We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel to your Saves list
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   88 - 89 The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta 1022, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I found the deluxe apartment very comfortable indeed. Two bathrooms is a great perk. The staff were excellent and responded promptly to one or two small issues (example: AC quit but was fixed quickly). We requested a quiet room and noise was not a problem for us even on a Friday and Saturday night. We were very pleased with the apartments comfort an location. We would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    72
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
19
124
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in July. We had a room facing the harbor with a small balcony. The room itself is very well organized, with stove, microwave, large fridge, and cooking utensils. The style is very modern. The bathroom is larger with a powerful shower. Malta in the summer is HOT and the air conditioning worked great. Internet service is free for as many devices as you want and has a good signal always. We spent part of every day at Medasia Playa, which is the pool area about 1km walk away from the apartment. They have 3 pools, one especially for children, loads of sun beds and a restaurant and bar. It was only ever crowded there at the weekend. The swimming area had a short ladder to climb down over the rocky beach to enter the ocean. The hotel does offer a shuttle ride to Medasia, but the walk only takes 10 minutes. The only negative thing about the Pebbles is that at the weekend the bar on the ground floor blasts music until 2am. We were on the 6th floor and could hear the bass from 6 floors down, coming through the floor, so I can only imagine what the noise was like on the 2nd floor. On other nights the rooms are very quiet. There is a TexMex restaurant on the street level as well as MedAsia restaurant serving sushi. The best thing for us was that the ferry to Valletta was a 2 minute walk away. There is also a rooftop deck area with lounge chairs and a hot tub. We were very happy with our stay, the receptionists were friendly, the apartment was modern and clean, the pool/bar area was excellent and the view from our balcony was one of the best we have ever had.

Room Tip: Spend a bit extra and get a room witha balcony facing the harbor, the views are amazing. The Medasia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linlithgow
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Second time in Pebbles and what a transformation in five years. The upgrading of the apartment from 'tired' to 'boutique' has been done very well indeed, with the new modern fittings and fixtures making for an easy stay. Receptionists and room cleaners were well informed, really pleasant and efficient. The rooftop tub proved a blessing, and we enjoyed sharing it one day with a pop star.
We had a high room with the panoromic view of the bay over Manual island to Valetta and to take breakfast in the morning is worth the little bit extra.
The smoke alarm sensors are ultra sensitive as we discovered when we had 'the burnt toast episode' on our first morning there.
During our time there the management opened their Medasia playa on the other side of the peninsula and the hotel runs transport to this truly magnificent facility.
A 'well done ' to the Casha family.

Room Tip: sea view above 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Went here with a couple of colleagues for a week. A very nice, clean and well appointed hotel, with all the facilities you would need to work here for a week to many months. Best feature is the free wifi but that is a little touch and go at times.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a high room as the pubs and clubs underneath close at 4 AM and they are very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

All that you have to do to find out how good the Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel is, is to visit their website and read what they say about it. It is all true. If possible, book early. We did this and after reading other traveller’s reviews, requested a room overlooking the harbour and as high as possible, to enable us to enjoy the views and to be away from the noise of the restaurants, bars and the road below. Requests cannot be guaranteed but we were very lucky and were given room 601 on the 6th floor, overlooking the harbour and the capital, Valletta. The air-con worked perfectly well but we only used it the once, because, yes there was noise but we felt that it was part of the holiday and we slept with the French doors open and enjoyed it . The room was immaculate and the staff very helpful. As I read before we left for our holiday. If you do choose Pebbles, on arrival, you will find reception on the first floor above the Tex Mex American Restaurant. If you ask a member of staff at the TexMex, they will show you through their very well stocked and clean Tex Mex bar, (of which we enjoyed cocktail happy hour most evenings) to the lift for Pebbles reception(very easy). From there on, you can either continue to use this route or to avoid the bar, take the lift down to reception and walk down the steps. Enjoy, I am sure you will.

Room Tip: Cannot say anything about the lido or fitness centre as we did not use either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rep of Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Whether you like this hotel or not, depends very much on what you like in a holiday! The area around it is buzzing with chat, laughter and nightlife (but not Night clubs as in other areas such as Paceville). There are several great restaurants and bars right on the doorstep, Sliema ferries for trips round the harbour etc and the Arriva buses to anywhere in Malta are a few steps away. There are a couple of mini markets where you can pick up provisions within two minutes walk. The hotel itself which is small is accessed via a short flight of stairs or a small lift in the bar/restaurant downstairs.For this reason, I don't believe it would be comfortable for somebody in a wheelchair. We were on the 6th floor at the front with a sea view which was magnificent. We were so glad that we had paid a little extra for this because even though we were out and about all day, we loved having breakfast on the balcony and looking at the boats while taking in the amazing views of Valletta across the harbour. The reflecting lights on the water in the evenings were magic. While there was music until 2am many nights, our apartment was perfecly calm and quiet, especially with the hum of the very efficient air conditioning.The apartment was spotless and was cleaned every day .And there's a roof garden with a brilliant sea view!
The staff was friendly but didn't exactly provide a concierge service. I was surprised and disappointed that some of the receptionists didn't appear to know some basic tourist information. This is really an apartment block with a reception desk. There are no bus timetables, tourist leaflets or brochures available here but they are very easily accessed from the various tour operators and the Arriva Bus Stand a couple of steps away. I would like to mention an English receptionist called Cristina who gave us lots of information, booked two restaurants for us and also a taxi to pick us up for the airport on our last day. We loved Pebbles and would certainly stay there again but being a mature couple who like a good night's sleep, we would only stay on a high floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My (adult) daughter and I stayed for 2 nights. We were tossing up whether to pay the extra for a sea view and were glad we didn't. The seaview rooms, while the view would have been lovely, were also on the main thoroughfare and above a very busy bar/restaurant, so would have been quite noisy.
If you have suitcases, you need to go through the bar next door to access the (small) lift.
The lady on reception was very friendly and very helpful. She answered all our questions about which bus to catch, etc. They also lent us an adaptor plug because we needed an extra one.
The clean and tidy room was modern and had a well-equipped kitchenette. The superette was close by.
We were very near to the bus stops and the boats for the Blue Lagoon/Gozo/Camino cruises.
This was not the full tourist season and it was a busy area. I can only wonder what it would be like in the summer months.
If you want a place in the centre of it all, then Sliema is the area to be.

Room Tip: We didn't pay extra for sea views, and were glad we didn't. It would have been quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel

Address: 88 - 89 The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta 1022, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering panoramic views over Valletta's beautiful harbor, Pebbles Boutique ApartHotel is set on Marsamxett Harbour in Sliema, Malta's largest seafront resort area. Completely renovated, both inside and outside, Pebbles offers spacious and modern studios with all comfort. Each features free Wi-Fi, LCD TV and a living area with sofa. The kitchenette is complete with a stovetop and full-size refrigerator. Some studios also offer amazing sea views.The studios are set in a modern building with lift. Here, guests will find a japanese restaurant, an American bar and restaurant. There is a rooftop terrace with sea views and Jacuzzi. Pebbles Aparthotel is only 300 metres away from Sliema Bus Terminus and the ferry port to Valletta. The bus for Valletta stops right in front of the property. Malta International Airport is 10 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pebbles Aparthotel Hotel Sliema
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.