We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Child-friendly but not brilliant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Vecchia Napoli

La Vecchia Napoli
Sliema, Island of Malta, Malta
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 148 Restaurants in Sliema
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Child-friendly but not brilliant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a family meal here, and they were very welcoming to our toddler and pram. The food was averagely good simple Italian. Odd ambience as we sat by a picture window just on/below street level and felt like goldfish in a bowl as those waiting for the bus watched us. The much-vaunted dessert turned out to be a sort of Nutella pizza.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    186
    78
    34
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relatively good pizza place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Not the best pizza I've ever tasted, but it is relatively good. The service is good as well. It can be a nice place to spend evening in or to dine with friends. But I wouldn't recomend to use it for special occasions.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gwann, Malta
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We enjoyed a family get together with good genuine fresh food. The menu is not extensive which is all the better as one can easily make their mind up quickly. Excellent wine list. However, this is not a restaurant where you pop-in and out. I admit that they were really full on a Monday evening but the kitchen is slow. Having stated that one can settle to a nice conversation and a few bottles of wine. Possibly pizza or pasta would be the quick option.
Staff were polite and helpful. The decor was relaxing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siggiewi, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food, Awful Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Why on Earth 2 persons cannot be served food at the same time?! Some oven...just 2 pizzas and a lot of waiting between the 2 to arrive. (and not just us, it was also the persons near us...) Never again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swieqi, Malta
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fell of Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This place is one of the regular places we go for Pizza.. the decor and set up reminds one of Italy which I guess add to the flavor of their pizzas.. no matter, one of the best pizza in the island. '' Calzone '' would be our group top choice. Good wine selections and good for group or family dining.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vecchia Napoli also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to La Vecchia Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vecchia Napoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.