We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fortina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fortina to your Saves list
Hotel Fortina
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Sliema
Rayleigh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Having had reports from 2 sets of friends who have stayed here, I booked this hotel with confidence. I have to say I was very happy with my choice. My biggest gripe was, I underestimated how hot a sea facing room would be, even with the AC on, we kept the curtains closed most of the time we were in the room. If I went back, I would probably go for a garden view. However, the view over the bay to Valletta was......stunning, and would not have missed that for the world.

My interaction with staff was always a good response.

The Fortina run 5 restaurants from the complex. All but the Valletta have to be booked. The food from the main Valletta restaurant was good, with a fair choice. The Tai was the best and set in the rear garden opposite the Indian both in a beautiful setting, lit with mood lighting around the pool and trees. The Italian was across the road and has a snazzy retracting roof for true alfresco eating, and the Maltese, is just along the the road from the front door of the hotel.

For those confused by pictures of the hotel showing the pool on the other side of the road. Don't be. The Valletta restaurant is actually under the road itself, reached from within the hotel, and leads on to the pool without you ever knowing you are under the road. Very clever architecture, and you would never know.

When out at the pool, you have a fantastic view over the bay to Valletta, and I sat there until midnight most evenings.......just looking. You can also go up to the Italian restaurant from here.

If you have a free captain morgan harbour cruise, (well worth doing) the ticket has to be obtained from Aldo, a timeshare rep. Other posts say he is a bit difficult to get the tickets out of, but I just (politely) made it clear I wasn't interested and got the tickets without any problem.

Just up the road is the Tigne point shopping centre, a mini Bluewater if you will. Here also is a large car park where I parked my hire car at night after buying a parking permit for unlimited returns over however many days you decide to purchase. I hired the car from the hotel recommended supplier and got a very nice new Peugeot 207. If you do hire, it's worth getting the parking permit before the car arrives so you can park it straight away, as it arrives parked in the main road where you are subject to parking restrictions. My TomTom sat nav worked very well in Malta and on Gozo.

Would I recommend. Yes

Would I go back. Yes, but a garden view room.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms have fantastic view over the bay to Valletta, but get very hot as in full sun. Top r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    384
    248
    104
    58
See reviews for
169
588
50
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day holiday / hen do and stayed at the lovely Fortina. We ranged from 22 to 73 years old and had an amazing time. The hotel staff are thorough and polite, as are the Maltese people.

Upgrated on arrival to executive suite, most of us had a huge room, two balconies and jacuzzi bath the AMAZING views over Valletta.

Four restaurants were open at the time of our visit and we entertained all. Great food and a great price!

Breakfast buffet was a delight with a full cooked english breakfast as an option.

The bar across the road is to die for. Chilling out on the veranda overlooking Valletta is something i could do for hours!

Take the open top bus tour for 10 euros.. it is about 3 hours long but stop off at Marsaxlokk for a couple of hours and relax and visit the market and see the beautiful colourful boats.

A bus ride into Valletta will take 15 mins and be a couple of euros. Plenty to see and do whilst you are there.

Oh and did i mention there is a great new shopping mall, seconds away! No? OMG... British shops at a great price. Debenhams, Next, Wallis, etc etc etc... all there and waiting for a visit

For bars - if you can, visit the La Rive restaurant. Great entertainment on Friday with a singer and guitarist! Brilliant night! For night clubs/busy bars.. the best place to visit is Medasia. Amazing music, great food and atmosphere...

Hope this review helps.. brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay in Malta and in some ways this hotel was perfect. It is in a great location really near everything and our harbour view room had the most amazing view. The food and the service in this hotel was excellent and the room was clean and comfortable.

However there was a few things that I would have expected to be better in a four star hotel. As it was slightly out of season there was a significant amount of building work and in places the hotel did look a bit threadbare and needed a good tidy up. The sheets on the bed were just too small so within 10 mins of pulling back the top cover the bottom sheet had detached itself and wrapped itself around you. Only minor but a bed sheet should be big enough for a bed and being strangled by your sheets isn't really something you expect in a four star hotel. In addition the room appeared to have plenty of space to unpack and hang your clothes. Unfortunately there were no draw space and the very large wardrobe only had six fitted hangers. So the whole holiday we had to live out of our suitcases. I know these things sound petty but it did spoil the holiday to have to decrease clothes and untie yourself from the bedclothes.

All in all excellent location and good hotel but could do better

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortinaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Jenni H.,

Thanks for your review. We are glad to hear that your stay at the Fortina hotel was an overall positive experience and that you enjoyed the excellent views, food and service.

Regarding your comment about the bed sheets, I have informed the relevant personnel about the issue.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to have you again with us.

Regards
Hotel Fortina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Fortina. We found that this hotel was excellent. We were on the 6th floor in what looked like a refurbished room. I would recomend that you book a superior room on the 6th/7th floor.
You could not fault the staff everyone was very helpfully, the reception staff could not do enough to help.
The food in the buffet was very good even down to eggs prepaired in four different ways at breakfast ( poached, fried, boiled and scrambled ). On Sunday even Roast Beef and Yorkshire Pudding. And one night Bread and Butter Pudding. We had the choise of five different restaurants within the hotel, we tried the Chinese which was excellent.
There was only one thing that I could complain about was the indoor pool area, which I have to say is a bit grotty, it looks as though it has not been updated since the hotel was opened.
If you are looking for a hotel close to Valletta this could be for you, it must have the best view in Malta.
I would recomend that you buy the 12 Euro bus ticket that lasts for a week, and you can get a bus just down from the hotel into Valletta, and then from there anywhere on the Island.
So all in all I would recomend this hotel staying in a superior room on the 6th/7th floor overlooking the water to Valletta.

