We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're not that fussy then I would recommend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diplomat Hotel Malta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Diplomat Hotel Malta to your Saves list
Diplomat Hotel Malta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   173, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1609, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If you're not that fussy then I would recommend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I wasn't sure whether to go for the Diplomat or not as the reviews on here and fairly split - As is this one. I was on the 7th Floor with a partial sea view (I wasn't bothered with a sea view) I had a double room (which was huge) with an ensuite which had 2 sinks and a bath which does look like it needs to be replaced as a bit grotty. The A/C was fine but quite loud. The shower was okay, took a while to rinse my thick hair properly and the hot water went every time after a few mins which was really annoying as it was at all different times of the day/night. The bathroom light was on its way out so it was like a disco, I reported this and nothing was done but it was late 2 days before I left. The roof top pool was a lovely treat and the bar is cheap. Everyone was polite and helpful, wifi didn't work for me in my room but there are computers to use to check emails etc, bus stops are really close so easy to get into Valletta and you can walk to St Julians. I thought 9 Euros for breakfast was a bit much BUT I only had it once and it was just water and toast but there was lots to choose from, I just didn't eat 9 euros worth. I was woken up every morning by the housekeeping, right outside my door was a cupboard that had their cleaning supplies and towels and toilet roll and they would be in and out all the time, this was really annoying, not because it was early (I was up and out anyway) just because it was every morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    170
    136
    74
    38
See reviews for
57
233
61
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of May 2013 before going up to Golden Bay. We had a very clean room, the whole hotel was clean and in good condition. It is in a great location for an evening stroll for a drink or meal.
The hotel food we found to be very nice and reasonably priced. The entertainment was really good. The first night we had Marisa D'mato, Malta's Queen of Country Music, singing fabulous songs over dinner.
We hadnt paid a fortune to stay here, and were pleasantly surprised to say the least. If you were on B&B, you could upgrade to Evening meal for just 12 euros a person, which was about 5 course!
Our room was partial sea view but mainly into a side street. The main hotel fronts the sea front/Tower road.
Definately worth staying at this hotel, and I am quite sure we will return.

Room Tip: If you are just a couple, get a full sea view. If you are needing more beds it has to be a side/part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

During my last stay in Malta, I stayed at the Diplomat Hotel, Sliema. I prefer staying at Sliema due to its prime location. The Diplomat is by the sea, centrally located, but the area is not too noisy or busy.I found the hotel clean, the service reliable. The best word to describe it: convenient. I am fully satisfied with the service, reception people are great, the food is good and the chef Ian is quick to serve you, friendly, and approachable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We booked a room for three at the 7th floor towards the sea. Wonderful sea view and all the buses stopped just outside the Hotel. The hotel service was good and gentle. A tasty breakfast was served and was included in the price for the hotel. The hotel is situated in the centre of both Sliema and St Julians and a few minutes trip with bus from the bus station of Valetta.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I really liked this hotel, except that it is not a good place to stay during a heat wave. The airconditioning is so weak that you'll need to leave the window open. The only problem with this is that if you want a lovely sea view, you'll also be facing a busy road which runs between the sea and the hotel. Bring your ear plugs. Another problem is with the roof deck lounge where there is often simply not enough beds for all the sunbathers. Unfortunately, the hotel allows guests to leave their belongings on beds even when they are not there, thus further restricting the number of beds available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I don't know where the diplomat gets off calling itself a 4* hotel on some websites, because if it just called itself what it is, a 2 or 2.5*, it would all make sense. Anyways, an old hotel but generally clean with a spacious room. Some irritations like a burnt light bulb and a mattress with zero spring left. Anyways the price was right for a weekend with friends, free wifi in the rooms, good seaside location and very close to transit. St. Juliens' walkable in about 15-20 mins along the corniche.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Makedonia, Greece
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location with easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is old and this is why it comes with a good price. Staff is friendly and breakfast was OK. Free wifi available in the room and common areas. If you don't have high expectations and you need something affordable to stay it is a good value for money.

You can't sleep with an open window due to noice from the street. With closed windows it was OK

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diplomat Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel Malta

Address: 173, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1609, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel Malta 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is situated on Tower Road prestigious seaside promenade in the heart of Sliema, well known for its extensive range of activities. The main bus route to Valletta, the capital city, Paceville/St.Julian's etc runs outside the hotel.In front of The Diplomat Hotel, just below the promenade, a pleasant rocky beach is ideal for sun bathing, swimming and practising water sports. A sandy beach is within walking distance.Theme bars and restaurants, shopping malls, designers boutiques and the Dragonara Casino are available nearby. The rooms have FREE Wi-Fi, satellite TV, air conditioning and a tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms full or lateral sea views. Room Service is available from 0630 till 0130The Hotel has recently undertaken refurbishment of the majority of the hotel rooms and bathrooms, lifts and reception/lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Diplomat Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Malta Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diplomat Hotel Malta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.