We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time Malta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diplomat Hotel Malta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Diplomat Hotel Malta to your Saves list
Diplomat Hotel Malta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   173, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1609, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“First time Malta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Whilst this hotel was a bit older, it was clean. Air conditioning noisy. It offered a view of the sea, but only when one leaned out over the balcony down the side street. Food was good and well presented. Restaurant staff very welcoming and friendly nothing was a bother.

Room Tip: If you want a view need to get one out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    187
    151
    81
    40
See reviews for
61
258
73
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Szczecin, Poland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had a little problem on first day in Diplomat hotel in Sliema. Air condition in our room was broken. After one night in another place we were back and we were surprised by the Diplomat. They gave us better room with full view on sea.
Everything was perfect. In our opinion Diplomat deserved to 5 BIG STARS.

Room Tip: Room 302. Very nice room. Middle flor, quiet and sunny room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was unsure what I'd let myself in for when I booked the diplomat what with all the mixed reviews on here. Would I stay here again, possibly depending on any other offers available at the time or if my friend has got any space at their bed & breakfast. I had a great week with a friend, we spent most days out of the hotel which I would recommend if you are staying here as it's not where I would want to spend a whole week on holiday.

A couple of points below to consider;
- This was a very cheap break, if you want 5* luxury you will see that the Hilton etc are all a lot more expensive than here. For the 7 nights here you would get approx. 4 nights at one of the top hotels (if your lucky.)
- Rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels were provided
- A/C worked in the room, even if it was a bit noisy but I found that if I left it on during the afternoon and turned it off at night the temperature was bearable
- Location is very good, a 30 minute walk to the left and your in St Julians with it's lively nightlife of Paceville and my favourite bar, Saddles in Spinola Bay. To the right for approx. 15 minutes you get to Sliema, full of shopping and a boat that will take you across to Valetta if you'd prefer this to the bus which is located not far from the front of the hotel.
- Rooms are a bit dated but again you get what you pay for
- Swimming pool was larger than I imagined but if you wanted to swim you can cross the road and your at a rocky beach where you have the ocean to play with
- Food was pretty average to say the least, don't bother eating here and head to one of the many locations near the hotel for food. You will enjoy the experience a lot more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

i stayed from 13th july until 20th july-I really enjoyed my stay, as soon as i arrived i got a welcome drink at the bar, very nice and friendly staff. my room was perfect very tidy and clean all week. i didnt have seaview but it dint really matter cause i was out all day anyways.
all the people who work at this hotel are very service minded and very friendly, they really go to their lenght to help you. as soon as you ask for something they just help you out. everything was nice and a/c worked perfectly as long as you have it on low, than you won´t even hear it. the internet cafe was free to use and it´s upstairs at the pub. they also have free wifi in the room.the breakfast was a variety of foods and it´s impossible to complain about it cause there´s lots of food to choose from and even fruits and cakes. really worth the price and i will book at this hotel again next time i go to malta.

Room Tip: i stayed on first floor on the side. heard no noise and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is in a great location nice & neat but oh the staff are the most unfriendly people & that is starting with the front desk down to the waiting staff & even the cleaning staff.They just don,t acknowledge people,even when asked a question their attitude is so abrupt They really need to be trained in customer service they have none at all .It is such a shame

Room Tip: Always ask for beach front with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The only a few small things I consider as a minus are:
- Wifi signal is a little bit low and you have to "search" for it in the room.
- A/C units are old and noisy, but they do their job quite well.
- There's no sad beach nearby (although I wouldn't complain about this because this is normal in Malta).

There's a nearby supermaker and Sliema is a very wonderful city full of life an tradition.
I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

While there the Hotel was having a complete upgrade, Our room and bathroom was very clean and bright, with balcony. We had a lovely stay, staff were friendly and helpful. pool was out of action when we stayed "Shame" but looked very welcoming. We had the chance to visit one of the front rooms It was lovely and had a wonderful view out to sea worth the upgrade on our next visit. The Owner and managment staff along with all the other staff went out of there way to make sure the upgrade did not interfear with our stay. The diplomat is situated in a perfect spot for travelling around malta. we met some lovely people and would recommend this hotel to every one

Room Tip: Try and get a front room with sea views. We had a side room with balcony which as I said above was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diplomat Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel Malta

Address: 173, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1609, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sliema
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel Malta 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is situated on Tower Road prestigious seaside promenade in the heart of Sliema, well known for its extensive range of activities. The main bus route to Valletta, the capital city, Paceville/St.Julian's etc runs outside the hotel.In front of The Diplomat Hotel, just below the promenade, a pleasant rocky beach is ideal for sun bathing, swimming and practising water sports. A sandy beach is within walking distance.Theme bars and restaurants, shopping malls, designers boutiques and the Dragonara Casino are available nearby. The rooms have FREE Wi-Fi, satellite TV, air conditioning and a tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms full or lateral sea views. Room Service is available from 0630 till 0130The Hotel has recently undertaken refurbishment of the majority of the hotel rooms and bathrooms, lifts and reception/lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Diplomat Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Malta Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diplomat Hotel Malta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.