Room Tip: Superior room with view of Valletta on 6th/7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caister-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We moved to this hotel after first having been 'up the hill' at the Palace. The Fortina was fine although a little jaded. Our room had a lovely view of the harbour (7th floor). The lifts are being replaced but this wasn't really a problem. Our room had an extractor fan in the bathroom which didn't work, but when I reported this, the maintenance chap was fixing it when I got back from breakfast. He didn't fix the sink not draining properly but just a nuisance. The wardrobe doors didn't hang properly and when it was windy outside, the windows whistled!! Quite loudly some nights. They had put 2 large singles together to make a kingsize but they didn't seem to have large enough sheets and these weren't changed for over a week until I asked. The last day of our 3 weeks, they found some wider sheets which made sleeping easier.
The food was fine, you could eat at the other restaurants there which made a nice change.
Gentlemen, if you like football, don't bank on the bar being able to show it for you - more training with the remote control needed!!
Convenient place to stay for all the amenities, shops, tour buses and ferries. Nice & safe to walk around and when the road works are completed soon, the promenade will be great.
We loved the Spa Resort & bought a 'Holiday Ownership' (time share to us) but they weren't pushy and seems like a reasonable deal.

Room Tip: A room at the front will give you a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Cannot find much else to say about the Hotel that hasn't already been said before, Went the last week of Feb and the place was quite busy mainly full of the older generation (as we expected). We found the first evening sitting for food to busy and hectic so chose to dine at the 8pm sitting which was calm and peaceful. Our room had a fantastic view of Valletta and the balcony was plenty big enough for two to sit out and watch the world go by. (but not all rooms are blessed with such) As said before the spa swimming pool in a dire need of a face lift with paint peeling from all the walls and ceiling due to the condensation.
Be well warned if tempted to take a drink in the terrace bar across the road from the Hotel we were charged 11.80 euros for two pints of local beer!!!! because they had to open four small cans, it would of been nice and helpful if we were forewarned about this charge! we didn't eat in this bar as we had already been told that it is very expensive. We did approach our reception about the price of the beer but was informed the terrace bar is not run by the hotel only partially owned therefore can charge what they like...b****y disgraceful. Out and about....the buses are fabulous running regularly and on time 2.60 euros will buy you a go anywhere throughout the day roamer ticket per adult, they can get a tad busy and a tip from a brit they don't queue it's a free for all just get in there and get on or you never will!!
Valletta is beautiful as is Mdina for the fit Valletta can be walked to from Sliema for the unstable under foot there is a ferry boat with link buses up to the city. Mentioning the guests that are a little unstable under foot the paths and pavements are shot away making it quite challenging for the elderly and infirm. I'm neither but went flying into the pavement due to differing levels that weren't entirely obvious. Another warning on pavements is all the Dog mess loads and loads there are signs asking owners to clear up their dogs mess but this isn't enforced. All in all we both enjoyed a pleasant week with the weather a lovely balmy 16 degrees but take plenty of layers as when the sun goes down or behind a cloud it can feel very cold. Hope this helps anyone planning a trip to Malta. Oh forget to mention the fabulous fact that any Fortina guests are offered a 90 mniute boat cruise free of charge and it truly is well worth it.

Room Tip: Think that most rooms are all front facing but the lower floors can be a little noisy from traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

After reading the reviews , I did not quite know what to expect, but on the whole this hotel was below expectations for four stars (three maybe). We had a "superior" sea view room and it was hard to see what was superior about it, though it was comfortable, modern and spacious. I have stayed in many four star hotels where the "normal" rooms are actually better than this one - though the view was lovely.
The staff were generally speaking excellent in all departments, friendly and efficient.
The big problem for us was the food, apart from the good breakfast in La Vallette. At this point I must say that we never before have taken a half board arrangement, since we like to try different restaurants. The dine around deal seemed to give us all this, without having to leave the hotel. However in all restaurants, apart from La Vallette buffet, there was a very limited half board menu. In most cases the food presented seemed to have been prepared well in advance and heated up as ordered.The worst was the Can Thai where the fried rice looked and tasted as if it had been around for hours, and the fish dish tasted peculiar. The food at Momo might have been just OK if it had not been ruined by putting the luke warm food on cold plates.The exception was the Sa Re Gama indian, which gave us the two best meals that we had and they were very good. La Vallete did good soup and pasta but the rest of the hot food was mediocre. Il Giardino gave us good starters but poor pizzas.
It was good to have the warm swimming pool though it could do with a face-lift. I tried the spa but on the day I was there neither sauna was working. The gym looked well equipped but I did not use it.
The best thing about the hotel is its position facing Valletta. View at the front is great and in winter, with the windows shut, there was no worry about traffic noise from our 4th floor room. If I did go there again, I certainly would not take half board, though we still managed to have a very pleasant week. There is so much to see in Malta and a visit to Gozo is worthwhile too.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea on a high floor would give the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear JKn07,

Thank you for your posting. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us but we are very disappointed to learn of your comments regarding the restaurants. Our award-winning restaurants receive much praise from both our guests and locals who come to dine. Please be assured that all food is cooked to order. We do not pre-cook and reheat any dishes in our restaurants. All of your comments have been passed onto the Executive Chef in order for each comment to be looked into and the appropriate action to be taken.

Warm wishes,
Hotel Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortina

Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fortina 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Fortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Hotel Fortina Malta/Sliema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fortina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.