We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of TemptAsian Restaurant & Lounge

TemptAsian Restaurant & Lounge
High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM1542, Malta
+356 2262 3409
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 148 Restaurants in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Every luxurious hotel needs a spectacular Restaurant and Bar. The TemptAsian Restaurant and Lounge Bar situated on the 9th floor of The Palace Malta offers a new experience in dining. With truly magnificent panoramic views of Sliema and the Grand Harbour, TemptAsian offers a fusion of Asian and Western cuisines in a tropical and relaxing Asian themed settings.With a splendid view of Sliema and the Mediterranean together with a harmonious atmosphere, one can sit and relax by the pool and enjoy a refreshing drink as well as a mouthwatering snack offered at the TemptAsian Pool Terrace. Operating Time:Pool Bar 10.30 – 18.00 Summer SeasonLunch Menu 12.00 – 15.00 Summer SeasonDinner Menu 19.00 – 22.30 last orders
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Beautiful setting and service but unfortunately the food was very poor and very over-priced. The vegetable ramen was greasy and tasteless, eating here was supposed to be a treat for us but we were very diasappointed overall.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at TemptAsian Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Design123,

The Managent and staff at The Palace is very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us at TemptAsian.

Please note that your constructive comments about our food and service have been raised during our operations meeting to ensure that such inconveniences are not repeated.

Once again I apologise for any inconvenience caused. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for future reservation to really show what the true value at TemptAsian is all about.

Regards

Jonathan Pisani
Operation Executive
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    118
    48
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Visited this restaurant twice during recent visit to malta. First class service, food, with views of Valletta and the Grand Harbour lit at night. It is very popular so booking is advisable. One visit was on a wednesday night which was Indian night, 4 courses incl a bottle of wine for 50 euros. Brilliant value. Visited numerous other restaurants in Malta and this one without doubt was the best

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying at the Palace and find the service of all members of staff great. We dined at the restaurant last night and although the portions are big, (which is good), the food is of high quality. The waiting staff are efficient, discreet and friendly. All in all, a great place and will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food but watch out for who is serving you.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

TemptAsian has great food and a varied menu. The view is fantastic especially if you are lucky and there is a feast towards Valletta area as the fireworks are an added touch.
One recommendation, if you intend to take up their birthday offer, it doesn't matter if you are a big table, watch out for the sarcasm, rude and arrogant attitude of the waiter. This does not hold true of all the waiters as Matthew, a young and enthusiastic waiter, made up for his older colleague's faults. Even though my food was free, in line with the offer, there is no room for a waiter to be rude, especially given that I was staying as a guest at the hotel(paying guest) and had all my friends (also paying) join for the dinner. The rude attitude ruined what would otherwise have been a perfect dinner.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at TemptAsian Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Gertrude B,

The Managent and staff at The Palace is very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us at TemptAsian.

Please note that your constructive comments about our food and service have been raised during our operations meeting to ensure that such inconveniences are not repeated.

Once again I apologise for any inconvenience caused. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for future reservation to really show what the true value at TemptAsian is all about.

Regards

Jonathan Pisani
Operation Executive
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Chinese New Year dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just returned from Malta and stayed at the Palace Hotel. The TemptAsian Restaurant is on the 9th floor and while we were there, they were offering a 5 course dinner including a bottle of wine and water for EUR 25 each. The restaurant is very attractive with wonderful views over the harbour. The meal was delicious and an amazing deal. We did not expect that the portions of each course would be so big! Here's what we had: spring rolls, prawn crackers with a dip, chicken and corn soup, Peking duck with pancakes, sweet & sour pork, stir fried beef, eel, steamed veg, noodles and to finish, fried banana with coconut ice cream! The wine was a Maltese red - quite light which went well with the meal. The service is discreet but efficient and we had a wonderful evening and were glad that we could fall into the lift to go down to our bedroom!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TemptAsian Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to TemptAsian Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TemptAsian Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.