was the off season I was very disappointed in not being seated outside.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    71
    22
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect for meat eaters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Obviously if you go somewhere with Chop in the name you know what your getting.
Steaks are about 20-35€. I had a chicken dish Nd potato gratin mash. Lovely. The house white wine was nice and reasonably priced at 18€.
Party I was with ordered rack of full ribs and fillet steak, both demolished and enjoyed.
We had apple pie, panacotta and ice cream to finish and for 3 adults the bill was 108€ but was a great setting! we sat inside where the staff accommodated us and were very polite and interested as to how we enjoyed our experience. One of our more expensive meals out but you have to spend a little extra sometimes and this was worth the extra.
Sitting outside or in enjoy the view across the harbour away from the hustle and bustle and traffic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent service, wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We took a chance and turned up and they easily accommodated the 2 of us on a Monday evening, however I would think it could get busy at weekends and during the summer.
The staff were very attentive, the range of food and wines just right and the food was amazing. The steaks were lockouts and the desserts were probably one of the best that we have ever had.
This is not a cheap restaurant but like everything you pay for what you get and this restaurant I would highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

After a bad experience in a Maltese restaurant, we asked the concierge of our Hotel (The Palace in Sliema) to suggest where to eat. They gave us many indications and we chose this one. Wonderful view, good service and the best meat we've ever eaten, very well cooked. Courtesy, pleasant atmosphere and great value for money paid.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is an excellent restaurant with very good food and service. We’ve booked in advance – I suggest booking early in order to reserve a table outside.

After placing our order, we were served with excellent service. The staff is always attentive and the atmosphere is lovely too. On Sunday, they offer a set menu for 27.95 with a great selection of dishes – Try the deep-fried white bait (makku) and the date parcels (imqaret).

The kids really enjoyed it for the casual atmosphere it offers – children under ten years eat for free.

Parking is not a problem and free of charge. Will be visiting again very soon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chophouse Restaurant also viewed

 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Chophouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chophouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.