We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Of Our Top Two Holidays In 40 Years Of WorldTravel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fortina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fortina to your Saves list
Hotel Fortina
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One Of Our Top Two Holidays In 40 Years Of WorldTravel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Well managed hotel. Great ambiance,perfect housekeeping. Attentive restaurant service.and quality of food with a variety of restaurants (4) and cuisines . However the buffet carvery was a little marred by the the rapid cooling of the food on display. May we suggest that this could be rectified by having a microwave available for those wishing to have warmer food. When we have experienced this facility at other hotels we have found this enhances the experience.
There is the option of an additional al a carte restaurant at a cost
The large heated indoor pool plus the additional heated Thelasso salt water pool which enhanced our stay.
Utilising the recommendations from other guests on Trip Advisor we stayed in room 828 which we would suggest is good for the following reasons, a corner room with no passing traffic noise or fumes, balcony,good sea view and superb sound proofing. The room comprised of two double beds ,a large flat screen TV with a variety of BBC channels plus Sky News and 2 film channels. We had ample wardrobe space, drawers and storage for luggage.
The bathroom was fantastic being spacious enough to have held a small dance in.
From the 4 star Fortina you gain access to the 5 star Fortina Spa from which you can connect to the leisure area comprising of an outdoor pool,bar and sun lounge area at sea level. From here a picturesque view of the Fortifications and Cathedral at Valetta can be seen across the bay.
The whole of this leisure area benefited from all day sun shine.
In conclusion we would strongly recommend this hotel and will be returning at the earliest opportunity

Room Tip: Corner room 828
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    384
    249
    104
    58
See reviews for
169
590
50
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cottingham, East Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The last time we went to Malta was in 1980 so we certainly saw a great difference, but there was no difference in the friendliness of the Maltese people, they were wonderful.
Our hotel room was on the fourth floor sea view. We arrived in the evening and when we went on our balcony all we could say was WOW, the view was fantastic. The room itself was fine and the whole of the hotel was very good, and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked with Mercury Direct/Sun Spot, had half board which the food was very good, and we were entitled to eat in a choice of five restaurants, which we did. We had quite a bit of rain while we were there, but it didn't put us off, there were plenty of shops, cafes etc to browse, and buy, till the rain went, We travelled by the local buses, and had day returns so we could hop on and hop off wherever we wanted, this way we saw most of Malta. Sliema was lovely, our hotel in the perfect situation, and we certainly wont wait another 33 years before we go again, in fact we will go again next year, all being well.

Room Tip: Definitely a sea view room. To wake up to that view of Valetta you couldn,t wish for better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear nichollsCottingham,

Thank you for your lovely posting and for choosing to return to the Hotel Fortina after all those years! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Wishing you a Happy New Year!

Kind regards,
Hotel Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We've just enjoyed another super holiday at the Fortina arranged by Mercury Direct for £53 per person per day half board, including flight. That's less than B & B in the UK! It is arguably the most convenient location in Malta, enjoying fantastic views of Valetta across the harbour from seaview rooms. There is a vast choice of dining experiences in its "Dine Around" restaurants, something to suit all tastes, all of a high standard.
If you hire a car there is easy overnight parking in the adjacent Tigne Point shopping mall car park (3.5 euros per 24 hours if paid in advance for the duration of your stay).
Do pay the extra for a seaview room as you can generally get a free upgrade to a superior seaview room out of season. These are really spacious with huge comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Pay the supplement for a seaview room and request third floor or above. First and second floors can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Smudge242,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Wishing you a Happy New Year!

Kind regards,
Hotel Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Fortina 14-21st November 2013. My husband is in wheelchair. On arrival we were told our room was on the top floor (8) I found this extremely worrying considering if their had been a fire on the lower floors my husband would have had no chance of escaping considering lifts cannot be used. There were also two fire doors to contend with which made it hard for my husband to maneuver his chair through. I do understand the importance of the safety aspect of fire doors, but they do obstruct wheelchair users.

