We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern bistro, Pizza and pasta.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Misto

Misto
18, Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 21336226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 146 Restaurants in Sliema
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Misto is a modern bistro cafe concept located in the heart of Sliema! At Misto we focus on using the freshest of ingredients to create exceptionally tasting dishes for our beloved customers. From our simplest baguette to our pasta dishes to our mouth watering grills to our daily changing specialities, each dish at Misto is made with only one thing in mind, our customers satisfaction and our never ending love and passion for genuine good food! We look forward to seeing you soon at Misto, for a coffee, a snack, a light lunch, or even dinner! Misto is now also offering a wide array of freshly made baguettes, bagels and ciabattas on its 'Tavola Calda' display for those clients who are in a hurry. All items are made fresh using only the highest quality ingredients to ensure our clients have a sensational experience with each bite they have..Misto..Good Food..Always Fresh
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Modern bistro, Pizza and pasta.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Having had a number of good meals in Sliema, we were looking for somewhere new and different. Misto looked modern and interesting, with a pizza and pasta menu with 'specials'.
We chose a chickenburger, a duck wrap and lamb ravioli, all of which were reasonably priced. The service was polite, helpful but slow in a nearly-empty room. The burger was well cooked and tasty, the wrap was also good, with interesting vegetables and sauce, but the ravioli was disappointing with undercooked sticky pasta and a filling that did not taste of anything.
We can recommend this restaurant if you want a basic pizza from the main menu, otherwise there are better places nearby.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    40
    17
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Not bad for eating on the Pavement!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Place looked quite busy, so popped in for a snack, ordered a pizza ( same as in the picture ) and actually looked as good or better, ate well too. And a risotto Misto, First rice a bit under cooked, But the second was spot on, very nice.
As i said, for one of these out on the street places, not bad

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Little Cafe with Gluten Free Pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We made Misto our local as our holiday flat was nearby and we loved it. It is more a cafe that does food and the pasta is great, my husband had the rib eye which he thought was fantastic and the cakes, coffees and ice cream are to die for. However the most important thing is that the staff are just the best, friendly, polite and attentive. We will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“good service , not so good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The waitress was very nice and we had goodservice . however we were a little dissapointed about our food. We ordered a medium-well ribeye which was part rare and part cooked well.and another ribeye which we ordered medium but was completely rare. We ordered potatoes with our meat and it wasn't until we were half way through our food that we got told that the chef wasn't serving roasted potatoes that day .

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesmondmisto, Manager at Misto, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your comment. I assure you that this will never happen again, we take our costumer reviews very seriously. We try our best to satisfy our customers so if u decide to visit us again you will surely have a different opinion. Thank you again.

The Manager
Jesmond Grech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Never had a chewier chicken...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The location is nice but the food was terrible. Went here for lunch and had the chicken salad with chili sauce. The chicken was so dry it was almost impossible to cut. My husband had fried chicken strips which had been fried so long that the colour was dark brown and there was virtually no taste left. We would have been much better of at the MacDonalds' next door!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesmondmisto, Manager at Misto, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your comment. I assure you that this will never happen again, we take our costumer reviews very seriously. We try our best to satisfy our customers so if u decide to visit us again you will surely have a different opinion. Thank you again.

The Manager
Jesmond Grech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misto also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Misto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.