We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare nugget on the Strand” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Malte

Le Malte
139 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1604, Malta
21342242
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 148 Restaurants in Sliema
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A rare nugget on the Strand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Good quality food, excellent fresh fish for instance and nice atmosphere. Service was good as well. A real find as surrounded by average restaurants which always seem to disappoint.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    70
    33
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was a restaurant that took 3 attempts to get to but was well worth it. Despite confessing to staff being off ill, the two serving front of house did a superb job with professional friendliness. The food was excellent, chosen because it specialised in Maltese food. Snails - lots of them and cooked with star anise, were superb and although not as big as those found in France tasted better for it. The rabbit stew was plentiful, well cooked and tasty with a side order of well prepared roasted Mediterranean vegetables, all washed down with some very good Maltese wine. Yes, it was a meal that took all evening, but who wants to rush something good...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Value, Great Service, Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very good seafood served in this great restaurant in Sliema. The service was great - attentive, but not pushy. We ate the swordfish ravioli and the Seafood pasta, and we would have been happy paying twice the price given the high quality of both dishes. This was great value too - 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 desserts, a bottle of Isis Maltese Chardonnay, a bottle of water, a tipple of Fernet Branca and a tip was €67 - great value!

Well recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“delicious traditional Maltese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stumbled upon this small, hole in the wall on the Sliema waterfront after getting some major attitude from the staff at Fresco's Cafe. It was earlier in the evening, so I got a spot on their small patio just across the street from the boardwalk. I had the local house rose - it was quite good, surprisingly. I had to try the Island specialty - spaghetti with rabbit sauce - which was delicious!

On my second visit, I had to sit inside, and tried the other local specialty - a fish called Lumpaki, which was in season. The presentation was amazing (see pictures), but I'm not a fish person, however I ate everything but the head. It came with lightly seasoned roasted mixed vegetables.

The prices were very reasonable and service was fine, and in hindsight, I wish I had eaten here all 4 nights I stayed in Malta.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watervliet, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not prepossessing, but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

As a first-time visitor to Malta, I thought I should try one of the tourist-type restaurants. This places features the usual Maltese cuisine items, including rabbit stew, lampuki (mahi-mahi), and a bit more. I had the gozitan cheese salad and the horse meat plate. Both menu choices were well prepared. It seemed too dark inside so I sat outside with a few too many flies. The wait staff was pleasant and my order came quickly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Malte also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Le Malte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Malte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.