The room was more 2* than 4* and in a very shabby condition. The following morning we were moved to another room which was in a better condition but still on the 5th floor. This room only had a bath and so as my husband who is unable to get in or out of a bath, had to use the sink to get washed.

We only used the Valletta restaurant during our stay. The food was a long way from being 4* and often cold. At the weekend the hotel guests play second fiddle to the local community who book parties with the restaurant. We had to wait 35 minutes for a table on the Sunday evening, Three large tables had been reserved by the locals and were out of use when we arrived for our meal. This caused guests to queue for over 45 minutes. After we were seated these tables remained unused for over an hour to the hotel guests which I believe is a disgrace. The restaurant manager didn't even have the decency to apologise for the time we had to wait. I made a written complaint the following day regarding this matter, which was ignored by the Hotel Management which to me is very unprofessional.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are spacious but vary in condition. They don't get much sun either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Joy B,

Thank you for your posting. We are disappointed to hear of your comments and would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused. Please be assured that all your comments have been well-noted and passed onto all those concerned.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Kind regards,
Hotel Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

we stayed hear for one week the end of november on half board with saga. the hotel room was nice and also very clean with a veiw of the garden , witch was lovley of a night all lit up . we were with other members of our family and another room was very simular . a member of our family is in a wheel chair and had what they call a room suitable for disabled it was on the 8th floor the bathroom was not suitable at all even the shower had no access as it had a 8" step into it and the room was very tied . they moved rooms to a nicer one on a lower floor but the bathroom was still not suitable. we ate in the reastraunt a few times there was pleanty of choice but we all found the food was not hot enough. we were lucky enough to be able to eat in the other reastraunts in the gardens japanes and indian which was very nice they all so had a italian and chineas . we enjoyed the indoor swimming pool as it was too cool for the outdoor pools. all in all we enjoyed our stay hear

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear seren1990,

Thank you for your posting. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite problems with the room. Please be assured that your comments have been noted and passed onto all those concerned.

Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Kind regards,
Hotel Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have just enjoyed a very comfortable two-week stay at the four star Fortina Hotel. Our garden room was very spacious containing two queen sized beds and large leather settee. The bathroom was also extremely spacious with bath, user friendly shower and hot water any time of the day. Cleanliness was of a high standard. Dining was the highlight of the day. Although the hotel's buffet restaurant was excellent offering delicious hot food, we really enjoyed the 'round the world' dining experience that is on offer. You can choose to go to the Chinese, Indian, Japanese, Italian or Mediterranean restaurants within the hotel complex. This is like going out to your favourite restaurant every night. It is necessary to book these in advance as you would do at home, and we found that booking two days ahead meant we were never disappointed. The views of Valletta from the hotel are spectacular and it is easy to go there using the nearby ferry.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are larger and quieter than sea view ones but don't get the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear JMyersWirrel,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Kind regards,
Hotel Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

friend and I stayed here for a week, we booked seaview rooms which cost us extra. the hotel overall was very good but we had a couple of very hot days & our rooms got the full sun & became very hot. We had the air conditioning on but it didn't seem to make any difference, when we complained we were told that the hotel had but the air con. on a winter setting. We were given a choice of one other room but this was hotter and smaller, so it was pointless.
Our rooms were 604 & 611 I believe the garden facing rooms are cooler.
In addition to this, the seaview rooms have a busy road below them, so having the windows open was not an option. Other than this the hotel was good.

Room Tip: If you want quietness don't choose a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear csmith404,

Thank you for your posting. We do apologise about the problem with the air conditioner. As with most hotels, the air conditioning operates on a larger system and therefore, it is set on either summer or winter mode. Your comments have been passed onto all those concerned.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Fortina in the near future.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Kind regards,
Hotel Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortina

Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fortina 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Fortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Hotel Fortina Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fortina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.