We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money but not for light sleepers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Astra Hotel to your Saves list
Astra Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money but not for light sleepers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I feel the previous reviews did a very good job in catching the high points of this hotel very well. Friendly staff, excellent location and view and clean well-furnished rooms. The budget does show through in the underwhelming breakfast provided and the dodgy tv's, not to mention the lack of air conditioning that made the room oppressively hot even in October. The pub downstairs has two to three times a week karaoke, with music blasting through the sea view rooms till as late as 4 am. I have no trouble recommending this hotel to anyone on a budget going to Malta in the off season, but do take note of the cons as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    40
    38
    10
    17
See reviews for
14
42
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Although my husband is not easy to please, he has not been for a long time so excited about a hotel. Normally we choose a 4 or 5 star hotels. After a month of research, we chose this place for location and for the rank on TripAdvisor. We stayed at the first floor, front sea view, room 109. The view is great, over the sea and a tower of the nineteenth century. The first floor rooms with front sea view have a terrace, others have balconies.The rooms and bathrooms are clean and spacious. This hotel takes 7.5 on any scale in my opinion, but for a 3 star hotel is note 9+. People at the front desk are note 15 without any exaggeration. They make the hotel perfect.
We stayed in September 2011, the hotel has no air conditioning, we knew that when we booked and we have not really needed, but in warmer periods must be unpleasant. In weekend is noisy at night, due to a pub downstairs, otherwise it is reasonable.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms with front sea view have a terrace, others have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I'm an Australian/Maltese teen who went for his first holiday on his own with his friends .The first thing you notice when you enter the hotel is the front office .There was a young Guy maybe 18years old which was really friendly and spoke fluent English.The hotel is situated in the busy part of Sliema where everything is a throw of a stone away. Would recomand it for value for money ! P.S. I would sugest staying in a seaview room ..Waking in the morning and looking at that open sea is amazing.

Room Tip: Opt for the Seaview ones ..Are amazing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Good hotel. No A/C in the rooms, breakfast not included but very clean; staff friendly and helpful. Very good position. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed at the Astra Hotel for 6 nights during August 2011.
The rooms are simple yet comfortable. The major flaw is that there is no air conditioning just a big fan on the top of the room which is completely useless for cooling the room.
Consequently, the rooms are very hot in summer, the management should definitely consider investing in air conditioning and I think adding a small fridge in each room would add a lot of value for customers !! It is very convenient to have cold beverage in your room during summer !

The seaview was very nice and I think it is worth it. The staff was very friendly and helpful, which I really appreciate because it does not seem to be the same in other hotels in Malta.

The location of the hotel is great, really convenient if you want to travel around the island by bus, you can easily take a bus to Valetta (which is approximately 20 min away in bus) where all the bus lines start.

Overall, the rooms is very simple with basic comfort but I think this hotel offer a very good value for the money you pay. Some other hotels in the area are more expensive and worse in terms of quality of the rooms and of the services offered. If you have a low budget for your trip to Malta and plan to travel around the island instead of staying at your hotel, I would definitely recommend the Astra Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miniato, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The personal was very kind. The room was very clean. Astra has an exellent relationship quality-price. I'll return certainly

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Very clean and tidy little hotel newly refurbished up to local standard. The staff is really lovely and helpful, you feel like a family member. Very good location, just off the main boulevard by the sea. Sometimes also mean that you will need to expect some noise coming through from the always happy crowd. In the rooms - bathroom, tv, free wifi, wardrobe, balcon. Close to the beach, pubs, restaurants, shops, bus stop - 50 m. ;-). I recommend this hotel :-)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Hotel

Address: 127 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Astra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.